We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HORRIBLE NOT 5*”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sentido Ixian Grand
Ranked #22 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2011

I stayed at the Ixian grand hotel in July for 6 nights with my boyfriend. Let me start off with the positives, we had great weather and well lets just say the weather was great. Now on to the negatives. It started when we checked it the staff avoided making eye contact with me and my boyfriend when we checked in and were rude. Finally were given our key and shown the elevator. Once we got to our room (we had booked an upgrade) we were very let down. Sofa had stains on it, the wallpaper was peeling, not one picture of item of décor on the wall, tv in a separate section of the room so could not watch, and bathroom faucets were falling out of the wall. On top of that we had florescent lighting in there that resembled an office, it was horrible but we decided we would go to the front desk and ask to be changed the next day. The next morning we asked for a room switch of the same caliber and we were told that there was nothing but a standard room facing the road. We opted not to change, however that night at about 1am we were locked out of our room for the night and they could not open the door with the electronic key so we had to wait until 8am for a “technician” to come. We were put in another room without any of our stuff, when asked for a toothbrush that seemed to be an unreasonable request. Thought they had no rooms?! All in all service was horrible.
Food- Terrible. The buffet had luke warm food, dirty conditions and never had glasses. I guess if you enjoy eating with cats and other animals roaming around would be ok for you.
All in all the place was not anywhere near a 5* hotel. Very disappointed and would not recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank eriberiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,549)
There are newer reviews for Sentido Ixian Grand
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

725 - 731 of 1,551 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2011

Me and my girlfriend stayed at this hotel during week 29 2011. Although the hotel is absolutely not a 5 star hotel compared to european standard it's above average considering:

- nice breakfast
- clean rooms (we stayed in a superior room)
- nice pools and near to the ocean
- good AC in the room

Bad things were:

- You had to book a 'deckchair' at about 8.30 in the morning in order to get a somewhat good place
- We got absolutely no help getting in to town even though there were an extremely annoying taxi strike. Had to take the local bus every day, which was very warm. Why no shuttle?
- You had to wait in line in order to be seated at breakfast, even though there were plenty of free tables if you came around 9 in the morning

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank male987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Visited this hotel with my sister in May, we both like the finer things in life so this hotel looked like it would tick all the boxes....and it idid ! A 5 star in Greece i was expecting 3.5 to 4 at the most but this was most definitely 5 star. A beautiful hotel, and the fact that it leads directly onto the beach is a real bonus, having a lunchtime beer in the beach bar and actually looking out on the sea was just gorgeous,great staff especially the boys in the bar and the wine waiter in the main dining room was a find, do try some of the greek wine, having had some very nasty experiences in my younger days with the retsina i was a little wary but they have come a long way and the wines he recommended were really good. The food in the main dining room was lovely and there were great choices at all times. As with all hotels, timing is of the essence so i recommend early for breakfast and later for dinner (we didnt have lunch, but the breakfast was more than enough to keep us going through the day). Only ventured into Ixia the once but wasn't that impressed, would say that going into Rhodes town would be worth the effort if you're looking for bars and restaurants. Would most defintiely stay here again and will be recommending to friends etc.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TAD83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

We have just returned from a weekend stay at the Ixian grand and this is the first time that I have ever written a review of a holiday but I just feel that such a wonderful hotel deserves recognition.
Although our reservation was for a standard room, we were upgraded to a luxurious suite which includes a amazing private swimming pool.
We would like to thank for the unforgettable, wonderful hospitality.
We enjoyed the kind staff, the hotel facilities, the dining room was a superb experience and the hotel was extremely clean and shiny 24/7.

You have made our vacation just perfect !!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dotan36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

Stayed for 1 week at the Ixian Gran in a Superior room (the basic one) on half board basis. The hotel looked like one of the nicest in Ixia from our walking around when we were there. We didn't go expecting UK/Dubai 5* standard, so weren't disappointed. For me, the hotel looks 5* but is run like 3*. I would not go back, but I don't regret going as we had the totally relaxed laid back holiday that we wanted and I would only recommend it for this. Restaurant staff generally rude and unhelpful, but food was fine and we got over it.
Further details below...

The room look exactly like it did on the hotel website. Sheets and towels were changed every day and robes were provided in the room. It was very spacious, bed was comfortable and 2 sponge 2 feather pillows were available. AC in rooms. Bathroom was "dated" but spotlessly clean and fully functional. Shampoo/bodywash/soap provided but not of great quality. Inroom safe with key. A lot of the traveller photos on here are of the delux rooms and suites. Superior rooms are like a normal hotel.

General appearance all around is beautiful, pool area is stunning, nice wooden loungers, marble everywhere. Lounge has big luxury couches which aren't so comfortable when you sit in them! But all "looks" the part. Reception staff are very friendly and helpful. Pool staff walk around all day to take orders for food/drink to you by the pool.

Both pools are very refreshing, as is the sea, but the stoney beach is annoying, but this is all there is in Ixia and the whole way to Rhodes. The hotel is also under the flight path for landing at the airport, so you can plane watch all day with only minor noise. There is a strong breeze coming in off the coast which is very welcome in the heat.

The hotel is a good 10min walk from Ixia which is hardly worth the bother as there is nothing in it. We walked the 6km into Rhodes town one day which was very nice if you can handle the heat. Other than that, we just stayed in the hotel all the time.

There were few children around when we were there but before we left and school holidays hit more appeared. Its not an ideal resort for children as there is little/no entertainment and the resort is more about relaxing. At the same time Children didnt appear to be a problem and the younger ones could entertain themselves ok.

The restaurant - the hot topic obviously! While food is same-ish they do vary the main dish at breakfast and dinner each day. For us, everything was edible, and reasonably tasty and better than most buffets I do think. Nothing was left cold, some things were a bit soggy, but all in all for a buffet it was fine. Not that a buffet would be the best reflection of a 5* dinner.

Biggest complaint, like everyone else, is the restaurant staff. The manager who seats you is incredibly abrupt and rude. There is nothing to drink at dinner unless you pay over the odds for a bottle of water or wine (felt sorry for the parents having to buy several drinks for kids each night!!) and the table staff would not get out of your way. The guests clearly get in their way by asking for service and ignore you completely if you're not seated "in their area" and when walking back with your food from the buffet if you meet a waiter coming towards you, YOU better get out of THEIR way. No manners, courtiousness or consideration. This was very frustrating initially, but we got over it. It was clear the restaurant was full of multicultural staff, and the way some of the guests acted, I'm not too surprised the staff ignored them!

Overall summary: I always wanted to visit Rhodes. I'm glad I went, but I won't go back and would only recommend this trip to friends who want to relax and do nothing for a week. I do think the Ixian Grand has the chance to knock it up a notch if only the sorted out the service in their restaurant.

Room Tip: pay for it!
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank caitni2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Have just returned from a week at the Ixian Grand with my family & stayed in one of the basic rooms which was perfectly adequate considering we managed to bag the holiday at a bargain price. The hotel is situated in a not very desirable location but in general the hotel had OK facilities right on the beach. However the main restaurant where you take breakfast & your evening meal is a big let down mainly due to the calibre of staff working there. Don't be fooled by the delightful hostess that greets you as you enter the restaurant. The other staff that wait the tables are something else. You are often escorted to tables that are dirty from the previous diners & more often than not take ages to be reset. When you have finished a course your empty plates hardly ever get cleared away If you're looking forward to that first cuppa in the morning you may have to wait a while, sometimes
you might have almost consumed your breakfast before receive it & if you would like a second cup Good Luck. The staff are extremely unfriendly & will do their utmost not to make eye contact with you. They are unbelievably miserable & sometimes damn right rude & seem to make it clear that hotel guests are a bit of an inconvenience to them.

Room Tip: If money is no object rooms facing the sea or suites with your own pool would be great.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chriskerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

This is in no way a 5 star hotel in fact the restaurant food and the queuing resembles the cafeteria of a 1960s holiday camp.The feral cats which roam around the tables is a bit off putting too.
The service is non existant although the best eatery was the poolside bar at lunchtime - pity it wasn't open at night.
The hotel advertises as a venue for couples but there were lots of small children making a lot of noise until late in the evening.
We found the staff friendly and helpful but lacking direction, I am sure some of them were as fed up as we were with the chaos
Its a great location but a huge disappointment. . Definately one to avoid

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rebert_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhodes Town
0.0 mi away
Sentido Ixian All Suites
Sentido Ixian All Suites
#28 of 126 in Rhodes Town
266 reviews
1.7 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,827 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#14 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#13 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,177 reviews
3.2 mi away
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
#6 of 126 in Rhodes Town
396 reviews
37.3 mi away
Atrium Prestige Thalasso Spa Resort and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sentido Ixian Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sentido Ixian Grand

Address: Eleftheriou Venizelou, Rhodes Town 851 01, Greece (Formerly Elina Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Rhodes Town
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#21 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#27 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
#28 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range: £85 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sentido Ixian Grand 5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SENTIDO Ixian Grand - Adults Only (over 16 y.o.) is a premium beach SPA Resort at the west coast of the island Rhodes directly located at the Ixia beach. Moreover, the SENTIDO Ixian Grand - Adults Only has got 211 rooms with a cozy ambience. Just a few minutes away from the hotel is the UNESCO world heritage "the historic center of Rhodes" and the "Mount Flerimos" with an huge panoramic view. Enjoy the sunset at the beach, the attractive surroundings and the premium hotel SENTIDO Ixian Grand - Adults Only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Sentido Ixian Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ixian Grand Hotel Ixia
Ixian Grand Ixia
Sentido Ixian Grand Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing