We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sentido Ixian Grand
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Sentido Ixian All Suites(Rhodes Town)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Nathalie Hotel(Rhodes Town)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
K Boutique Hotel(Rhodes Town)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunday Hotel(Rhodes Town)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,601)
Filter reviews
1,601 results
Traveller rating
643
515
270
105
68
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
643
515
270
105
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate pooljacuzzi bath on the balconypool bargarden viewalazonia restaurantphillips barmain restaurantplenty of sunbedssea waterdeluxe roomsun loungerswelcome drinkrelaxing holidaybuffet styleevening entertainmentgreek nighta la carte restaurant
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
667 - 672 of 1,601 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Unless you are staying in the most expensive suite at this hotel (we are guessing this is a bit different, but not entirely), prepare for the following:
No service. Staff is arguing and crying on a daily basis. In front of the guests.
No cleaning. No new towels unless you "nag". No water. Jacuzzi didn't work. Minibar didn't work. Safe in the room didn't work. Room was full of insects. The hotel is extremely expensive and gives no value at all. You are not allowed in the swimming pool after 6 PM!! We recommend any 2 or 3 star hotel which will be at the same level or better than this one! Stay away if you don't want to ruin your vacation.

Room Tip: Pick the most expensive suites to have a better experience, this will however not help the terrible service and cleaning.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

My brother and I stayed at this Hotel for a week in July, it cost us just over £500 each for the week, I would consider this about right for half board, I wouldnt have paid any more.

The entrance and lobby certainly gave the impression of a five star hotel, really beautiful, however I would give the rooms a 3 star rating, and we had a upgraded sea view (just) room, I found the rooms clean and inngood condition, the maids did a good job as well, main complaint here was lack of tea or coffee making facilities, also no rooms have seperate single beds so my brother had to sleep on a single sofa bed.

Pool areas were nice , ok a few sunbeds broken, and the obligitory towels on 1st thing in the morning, but we still managed to get a bed every day.

Food and drink. Drinks very expensive, as everyone has already pointed out, we just used to buy a bottle of water at Dinner for .3.30 euros, and then went into Ixia town at night where you can get a large local beer for 2.50 euros, if you go to this hotel please walk the 15 minutes into town and support the local bars and tavernas, they need the custom badly and are so friendly, some people didnt leave the hotel the whole week, which I find incredibly sad.
Breakfast was standard buffet fare and not for me , coffee was the worse coffee I have ever had, we choose to go to local tavernas instead for lunch and sample real Greek cuisine, again helping the locals out, all inclusive holidays are killing these resorts and its such a shame.
Evening meal again, buffet, massive choice, some good some bad, lovely dining area if your lucky enough to get on the veranda.

So just a quick review hope it helps some people, Ixia is a lovely resort with great clean beaches and friendly locals, the place is getting mobbed by Russians, but I hear this is getting common place, all ill say is dont bother trying to make conversation with them, your be wasting your time, hardly any british at this hotel when I was there either....



Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank RedMist13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012 via mobile

We booked through olympic holidays at the Ixian Grand. Olympic were 1st class and accommodated  one party member only using the inbound flight. The grand suites with seaview are superb extremely spacious, well equipped and with a large quite private shared pool .included was fruit and bottle of bubbly on arrival, free drink, 1 free a la carte meal and dinner and breakfast in a separate restaurant to the main hotel. The bonus is to also the use of  the main complex large two pools and restaurant facilities. We had free wifi in the suite. Finally we decided to have the included dinner on our sea view terrace  via room service. No problem and at no extra cost. All staff very friendly. We will return.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tolroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

This is a very beautiful hotel and they try very hard to keep up the 5 stars. It´s just not fair to compare a 5 star in Greece with a 5 star in northern Europe, especially not now with the economic recession. Before we went here we was a bit worried regarding to the bad reviews in the restaurant, but we were surprised in a good way. The service was excellent! The waiter took our drinkorder just when we arrived to the table and we got our drinks very quickly. The food is very good and it´s plenty to choose from.They have a dresscode in the restaurant so gentlemen have to wear long trousers otherwise they can not eat there, the negative here is that some women had shorts and a bikintop and they could eat there, of course the women should have a nice dress too! The pool is clean and the garden area is beautiful. The rooms are not 5star standard compared to northern Europe but there are beautiful views of the sea. All staff that we met were very nice and polite. It´s a lot of different nationalites and the children got friends from other parts of Europe, they had so fun even without talking to each other! All in all we had a very good experience from Ixian Grand and we will be back some day!
I also have to recommend the fish-spa just a few minutes away left from the hotel on the mainroad. The fish-spa is a tickling experience and the pedicure are beautifully perfect and the girl who ownes the place is very nice.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Camillann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We have just returned from a week at the Ixian Grand and have left with very mixed feelings about it. Our week was for a special wedding anniversary celebration and the hotel looked absolutely perfect for what we wanted; we aren't regular package holiday goers and usually prefer self catering but for once we fancied being spoilt and a bit of luxury!! We booked after looking at the wonderful photographs, but didn't read any reviews until the next day and then realised that all was not as it seemed. We tried to cancel with the agent but couldn't, though they agreed to let the hotel know of our doubts as they sometimes give free upgrades as a goodwill gesture.

When we arrived we were astounded to be given a beachfront suite with our own pool - in fact the very one that feature in most of the photographs - at no extra cost. It was amazing, huge, cool and well equipped though not as chic or spotless as you might expect. The gardens surrounding the suites are the best feature of the hotel, beautiful calm clean spaces with trees and shrubs edging tiled walkways with the sound of running water making it altogether very serene. As a full paying suite guest you don't ever have to leave this beautiful area as you would also have the benefit of taking your meals in the smart Alazonia restaurant nearby.

As upgraded guests, however, we had to walk to eat in the main Viz a Viz restaurant (which is really more like a canteen) and it is this part of the experience that makes us say that this is two hotels in one. The food is plentiful, choice of salads are excellent but main courses are bland, and not always hot; there wasn't one meal where we fancied seconds! There aren't enough staff and trying to catch the eye of the coffee and wine waiters is an art - sometimes breakfast was nearly over before we got a coffee. The staff generally seem stressed and unhappy - maybe the presence of the boss who is constantly pulling them off one task to do something else. Another bad feature of the restaurant are the clearing stations in the centre where plates are cleaned of waste food and crockery stacked - not pleasant to sit beside to eat your meal. This is definitely not a five star experience - in any country.

We were lucky enough to have our own pool and sunbeds so didn't have to fight - but I agree with previous comments that there should be some way of policing the claiming of sunbeds early in the morning and holding on to them all day - at times about half sunbeds are empty with just a towel laying claim to them while owners disappear for hours. The pool and garden area though is lovely and the Milonges bar a nice retreat, if expensive.

We feel a bit churlish criticising given the very generous upgrade we had and if we could we would rate the suite experience 4 star. I can only imagine the quality of the room we would have had (Deluxe sea view was booked) but having been given a deluxe room to shower in on our last day I don't think we would have been impressed so I'm afraid that part of the hotel only scores a 2 to 3 star.

Like other commenters, the main problems seem to be around some staff not being very welcoming (apart from the lovely girl who welcomes you to the restaurant) or doing their jobs well, although the fact that the restaurant staff staged a strike one morning at breakfast suggests that all is not well with the management. There must be more customer friendly systems of running a restaurant and the hotel should not underestimate the importance of good customer service - a smile goes a long way. Also the fabric of the hotel is a bit shabby in places - even our suite could have done with a bit of tlc.

All in all we did enjoy our holiday but mainly because of the upgrade - for which we remain very grateful. Otherwise it would have been a disappointment and definitely not what the photographs on the hotel website depict !!

Room Tip: If you can afford a suite then do, you will find it a completely different experience to a regular room. Sea views are definitely worth having because you also get the pool and topiary gardens. Some rooms overlook the road which I would not think is not too pleasant.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Barbs507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews