We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sentido Ixian Grand
Ranked #20 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Like many others I was concerned reading some of the reviews before we arrived at the hotel. We travelled with Classic Collection and had a private taxi to and from the airport. We arrived at midnight so check-in was smooth. The night porter took us to our room (room 100) but he had to ring reception twice before he found our room which had Corner Suite no. 4 on the door. I said 'This is not room 100' but after ringing reception again I was told it was. The suite did have a sea view balcony but the view was slightly blocked from the balconies either side of us. The up side was we had 2 large rooms, one with twin beds where our 17 year old daughter slept, and a double bed for us, both rooms had a sofa, and we had a table and 2 chairs. The balcony was a good size and accessed by both rooms, but with only 2 chairs. I requested a third chair the next day and it arrived promptly. The bathroom area was large with a toilet, shower, 2 basins and a Jacuzzi.
The air conditioning was included in the room price (we have had to pay on arrival for this in Greece before) it worked when we put our key tab in, we used a ski card my husband had to keep the air conditioning on when we were at the beach or pool...naughty I know! There was a TV in the room but didn't use it, however it did not seem to have a power supply anyway!
You are given towel tokens on arrival and informed to exchange them at the pool bar for your bright orange beach towel. Each day you are then meant to replace your used towels in the trolley and obtain your tokens back...but in reality just exchange them for new ones to take back to your room so like everyone else you can secure your sun bed the next morning before the towels become available. However, there did seem to be enough sun beds available, if we returned to our room at lunchtime we took our towels with us and had no problem finding new sun-beds later in the afternoon either by the pool or on the beach. The sun-beds on the beach were wooden and yes some needed repairs. White/grey mattresses were used for these sun-beds as the pool ones were wicker and ok with just a towel, but this did not stop some guests taking the mattresses to the pool area.
The food in the restaurant was good, there was plenty of variety both at breakfast and for the evening meal. There was a Greek BBQ on the Monday evening where the tables were placed around the pool, this was a nice evening. There was always plenty of food for everyone whatever time you came to the restaurant, but we had fun watching the 'melon wars' as many guests used to grab platefuls of water melon immediately on entering, this at both meal times!
We sat in the same area of the restaurant for our stay and our waiter Alekos was always cheerful and helpful and had no problem giving us a second cup of coffee at breakfast. Yes you have to buy your evening drink with your meal but this is not an unusual practice abroad.
We visited Phillips bar some evenings for cheaper drinks. This bar is owned by Phillip and his extended family who are all very welcoming. We did have a drink by the hotel pool bar some evenings too and although the prices are more the service is good and attentive. During the day we bought french fries for our daughter for lunch from the pool bar and Nora worked hard with always a smile and laugh. The local supermarket is not far from the hotel and is the place to go for your bottled water.
Wifi in reception was spasmodic but we accidentally found it worked very well sitting at the pool bar and by the sun-beds on the grass, so don't sit inside reception if you want the internet.
I loved watching the planes come over the beach (1200 feet) on their approach to the airport, but they did not disturb you at night and even during the day they were not all that frequent.
The local buses are ok for your trip to Rhodes town, the local supermarket sells the tickets as you are not meant to buy them on the bus. The buses can be crowded but are air conditioned!
We would certainly return to this hotel, yes it does need some maintenance but what building doesn't in Greece?

Room Tip: Corner rooms are much larger but you compromise a little on the sea view...bur who spends their time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sheila H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    571
    469
    252
    98
    64
See reviews for
255
891
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

The hotel is close to the sea on the first line with a beautiful green garden.The rooms are clean and the food is really good.The hotel is excellent in all points.

Especially for me the best was the sport program - BODY & MIND.
For first time i tried to do yoga and want to recommend to everyone to try it if your choose for relax is Ixian grand hotel.
Thank you very much to the sport coach Nikolay i a hope we seen each other again next summer in this hotel!

I would like to recommend this hotel to everyone who wants to take really good rest in his vacation!

Room Tip: clean rooms with a jacuzzi and sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Famagusta, Cyprus
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

enjoyed this hotel very much. it was nice to relax and it was all so good for a romantic setting. the garden was beautiful and the food was excellent.
also the staff were very kind and always happy. i would deffinetly recommend to everyone especially couples. also a tip if you want to relax and stay in the hotel i would strongly recommend to stay at the villas with there own private swimming pool.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ibrahim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyiv, Kyyivs'ka Oblast', Ukraine
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Expected it to be complete disaster after reading reviews ful of dissapointment, but it was Ok on almost all points. Two main ways to improve for this hotel would be to organize playground for kids and at least some kind of place for sport activities. Otherwise it's allright - food is ok, rooms are clean and spacy, beach and pool area are clean. Kids liked very much that sunbathing area is splitted into lawn and rock parts. Wi-fi is available on almost whole sea-side part of territory, altough if it was working without reconnecting every minute it would be more enjoyable.

Room Tip: East side oriented seaview rooms are preffered.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oleksii K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SENTIDO_Ixian_Grand, General Manager at Sentido Ixian Grand, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear friends,

Thank you taking the time to post your impressions on Trip Advisor. We feel great to listen that you have spent some memorable moments in our SENTIDO Ixian Grand. With regards to the children playground you suggest to organize, please be informed that our philosophy is mainly oriented in adults, especially as of this year. But the standard amenities for children will always be available. Concerning the gym, we would like to inform you that, this year we inaugurate a brand new gym, fully equipped and of a stylish design to please even the most demanding customers. We would love to accommodate you back in our hotel and offer you the stay you really deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

QUALITY
It's a good hotel, the setting is nice, right by the sea with a couple of pools right on the shoreline. Although neither of the pools are particularly deep, there's a nice decked area separating them as seen in many of the hotel publicity photos. Not 5 * in a UK sense, but is in the realm of a 3-4* by various comparisons. The grounds are spread over a fairly wide area with various room types. The beach front suites look nice and enjoy some separation from the rest of the hotel with small private pools, loungers and decked areas. The grounds are clean and tidy with gardeners seemingly always around doing something. Be prepared to see a few cats and a couple of dogs roaming the site. They're part of the hotel and quite timid but friendly. During the time of stay, the most guests were from the Eastern European block of countries.
LOCATION:
It's a 10 minute walk into Ixia to the bars and shops. Its no more than a few minutes walk to the main road where there is a well used bus service which will take you straight into Rhodes Town at a reasonable price. Be prepared to stand at peak times when the bus feels a bit like a London Tube at rush hour!! There's a local taverna close by, the oldest in Ixia it says, and that is 'Phillips Bar' which is well worth a visit. The owner is really friendly and the drinks are less than half the price of those at the hotel! With the hotel being right by the beach front you regularly get the doughnut and fruit sellers plus others touting to give massages, sell wrist bands etc, but they don't push. If you're wandering into the town, check out the Glory Days FBI (Finest Bar Inn) just opposite the Villa Di Mare on the main road. Great staff who always give a warm welcome and remember you on a return visit and often what you drank! The hotel has a car hire desk in the lobby but there are loads of moto and car hire places around in the town which are cheaper, but care is needed! Helmets are optional on motos, as it seems is road safety generally, so don't go expecting anyone using the roads to be thinking of the Highway Code!
VALUE FOR MONEY:
You get what you pay for. It will depend where you book and through who so check around. Be prepared to pay premium prices for drinks at the hotel. A glass of local wine at the hotel is more than twice the price of the same wine at the local 'Phillips Bar' taverna down the road! Just don't ask about the other drink prices! Judging by the accommodation prices recently seen for this hotel, the excellent deal secured means that the stay was very good value. It could only have been improved with a different room in the block
ROOMS:
There's a choice of rooms with beach front suites at the top end. Interestingly, many of the basic rooms with sea views are perhaps better value, looking out from the rear of the hotel over the pools and directly out to sea. Having opted for a superior room, a request was made for a sea view on booking. Be warned, this isn't possible as none of the superior rooms have sea views! The room booked turned out to be one on the ground floor of the block and was reasonably large. It had a decent sized bed of reasonable quality, a couple of chairs and a sofa. There was an outside seating area with a table and chairs, however.... beware that some superior rooms are in what can only be called a 'recessed' position in the block with other superior rooms on each side protruding. Not really sure why they were designed this way as it leaves these recessed rooms dark and sheltered from any sun! The area to sit outside was very sheltered and dark with an outlook onto a hedge over which was the road. The TV in the room has very few UK channels, basically all news! The room was kept clean and well tended by staff. Excellent air conditioning!
FOOD & RESTAURANT:
They try hard with the food and some of it is quite nice. Whilst those in the beach front suites get the a la carte restaurants, its something you pay extra for... this is more like a 5* feel, but not for all the guests! Staying half board provided a good opportunity to try the food selection. At the end of the day, service is still all in a buffet style, so its always a kind of 'all you can eat' meal... which you see many doing... and then leaving much of it! If you had waiter/waitress service and some kind of set menu, I'm sure the reduction in the amount of food wasted would more than pay for the additional staff. This would give it more of a 5* feel, at least at meal times! There isn't too much glam you can put on with food served in an 'all you can eat' manner, but they did a good job. Importantly, no drink is provided with your evening meal, but you do get juices, coffee and hot water for teas during breakfast. If you want a drink in the evening, wether water, alcohol or soft drink, you pay for it separately... at their rather inflated prices! It would be a huge plus to simply provide a complimentary modest sized bottle of water with your evening meal! In the evening they try to ensure you wait at the doors and get checked off their list, then you're shown to a table. This works ok with a steady flow of guests coming in, but sometimes if its busy, people wander in. There needs to be an identified check in place signed (in lots of languages) where guests wait to be greeted, simple! The restaurant manager works hard to get his staff to continually have tables cleared and refreshed as guests leave. Again, all the waiters and waitresses do a stirling job here. Be warned, there is a fairly strict code of dress in the evenings for meals. Men must wear long trousers and there's no swim wear. In keeping with other comments, it seems women are able to get away with various options, more so than the men! The manager did challenge some, which did lead to one or two 'exchanges' in various languages, mostly broken English! The dress code is clear on the documents you get and in the file in the room, so don't complain if you're unceremoniously chucked out of the restaurant for wearing speedo's to dinner!
FACILITIES:
The two pools are nice as one is fresh water and the other a standard pool which is a little warmer. There are lots of loungers, some wooden recliners with mattresses and others are just wicker, its fun watching mattresses being swapped about. Yes, there are fewer loungers than there are guests! So, if you want to get a good place and a decent lounger, the longer you leave getting up the less likely you will be to secure one. After the first couple of days, to be sure of getting somewhere decent, it was up early and play musical sun beds! There are fixed parasols on the grass areas around the pools amongst the palms and a few more on the beach with loungers. Its a pebble beach, so don't go expecting lovely sand, you get that under the water when you're out to about knee depth! If you want nice sandy beaches, try Faliraki just down the coast! There is a fairly constant breeze which does pick up occasionally, so you've got to make sure there are a few pebbles on your towels when you leave them! The hotel provides towels from the bar at the poolside in exchange for tickets which you get on checking in. You get tickets returned when you give the used towels in but don't lose one as it'll cost you €20! The bars are nice with really good seating areas overlooking the pools, but enjoy at hotel prices!
OVERVIEW:
A good quality hotel, clean and tidy with some good facilities and positioned in a nice location. Food is generally quite nice with a lot of choices available, some better than others. There's a good selection of rooms available, but take care when choosing! Beware of the bar prices and the dress code for evening meal times. Check out the local bars, they're much cheaper and the staff are extremely welcoming. If you're going out and about touring, take care on the roads in Rhodes!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Octennial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

A perfect hotel,close to the sea with great sport program and lovely coach.

For me was very important to be in good body condition during the time of my vacation - so this hotel was for sure the best choice for me.
Body and mind program includes - pilates, yoga, ballooning, body forming, aqua fitness, back training, optimal body training, thera band training and flexy bar training.
Every day you can be part of class with 3 trainings in the morning and more two in the afternoon.
What can I say more – just the best sport and relax program and the best coach. Greetings to Nikolay.
I will visit this hotel again, for sure!

Room Tip: rooms with sea and garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Guzalia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Ixian with my wife for a week. We had a deluxe room with sea view in the main building and it was very nice (with a Jacuzzi with sea view). The restaurant was a bit chaotic for breakfast and the garden by the pools quite crowded even in June. (Hard to find sunbeds) Not very relaxing. Beach is made of pebbles, can't walk easily and water is not as clear as in other parts of Greece. Location is quite close to Rhodes town, but area around the hotel is a bit decadent with empty buildings and closed down shops. All in all if the hotel and hanging out in town are your priorities, go for it. If you want nice sea and a more relaxing holiday look elsewhere ( lindos for example)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leonardo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhodes Town
0.0 mi away
Sentido Ixian All Suites
Sentido Ixian All Suites
#27 of 126 in Rhodes Town
243 reviews
1.7 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,670 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#13 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#11 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,065 reviews
37.3 mi away
Atrium Prestige Thalasso Spa Resort and Villas
11.5 mi away
Sentido Port Royal Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sentido Ixian Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sentido Ixian Grand

Property: Sentido Ixian Grand
Address: Eleftheriou Venizelou, Rhodes Town 851 01, Greece (Formerly Elina Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Rhodes Town
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#18 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#27 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
#28 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sentido Ixian Grand 5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SENTIDO Ixian Grand - Adults Only (over 16 y.o.) is a premium beach SPA Resort at the west coast of the island Rhodes directly located at the Ixia beach. Moreover, the SENTIDO Ixian Grand - Adults Only has got 211 rooms with a cozy ambience. Just a few minutes away from the hotel is the UNESCO world heritage "the historic center of Rhodes" and the "Mount Flerimos" with an huge panoramic view. Enjoy the sunset at the beach, the attractive surroundings and the premium hotel SENTIDO Ixian Grand - Adults Only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sentido Ixian Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ixian Grand Hotel Ixia
Ixian Grand Ixia
Sentido Ixian Grand Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing