We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Rhodos Horizon Resort
Ranked #8 of 127 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good Value”
Reviewed 8 October 2008

Hotel is in a good location, however there is road noise...this did not bother us. Rooms are spacious, with decent sized beds...bathrooms are extremely dated, and require total upgrading. Lighting in bedrooms not good, probably due to low energy bulbs ( which are unavoidable these days). Food plentiful, labelling would have been helpful, as many guests could not work out what the dishes were, quality not bad, except for vegetables...which were invariably rock hard!. Staff were pleasant, hotel was clean...towels and sheets changed regularly.The Belvedere is more suited to the over 40's traveller (which we are), we didn't see any children in the hotel. Pool area is pleasant, and beach (not the nicest beach, I must say) reached by underpass from hotel. Entertainment was pretty good, traditional Greek night, dancing & singing...karaoke etc. The hotel has a nice cosmopolitan atmosphere, with guests from all over Europe. Location is ideal, ten minute walk to both Old and New town. Rhodes is a lovely place to visit, and easy to get around. There is no need to use specially arranged excursions, as the local buses offer an excellent (and cheap) service. Remember if you visit Lindos...it is a long boat trip, but only 45 minutes by bus...nice, but very very tourist orientated. All in all, a fairly decent well located hotel.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank Mags1RochesterKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    456
    347
    134
    43
    15
See reviews for
126
611
37
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Level Contributor
57 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2008

For a cheap package holiday we were not expecting this hotel to be anything more than just a base to explore the amazing island of Rhodes.
The room was as expected, large with a great balcony over looking the beach. The bathroom was a nice size and it was good to have the fridge.
The pool was unbelievably cold. Bearing in mind we went at the end of Sept the sea was warmer.
Breakfast was of average standard but we didnt have any other meals.
What seriously let the hotel doown and nearly ruined the holiday was the rudeness of the reception staff. After repeatedly asking the staff twice a day every day about keeping our room for longer due to flight times we were finally told an hour before check out time we could stay but at a cost. We would have been prepared to pay this if we had been told on day one not fobbed off! When we questioned the receptionist about this she repeatedly told we had been told. The Deputy Manager was shockingly rude to us about the situation, had me in tears and didnt seem to understand any concept of listening to our points.
It was such a shame that this ruined our view of the hotel as otherwise we would have given a good review.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Front desk staff
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank nic2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elstree, Herts.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2008

The hotel offered really good value for money. As we expected the room overlooking the sea was basic but was kept very clean every day. The location was ideal if you like walking, being about 20 minutes from the old town and marina, although bars and restaurants are close by. Our favourite restaurant was the Tamam in George Leontos Street. It has an open kitchen so you can watch your food being cooked by the lady chef who really looked as if she was enjoying herself. Try the fillet Steak or the Sole.
Rhodes town has something for everyone whether it be sun bathing, shopping, culture, history and a lovely marina where you can visit other islands by boat. But make sure you visit Lindos. It's such a picturesque village with roof-top terraces lying beneath the castle.

  • Liked — Friendliness and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Swimming pool
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alelstree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derby
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2008

hotel was ok to stay in, its very clean and tidy . the staff were really nice to us. pool was not that great it can get very cold even when sun shining on it, it does get shaded over most of the time plus its near a main road with lots of noise. you can use the beleverder hotels pool but what we was told is that you have to pay 5euros to use it. rhodos beach hotel air conditioning is very good it is better to go first two weeks of September maybe earlier then that as it is free to use the air conditioning otherwise any later you will have to pay 6 euros a night the only reason they charge you is because it does get cooler in rhodes so you don't need to use it as much. piece of advice they don't like you getting henna tattoos as they stain the sheets and they will charge you the charge is 12 euros apparently not that we got one but there is a notice about it up on there notice board in the lobby. rhodos beach hotel is the best loction it is about 15 - 20 min walk to old rhodes town and about 5 - 10 min walk to the new rhodes town. beach is just across the road its a stoney beach its called windy beach and it is windy but nice because its cool its about 4 euros each for a sunbed on the beach but it well worth it. the only real proplem i had is that if you like to sleep in late the maids do bang around lots and move things around but other then that nice hotel. thats all i can say realy. if you are reading this have a nice holiday.

  • Liked — staff were very nice and it was clean
  • Disliked — pool it was cold and maids did alot of banging around and moving furniture not nice if you like to be lazy and sleep in lots.
  • Stayed September 2008
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emma105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2008

This hotel is basically a retirement home! There was no one under the age of 70! It is supposedly a four star hotel, but it is no more than a two star hotel! The choice of food was appalling; there were very few dishes to choose from! There was no authentic Greek dishes, and whatever dishes there were seemed to be mashed into a paste for the old people! This was the case for both breakfast and dinner. In terms of entertainment, it was none existent. If you call kareoke and bingo entertainment, then theres something wrong with u! The bar was dead every night and seemed to be closed by 12:00! There was no atmosphere poolside either! Rhodes is a lovely place, there is loads to do in the Old Town, however I would not advise anyone to stay in the Belvedere hotel... not even my worst enemy!
DO NOT LISTEN TO ANY REVIEWS PRAISING THIS HOTEL, THEY ARE EITHER LYING OR VERY SIMPLE PEOPLE!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — The Old People
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank CodSimmons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Süßenbrunn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2008

We stayed at the Rhodos Beach Hotel in August 2008 and we were really disappointed. First of all the room was clean, but really outworn. We expected more when we saw the pictures of the rooms. The air con was alright, but the television didn't work well (the picture got stuck all the time) and we had to pay 10€ just to use the safe.
The pool was a disappointment too. It's small, near the noisy main road, there are no sunshades and because of the buildings next to the pool, it was mostly covered by shadow in the afternoon.

The service was terrible. The chambermaid made the bed properly only on the first few days. After that, she just dropped the fresh linen on the bed.
The snack bar was okay, but I wouldn't recommend the cocktails. They are quite cheap, but not well done.

On our last day, the employees at the reception showed us a really impertinent behaviour. My girlfriend and I got some henna tattoos (which are quite popular in Rhodes) the day before and they made some small stains on the bedspread. The employees claimed that it was impossible to clean these stains (they didn't even try in our case) and we had to pay for the "damage"! They demanded 12€ for two old bedspreads! After we spend lots of money at their snack bar and the supermarket, which belongs to the hotel, they had the effrontery to charge for some stains on an old bedspread!

There are so many excellent hotels in Rhodes, so just ignore this one and take a room somewhere else.

  • Liked — Cleanness
  • Disliked — Employees (!), Pool, Service
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RhodesTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2008

Well, I stayed with my friend in this hotel for 4 nights. It was July 2008. The room was at the front side of the building and at the corner, so we had a great view of both the sea and the pool. I tell you this: the sunset from Belvedere is worth a lot, so if you're gonna stay at this hotel, make sure you have a room with view at the sea.
There were two seperate rooms with double beds for each one of us, but unluckily only one TV (damn! you're at holidays, what do you need it?lol). The Air-Condiotion was working properly, there was a huge wardrobe which was also a huge mirror that covered a whole wall-side of my room! The fridge was too small and it didn't appear to keep our water cold enough. The bathroom is designed for people who have not made the mistake(!?) to be taller than 1,7m!!! I am 1,92m and I had to take a "curious" position in order to take a shower...The worst thing abouth the bathroom was that the last 2 days it stinked, especially during the afternoon.
As long as the food is concerned, that is where Belvedere takes a perfect 10! Plenty of choices, tastefull, warm and generally we were completely satisfied. Though, if you are young (we are 23 y.o) you will never eat breakfast cause it is served till 9.30, so after our previous nights hangouts we couldn't wake earlier than 13.00 .... But, dinner time is OK (18.30 till 21.00).
The pool is really big, but make sure you reserve your place before you go for breakfast, otherwise you' ll have no chance even trying it, unless you like swimming after 7 in the afternoon...
The personnel is very friendly and the hotel is generally very clean. If you want to play tennis at the court of the hotel or surf the Internet you will have to pay and it is not cheap.
Lastly, if again you are single and young you will obviously return at the hotel at night with "company", but you will get fooled cause hotel's privacy says 20 Euros expenses for your night company plus her ID!!!! Does it remind you of something???

  • Liked — The food and the view from the room
  • Disliked — The
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank ndimos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
1.6 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 127 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,464 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mitsis Grand Hotel
Mitsis Grand Hotel
#7 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,972 reviews
2.3 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#10 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#13 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,565 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Mediterranean
Hotel Mediterranean
#15 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
3.0 mi away
Nathalie Hotel
Nathalie Hotel
#6 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rhodos Horizon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rhodos Horizon Resort

Property: Hotel Rhodos Horizon Resort
Address: 31 Akti Kanari, Rhodes Town 851 00, Greece (Formerly Belvedere Beach Hotel and Rhodos Beach Hotel)
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#26 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rhodos Horizon Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rhodos Horizon Resort is a 4 star hotel situated at the entrance of Rhodes town ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Rhodos Horizon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Belvedere Beach
Belvedere Beach Rhodes Town
Hotel Rhodos Horizon Resort Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing