We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel right by the sea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sentido Ixian Grand
Ranked #19 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Stayed for a week with my husband from the 11th to 18th September. Had a sea view room, this was located at the front of the building, ie not parallel to the sea but we had a unrestricted view and got a good bit of people watching in as we could see all the comings and goings at the hotel entrance! Room number 332.

Hotel looks very grand when you walk in, the staff were very helpful and friendly. We stayed half board so brekkie and evening meal included. Food was of good quality, plenty of choice and fresh food was constantly brought out even 20 minutes before they stopped serving! Breakfast is 7-10am, advise to go after 9 as is quieter and better atmosphere. Evening meal from 6.30-9.30pm and after 8pm is quieter and more chance of nicer seat near the window/pool area. Go during busier times at your peril!

Plenty of sunbeds when we went and we are not early risers! Towels exchanged at pool bar no problems.

Only problem we had was with our key card, at least once a day we had to go back to reception from our room(third floor) to get the card recharged as it would not work. Do not put in your wallet or purse of wallet or anywhere where the magnet strip may get rubbed, this seemed to render it useless!
Oh and during busy times(ie around 9am and 5pm) the water pressure drops, alot! And our hot water even stopped twice during our stay. I think it shouldn't be too much to expect a large hotel to be able to keep up with water demand and when you've just shampoo'd your hair when it happens it's pretty annoying.....

All in all a very good hotel, described as 5 star, more like a good 3 practically, looks very good but the above niggles are not 5 star IMO. The west of the island tends to be windy, we had a few days of calm weather and swimming in the sea was great but on 2 days it was so windy the waves were huge! Not safe really unless windsurfing!

A good base for the rest of Rhodes, Ixia is ok as a resort but it's only 10 mins to Rhodes town on the bus so I would advise people to leave the resort and explore.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms not neccesarily facing sea - check if you really want the sea view room. The ones par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiloandMaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,599)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

559 - 565 of 1,599 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2013

This is a glorious location, and the facilities are beautiful. But, you want the staff and the upkeep to be better.

We had trouble getting the Ixian Grand staff to honour the arrangements with Thomas Cook-such as paying for "a pool or garden view"-and we were given neither- our room was over the entrance so busses, taxis and cars arriving and departing all night, as well as overlooking the massive air conditioning unit and having a "view of the water" if you leant out from the balcony. We were told that the road was at least private-but has a lot of traffic and overlooks a vacant, unpleasant lot. Also, we were supposed to get with our half board, one night in the a la cart restaurant-and we finally did after a lot of discussion and being made to go back and forth between the front desk and the restaurant manager. Be VERY careful to be aware of what you have paid for and take the contract with you that you get on email. Ixian Grand is not helpful in straightening these things out.

Our room was not spotless, although large. The beds are comfy. Towel situation is dire-not the best quality nor are they in the best shape. You are not given new ones everyday and the shower mats are scarce. Thomas Cook said that there would be slippers as well as the bathrobes but there were none in either room. Bear in mind that the floor in the rooms are tiled so take some comfy slippers with you-it does wear on you after a few days.

Important to note that they do not want you to flush any, as in NO, toilet paper down the toilet-so there is a bin next to the toilet some poor housekeepers have to empty everyday. So your bathroom starts to smell like what is on the toilet paper.....

A fellow commentator is wrong-not every room as a jacuzzi so do not expect on if you did not pay for it. Only some of the rooms have a jacuzzi.

We were finally moved to a "garden view room" which was a better view of the interior gardens. Outside the front door to this room, the wall is crumbling and inside, there was water damaged walls.

We read the trip reviews here before going and found them helpful.

Bear in mind the dining room is VERY noisy and crowded. The Restaurant Manager is not the most pleasant or helpful person. We were astonished by the drama between him and his staff, which on top of the noise and crowdedness, was just not pleasant to be around.

The buffet food was ok enough and a variety if stuff but the same everyday. "Greek Night" just meant the same food was served poolside and the meat was grilled-but the same selection. If you want authentic Greek, then go to a restaurant away from the Hotel-the food was pretty international-and not spiced well. An example: the juice for breakfast was watery and no flavour. Orangeade instead of orange juice. Pitchers of water were lukewarm and not refilled. Buffet server pieces were nasty and not cleaned during the seatings-so they generally had food
covering them, and the little holders they sat in.

The a la carte restaurant was nice because it was more pleasantly quiet but the food, again, was nothing special. Frayed table mats and the napkins were some sort of polyester so they were not up to being used for napkins. We were rushed through the meal.

The gardens are very nice. The beach is rocky until you go out about 3 ft. The pool water, both the salt water pool and the fresh water pool, is really cold and chilled. The beach umbrellas are tatty, with very rusty metal bars holding them up. In the mornings, the grounds have mud patches throughout so watch where you walk. The tiles around the pool are very slippery when wet, and small children were forever falling and having to be comforted. One of the pool showers is covered in green slime-and both pool showers are trickles of water not a 'shower".
Pool bathrooms are disgusting, dark and dank. They were in very poor condition.

This is a place where folks get their towels out by 7:30 to save their seats. it can be very Ruthless. The beach and poolside chaises are very worn and used-and the cushions are never cleaned-lots of bird droppings. The cushions are not brought in at night so are soaking wet in the morning.

There are cats, kittens and stray dogs everywhere, begging. They are pathetically thin. They are friendly and sweet but it is disconcerting to have these poor things there. The Hotel says they feed them "special food" but there is no evidence of that or further info on that. You wonder what will happen when the hotel closes for the season.

Everything in the Hotel is overpriced, like bottled water, etc. so head down to the supermarket-a five minute walk away from the Hotel in Ixia. Water, Wine and etc. can be had at far more reasonable prices. This is an actual supermarket that the Ixians themselves use, an d is not one of the smaller "Supermarkets" that also sell souvenirs. It is closed on a Sunday so plan for that and/or go to one of the smaller supermarkets. We got cheese and nibbles and snacks as the hotel stuff is so very much more pricey. We took a corkscrew in our check in luggage but we did see the front desk loaning out a cork screw. The small refrigerators in the rooms are empty and do keep things chilled.

We also were told after a few days that Greek water has a lot of minerals in it that can affect people with stomach alilments-and it does make you more burpy!

Other reviews mention that there are a lot of Russians there and this is true. They tend to be very noisy and pretty self focused, as in pushing their ways into queues, etc. We saw Russian men being evicted from the restaurant for trying to angle in wearing shorts when trousers are required for men. You do see a large number of very young Russian women with much older men, perhaps their "Uncles"? There were Russian families, with very young children, there as well.

Also, there is NO special areas for smokers-you are walking through smoke, smokers are everywhere-and the rooms have ash trays in them. So you are affected by smoke even on the beach. It would be better if management had designated smokers only rooms/smoke free rooms or sections on the beach.

The front desk, except for two people, were run by some really hard people. The "Concierge" was either absent or ill. You are basically on your own.

Internet very spotty.

On the other side of the super market is Phillip's Bar, which is a very nice place to go and sit, have snack and a beverage-and the host and his family run a great place. Good Chips! Wi-fi available. One of the family created the Zythos beer which is very good-and you can get it on tap at the Hotel as well. But, it is a lovely place to sit out with a cool drink.

We rented a car and went to Lindos which is a nice day trip. We also went on a tour of Rhodes Medieval City which is worthwhile. Rhodes city is just 6 miles from here. Lindos was about an hour away.

One of the nice thing about this Hotel is you are on the beach and it is pretty, with a view towards Turkey. The sky is incredible. Beautiful weather. it is a "blue flag" beach which is comforting. So many Hotels in Rhodes have the beach across a highway so this was very nice to be on the beach.

The pools close at 8pm so no evening swimming which would have been nice.

The bathrooms for the Hotel lobby are in the basement-and are very dark until you managed to find your way into a cubicle and a light comes on.

The hallways in the Hotel are tiled as well so you do have noise from the hallways in your rooms-and again, the Russians were oblivious to the noise they were making in the hallways.

We had to check out of our rooms by 12 noon on the last day. You are allowed to keep your towels and stay on the beach. We left our towels there to go to lunch and then went back to the beach. The Hotel does provide storage for your luggage when you do this. Since you check out, they let you open a credit account for your use for that day-so you can order drinks, etc. However, we went into the restaurant for dinner with our special account number and had a meal- that we had been assured we could do, and the Restaurant Manager's knickers were in a twist with us there but finally things calmed down.

You can make a request for a shower room while you are changing from your suits after you check out. We walked into ours and their were dirty towels stacked up and the shower had floaters in it from the previous shower-ers...as well as a flooded floor. Eeuuuuuw. They are strict about only having the room for 1/2 hour.

You really wish that all the staff communicated with each other better, and that the staff also were more professional as well given classes in diplomacy and manners.

There was a lovely Hungarian girl in the pool bar who was very helpful and pleasant-and a joy.

A man comes along the beach selling fruit and really delicious doughnuts. Also it was weird to have some Oriental people hanging out by the beach, who were NOT Hotel staff, hawking massages all the day long, pestering you and lurking besides the chaises.....

The hotel is VERY hard used and it was the end of the season. Having the beach right there and the two pools is great. The spa was closed.

Very good AC. Good black out curtains so you can block out early bright sun.

Room Tip: Ask for a Main Building room and make sure you have a "garden or pool view-you are not likely t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Summrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SENTIDO_Ixian_Grand, General Manager at Sentido Ixian Grand, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Dear friends,

Thank you for taking the time to post this detailed review on Trip Advisor. Your opinion is an effective tool in our hands towards the improvement you desire to succeed. Everything you have pointed out in your review will be thoroughly investigated in order to be properly fixed. We feel sorry we have not met your expectations.

We remain at your disposal for any additional information you may require.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Sentido Ixian Grand Hotel. Beautiful Gardens and beautiful pools with a fantastic view! Also the staff was very nice and friendly. Especially Giorgos from the main restautant and the degu restaurant. He was always ready to help, and made our stay even better!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TV88VT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

For those of us looking a good hotel in a great value for money.
The ixian grand will be the one in Rhodes.

We was staying in room 309.
The fact that every room have his own jacuzzi system upgrade the experience.

The location is ok, and Renting a car can be good idea.
They offer this service on the spot.

The food is fine, not a fine dinning experience .
But if you look on a way to satisfy your hunger, they have pretty dissent food.

The service is very kind and professional.
The staff are well trained and offer good service, TIP will make them smile and you be happier guest.

The rooms are quit big, and offer comfort stay.

Clean--- for us it's the most important thing.
And this hotel is excellent on being clean one !
If you looking for a clean vacation this is the place !

Enjoy !

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sagivamz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I was with my girlfriend at end of August begging of September and we stayed in a sea view room
The room was very clean and full with amenities, only one time i had a problem with towels but they solve it fast i can say.
The restaurants were very good, quality and variety of food & service was ok.
We ate once at the la carte restaurant the food was great but the service was a little bit ridiculous... the waiter there needs a lot of training
The bars were good with good quality of cocktails and drinks with decent prices, lower prices you can find outside to the cheap bars or at the supermarkets. The guys and the girls at the pool bar do a great job...

overall
staff good , food good, drinks good , location perfect = good value for Money ;)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very nice and clean.
You need to rent a car if you plan on hanging out in the old/new city at nights, it will save you 10 eur a trip (one direction) .

Cons:
Water in the pool is freezing cold.
No coffee or water heater, in the rooms.

Overall review is "great" ,get the sea view rooms or the suites and you'll get a great value for you money:)
We stayed for 5 days and enjoyed it very much.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EitanKoren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 1 week with our friends and their baby at the end of August 2013. We were very concerned with the nwpegative reviews and did, in fact, had a bit of a hickup on the day of our arrival - having to pay for our food despite the all inclusive due to the late arrival. We were cranky to say the least and were all too inclined to think that we were unlikely to receive the proper service and the warm reception, so typical for the other Greek destinations. But you just have to give yourself a chance to see this hotel for what it is - a place suitable for a great vacation.
TERRITORY - perfectly manicured, with very clean and good size swimming pools. The loungers are located on the lush green lawns, there you would not be bothered with getting sand all over yourself. There are plenty of places for everyone even during the maximum ocuupancy and, mind you, we were by far not waking up early to find a place.
ROOMS - we were staying in a standard room (ground floor, right beside the reception and the elevator) nothing fancy, but it was very clean and in a good state of maintenance. For the ladies...there are no irons or ironing boards and the hair driers are not very strong, so, plan accordingly. The rooms are well insulated, so we had no noise disturbance for us.
BEACH - very clean, softly sloped pebble beach. If you can tolerate a bit of discomfort of walking on 3 meters of pebbles, you dont even need the special shoes. The sea bottom is in fact sandy, so you can stroll around or jump the waves without landing on the pebbles. By the way, it tends to get a bit windy, so the waves might not let you swim peacefully every day. It was not bad enough though to be a complaint. Water was so beautiful and warm, which you don't often get at mountainous greek beaches.
FOOD - outstanding! I am not a foodie, but couple of times, it was impossible not to make all sorts of delighted noises when eating the lamb or the heavenly pangassius. Round of applause to the chef! The variety at both breakfast and dinner was very good. The only thing, there are no soups of any kind. I couldnt care less, but I guess thats a bit strange.
STAFF - as i said before, just give yourself a chance and get to know the people. We ended up becoming friends even with the staff with whom we had our grievances upon arrival. Staff at the bar and the restaurant really take care of you and greet you with warmth and sincerety. Special heartfelt hello to Giorgos and best compliments on his professionalism, welcoming approach and the sense of humour. :)
We loved it and would go back in a hearbeat.
Robert and Irina

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank World_an_oyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhodes Town
1 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#12 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,244 reviews
0 mi away
Sentido Ixian All Suites
Sentido Ixian All Suites
#27 of 126 in Rhodes Town
280 reviews
1.7 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Sentido Port Royal Villas & Spa
0.9 mi away
Amathus Elite Suites
Amathus Elite Suites
#4 of 126 in Rhodes Town
649 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#13 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sentido Ixian Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sentido Ixian Grand

Address: Eleftheriou Venizelou | Eleftheriou Venizelou 1, Rhodes Town 851 01, Greece (Formerly Elina Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Rhodes Town
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#17 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#27 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range: £72 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sentido Ixian Grand 5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SENTIDO Ixian Grand - Adults Only (over 16 y.o.) is a premium beach SPA Resort at the west coast of the island Rhodes directly located at the Ixia beach. Moreover, the SENTIDO Ixian Grand - Adults Only has got 211 rooms with a cozy ambience. Just a few minutes away from the hotel is the UNESCO world heritage "the historic center of Rhodes" and the "Mount Flerimos" with an huge panoramic view. Enjoy the sunset at the beach, the attractive surroundings and the premium hotel SENTIDO Ixian Grand - Adults Only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sentido Ixian Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ixian Grand Hotel Ixia
Ixian Grand Ixia
Sentido Ixian Grand Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing