We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sentido Ixian Grand

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Sentido Ixian Grand
Ranked #17 of 129 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2009

My family consists of my husband and i ( both in our 40s) a 18 year old girl and a 16year old boy.We all loved this hotel . We were upgraded from garden rooms to deluxe sea view rooms . The staff couldnt have been more helpfull and friendly. The food was much better than we expected with plenty to choose from and very tasty.Yes the drinks were pricey and having the discount certainly helped as did having supermarkets nearby which we purchased drinks and kept in the fridge in our rooms. The swimming pools were lovely very clean but very cold and we tended to use the sea which was great. The rooms (we had two) were kept spotlessly clean by the maids and with two teenagers this was no easy task. Unlike most of the hotels in Ixia where you had to cross a busy road to get to the beach this hotel was right on the beach . The seating areas were all lovely and comfy and clean .Both my teenagers never uttered those words im bored once . We did do two day trips out with olympic one to Symi this one not to be missed and the other to Lindos very pretty. As you can tell we loved it and hope to return next year.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sparky038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    499
    430
    235
    93
    61
See reviews for
241
783
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ealing, London, UK
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2009

I am actually writing this review as I sit in the lobby of the Ixian Grand Hotel in Ixia just down the road from Rhodes town thanks to the free wi-fi they provide in the lobby (which can sometimes be accessed in bedrooms but don't let them know). So far, and considering the weather, this is a really nice hotel. The staff are incredibly helpful and friendly, the rooms are always kept very clean with fresh sheets every day and the two pools accessible to those who go for the regular rooms are fantastic leading straight onto the beach. (Most hotels in Ixia have a road in the way but this one, I am glad to say, doesn't. They also offer trips to Lindos and Turkey through Manos travel which are reasonably priced. The main lobby has a seating area which if visiting during October comes in very useful in the crappy weather and is a) comfortable b) relaxing and c) is 3ft from the bar!
Whilst I have been incredibly happy with the place, a few things did disappoint me. During October, many places close up for the winter and there really isn't much to do in ixia. However, the bar 'my place' up the road is a great place run by friendly staff who make a great salad! Also, be aware that in October the weather can be terrible. The hotel food was also a let down. Buffet style food every day as the ala carte restaurant was closed for refurbishment. The bar was also a little pricey in the hotel with the average drink being 5 euros. Fortunately, 25% off for the last 2 weeks of October so all wasn't lost.
Also, I'm not sure it's worthy of 5* status. The lobby and pools are very nice but the rooms are no more than 3* with no tea/coffee facility. The beds are comfy though and they are fine for a place to sleep. I'm sure the more expensive rooms would be nicer.
All in all... A pleasant stay (so far) apart from the crappy weather. Also worth taking a trip to Old Rhodes town on the regularly running bus service from outside the supermarket. Only €2 and a 10 minute ride. 4 out of 5.
Al - London

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wackyal123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton on Trent
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2009

We had booked this hotel in May 2009 almost on the spur of the moment as it was promoted in the UK's leading TV guide. We booked a Superior Garden Room. Shortly before departing we looked at the latest reviews and were dismayed to read their largely negative content. We were delighted therefore to find that on arrival we had been upgraded to a ground floor garden area grand suite with a shared pool. Our room was very spacious with large double bed, jacuzzi bath, sunken lounge area with large screen TV and DVD, an outdoor lounge area with very comfortable arm chairs and tables as well as sunbeds, a private deck and own 15 mtr pool space. Truly 5 star accommodation. All kept very clean and tidy, equipped with free safe, tons of storage, bath robes and slippers and mini bar (expensive). Service in all areas (with the exception of the foyer bar) was always very good. The buffet breakfasts and dinners were plentiful and with more than enough variety. Food quality was very good indeed, with more than enough Greek dishes and desserts to distinguish it from the often general international fare usually on offer in package hotels. We used our private pool area morning and evening and spent the afternoons at the main pool between the hotel and the pebbly beach. The two main pools (one seawater the other freshwater) though cold (it was late in season after all so no complaints there) were very large, clean and attractive. There were plenty of sunbeds for everyone and it was a great space to sit and look out to sea. The main indoor public area comprising foyer bar and lounge was stylishly furnished with excellent views to the sea through large sliding glass walls, and there was a comfortable covered outdoor lounge area (service was a little slow here and prices high - but it is a top of the range hotel after all). We had a wonderful week's stay, no doubt coloured by our upgrade experience but we would recommend this to anyone wanting a relaxing late season holiday.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank martinsuew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
170 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2009

Those who read the reviews after booking a holiday at the Ixian Grand Hotel must have been really worried about what to expect. However, if you regularly use Trip Adviser it is often possible to read between the lines. The days of cheap holidays in Europe are over and we have to be realistic about what our £ will buy. But surely experienced travellers know that a five star hotel in Greece will not be the same as a five star hotel in the Far East or Caribbean and with this in mind, a lot of the bad comments are unrealistic and in some cases unfair. We paid £650 each for two weeks half board on a special deal with Olympic, half of what we paid for a week in Italy in early summer. Yes, the drinks were expensive in the hotel, but we armed ourselves with a 7 Euro bottle of Ouzo from the supermarket which we kept in our room and also took advantage of the 20% offer off wine in the dining room. Our room was very spacious, comfortable and clean. The food in the dining room was good if not excellent, with plenty of choice. Nobody could complain about the amount of food on offer. However we thought the way people loaded up their plates only to leave half of it was disgraceful. We didn't encounter any rude or unhelpful staff and the staff in the dining room loved to hear a few words of Greek. They work so hard and it was the end of a long season. In particular,Lewis, the maitre de, was a real asset to the hotel. It is true that there was little or no entertainment on offer in the evening and the hotel is situated in a rather run down area. The beach is pebbly and narrow, but the pools are huge and the gardens well kept and spacious. More than one of the reviewers on this site mentioned that the majority of those staying at this hotel were in their 60s and 70s. Sorry, but retired people deserve holidays too! This hotel is far more suited to the older holidaymaker and I would not recommend it for families or young people.

We thoroughly enjoyed our two weeks at the Ixian Grand and the October weather was beautiful.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joinedupwhiting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2009

When we arrived around midnight we had no help with our luggage. We were 3 adults and a baby with a pushchair, 3 suitcases and large bag. We were told we were ugraded to a sea view room - which was lovely and had a jacuzzi that when you sit in it it overlooks the sea. The view was lovely. The rooms were clean and we had no complaints except that there was no kettle in the room which we needed with a 6 month old baby. We were told if we wanted hot water we had to call room service. Although the hotel was modern, clean, good food it just lacked atmosphere and most people were in there 60's and 70's. There was no music so if you want a nice quite holiday this would be ideal. It was very busy seeing it was the end of the season and there were still plenty of sun beds. We went to Ixia for a wedding so we didn't stay in the hotel after dinner we went out every night, which is just as well as the drinks are very expensive. Still enjoyed it and were very pleased with our upgraded rooms. The rooms with their own pools looked lovely too.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolB_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chorley
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2009

After reading most of the reviews for the Ixian Grand we were getting worried about our forthcoming holiday in Ixia, but no need as our stay was wonderful, obviously made perfect by the glorious sunshine and the fact that my partner and i are happy in each others company. Sometimes i wonder if the people that write these bad reviews are not happy in their relationships or they are just plain spoilt. This was our first holiday abroad in our 3 year relationship, and one that we will never forget. The weather was fantastic, blue skies every day..and waking up to the beautiful view of the gardens and the sea every morning made you feel lucky to be alive. The room was comfortable and spacious with a big bed and a large power shower. We didnt need to go out to often in the evening as our balcony was a lovely place to sit while we played our cd.s on the dvd player. The bar was expensive but a bottle of wine from the local supermarket was under 3 euros if you dont like paying too much for a drink. 2 minutes down the road was Phils Bar, where we tried some beautiful cocktails..Try the one with baileys in..best cocktail ive ever had. The hotel restaraunt was interesting, inthat we had different food to choose from each night. We werent keen on the sweets..they seemed to taste odd; although the chocolate cake was good. Staff seemed very rushed, but the hotel was really packed so it is good to choose your eating times carefully. The gardens were well kept with a clean pool and plenty of beds. On the whole we had a great time! Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amandaChorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2009

This hotel had no atmosphere. The prices of drinks cost as much as a 5* hotel in London which meant that most people went out at night. We had a Superior Garden View room which was comfortable but basic. The gardens were well kept and pretty but the swimming pools were very cold and only a handful of people used them. If you wanted to go for a swim in the sea it was very difficult due to large stones. Surrounding area was very desolate and run down. We found Phillips Bar a 5 minute walk away where we could buy a pint for 2.50 Euros, and good food for lunch, at the hotel it was 6 Euros. The supermarket is just round the corner where most people bought their water at 30 cents for small bottle against 1.90 Euros at hotel. Buses into Rhodes were frequent but crowded at 2 Euros each and then we got a taxi back for 8 Euros.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohannaSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
1.8 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,365 reviews
1.0 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#9 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,882 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sentido Ixian All Suites
Sentido Ixian All Suites
#29 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#11 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,544 reviews
1.0 mi away
Amathus Elite Suites
Amathus Elite Suites
#3 of 129 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
3.5 mi away
Mitsis Grand Hotel
Mitsis Grand Hotel
#10 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sentido Ixian Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sentido Ixian Grand

Property: Sentido Ixian Grand
Address: Eleftheriou Venizelou, Rhodes Town 851 01, Greece (Formerly Elina Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Rhodes Town
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#16 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#27 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
#28 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sentido Ixian Grand 5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SENTIDO Ixian Grand - Adults Only (over 16 y.o.) is a premium beach SPA Resort at the west coast of the island Rhodes directly located at the Ixia beach. Moreover, the SENTIDO Ixian Grand - Adults Only has got 211 rooms with a cozy ambience. Just a few minutes away from the hotel is the UNESCO world heritage "the historic center of Rhodes" and the "Mount Flerimos" with an huge panoramic view. Enjoy the sunset at the beach, the attractive surroundings and the premium hotel SENTIDO Ixian Grand - Adults Only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Sentido Ixian Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ixian Grand Hotel Ixia
Ixian Grand Ixia
Sentido Ixian Grand Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing