We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we booked”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
smartline Cosmopolitan
Ranked #24 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel is not what we booked and defo isn't what was advertised hotel it's self is fine food is disgusting and the entertainment is beyond a joke we arrived on the 7th of May for a 2 week holiday filled with fun for the kids which we didn't get at all in the end everything was that bad we got moved to a different hotel I would recommend this hotel to OAP but defo not family's or young couples advertised as Bering close to beach yes if u want to cross a busy road and I mean busy so that isn't advertised right also it says when u look the hotel up that their is different stations for different types of food which yes the stations are their but they we never on so all in all I would never ever go back

Stayed: May 2014
2  Thank Leajeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager Z, General Manager at smartline Cosmopolitan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your feedback which is always very important to us.
We feel very sorry that we haven't met your expectations like we've done with other guests. We will take your comments into consideration for continuous improvement.
There is an underground passage right outside the hotel to reach the beach so there is no need to cross the road. I'm sorry you did not see it.
We take pride in our food offering and we are very surprised and disappointed to hear that we fallen short your expectation.
We hope to another opportunity to welcome you back in our hotel.

Kind Regards,
The Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (942)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

362 - 368 of 942 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014

My partner and I (24 & 25 yr old) have recently just retured from a weeks stay at the Cosmopoltan and we were pleasantly surprised. We recieved sandwiches as we arrived late into the evening which some people obviously weren't grateful at receiving, which we thought was a lovely gesture as we were starving!!

Our room was a good size for us (room 601) clean towels every day and replenishment of the tea and coffe. A complimentary bottle of water in the fridge and a cosy bed, with a balcony over looking the sea. Very comfortable and content. The maids were very polite and smiley.

The food was great. Lots of variety especially as my partner is slightly picky. Puddings were alwas the star of the show for us though! The waiting staff were again pleasant and the chefs produced flavoursome meals! We didnt visit the bar very often as it was crowded, we prefered to take a coffee back to our room for peace and quiet.

The island itself was amazing. Lots of places to visit whether it shopping or historical. We went scuba diving on Kalithea bay, visited Lindos to see the acropolis and walked through Old Rhodes town, stopping off at their stunning museum.

The only downfall to the trip was our rep. She failed to give us the full details of the excursions and we ended up paying more ontop. For example our trip to Lindos cost us 20 euro each, but this didn't include the admission fee of 6 euro to get into the acropolis. So we paid 20 euro for a coach trip which had taken over 2 hours (only meant to be 1) and no official tourguide. However a local bus to Lindos would be 7 euro return each. If booking with Thomas Cook ask for all the details!!

Overall my newly husband to be and I had a wonderful trip and would definitely recommend it and hopefully return again. It truly is a wonderful place to explore :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Gemmeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager Z, General Manager at smartline Cosmopolitan, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Guests,

We would like to thank you for choosing our Smartline Cosmopolitan hotel for your holidays and for your honest and accurate feedback.
We appreciate your nice comments and we consider them as a tool for our continuous improvement.
Hoping to see you again, we wish you a nice and relaxing summer.

With kind regards,
The Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We booked a last minute holiday to Rhodes with Thomas Cook travel (£280 pp all inclusive).
We flew from Gatwick on their own airlines. This is the most no frills airline I have ever flown with, and we've done a few. Even the in flight entertainment screens had been removed.
Arrival at the hotel was easy, however, at 10pm we were handed some dry, old cheese and some kind of meat sandwiches .

The room was fine (605). I think I would prefer to stay in the main building to any of the others scattered around the grounds, purely based on the noise factor.
The room was fairly basic, but clean. No mini bar, no toiletries except the soap/shampoo dispenser.
1 bottle of water the first day and non after that.
The rooms were clean though, and fairly good in size.

Food was plentiful and a decent variety. However, bland, repetitious , some recycling ( Brussel sprouts one night ...salad the next day), and mostly cold. Even 7am breakfast ..hot food was cold.
There is a microwave oven tucked around the corner which I made good use of to heat my food.

Entertainment? Average. The only bar opened was way too small to cope with the number of guests (700 rooms in the hotel). As drinks are included ( yes it's the cheapest possible wine and spirits). And yes people stayed and stayed.
The bar area still had kids running around screeching at 10pm.
An area "adults only" would be a great idea.
There are plenty of sun beds if that's your thing to bake your skin to leather, just one pool however.
All in all ...like everything ...you get what you pay for. This was probably great value for what we paid.

Room Tip: The main area sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank allaust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager Z, General Manager at smartline Cosmopolitan, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your review from your recent stay with us. All comments are taken into consideration as our goal is to improve quality and services.
I'm sorry you did not enjoy the sandwich we have offered upon your late arrival but I can assure that the cheese we use is certainly not old a, I do apologise not having matched your taste.
We have never advertised our 4 star AI hotel to offer mini bar or luxurious toiletries but we do offer quality shower bath and shampoo dispensers. In the brochure it is stated that we offer one bottle of water upon arrival only as the majority hotels of our category . However, we do operate on AI so you are most welcome to have as much drinks and wine as you can enjoy ! At this point, I would like once more to reassure you that the wines and beers we offer are local and of very good quality, definitely not cheapest possible as you describe. Again, I'm sorry you did not enjoy our wine and spirits like our other guests do. Regarding your suggestion for an adult area we will put it on the table for the following season.
Thank you once more for your time and apologies we did not meet your criteria.
We hope for an opportunity to welcome you again in Smartline Cosmopolitan.

With best regards,

The Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed here in April 2012 - the very beginning of the season.

The hotel was nice, we had a room in the annexe - rooms had recently been refurbished. We had a family room although there was only myself and my husband. Big room with twin beds and bunk beds and a sofa bed. Quiet location.

The food was fine, there was always plenty of choice. Some people were complaining but some people always find something to complain about with the food. As it was early in the season the animation team were limited to what they could do....they played darts, pool and table tennis but although the weather was warm it was too cold in the pool to do any water activities.

Evening entertainment was practically non existent, I don't know whether it was because it was early in the season but out of 7 nights we only had entertainment on one night which was a music quiz which was a real good laugh.

Everywhere was clean and the food and drink was good so all in all it was a good break away.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CollyW266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager Z, General Manager at smartline Cosmopolitan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Colly,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us on your early holiday in April .
I'm very happy to know that overall you have had a nice and relaxing stay with us.
We do feel sorry that our Animation and Entertainment program did not meet your expectations fully and we will consider your comments for the early season of next year.

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in Smartline Cosmopolitan in the future.

Kind regards,

The Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed the first two weeks in May 2014. We arrived at 11.30pm to be given dry ham and cheese Clingfilm wrapped sandwiches and shown to our room. The room was first floor and in the annex overlooking the pool and with a sea view, the room had twin beds ( pushed together) and was adequate in size and quantity of cupboard space. We had a private balcony and the bathroom was clean and a good shower was a bonus.
The room was cleaned and towels refreshed every day the communal areas we managed and clean however the wooden ramp up to the main building could be slippery when wet and the outside seating cushions were not always available especially if it had rained (early in the season) leaving you to sit in the small lounge/ bar area which was populated with large sofas and if you didn't get there early enough could leave you struggling to find a seat for the evening entertainment. The entertainment went on throughout the day including darts, aqua aerobics, yoga, by the animation team, the kids evening entertainment could be repetitive and dominated the lounge from 9-945 so we avoided it the choice of entertainment was varied from cabaret to Greek music and dancing and game shows, the team were friendly and interactive however the entertainment was basic and ad hoc and sue to the positioning of the lounge furniture sometimes difficult to access and could be too loud to chat.
The all inclusive menu was good with a variety of foods not always labelled adequately but the staff were helpful and the outside area doubled the restaurant, we only queued on a few occasions.
The beach was across a busy road which we accessed via the underpass however the beach was a strip of barren scrub so if you want a nice beach travel to Lindos which we did on two occasions with Manos going travel located just outside the hotel always pleasant and helpful.
We met our travel rep at the welcome meeting but if you needed to see her again was always tricky the poor girl was frazzled and unless you had a real need to see her we left her alone, the travel notice boards we available however we were annoyed to find the our fight was delayed but the pick up time didn't reflect this meaning a wait at the airport of 3 hr wait on uncomfortable metal chairs in a hot crowded space and we had missed our evening meal.
The location of the hotel was ideal for a visit to Rhodes town with a taxi rank and a bus stop outside the hotel made this easy we had lots of excursions and enjoyed visiting the island, Rhodes old town was fantastic if you like shopping and history the people were friendly and not too pushy lots of choice to eat but be careful crossing the roads, wait for the green crossing lights and be wary of zebra crossings the cars do not automatically stop. Avoid scratch card dealers on street corners for a lengthy presentation for time share and you DO NOT win a holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank anita d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager Z, General Manager at smartline Cosmopolitan, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Anita,

Thank you very much for such a detailed review and kind comments about your recent stay in Smartline Cosmopolitan. I’m sure other guests will find your tips on the island very useful. It’s very nice that you have pointed out our services and their consistency The issue you have mentioned with the ramp and the food labeling has been looked at and we thank you for your attention!
Once more I would like to thank you for choosing us for your holidays and we sincerely look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards,

The Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Well i came in july 2013 till august, it was okay, not many people spoke english and the food was okay sometimes. Many people were rude, the staff were okay. We made friends with some other people there, it was nice for the sun but that was about it. The drinks were horrible, the lemonade was the worse it tasted like crap. Our room was okay, they were kids peeing in the pool and at night i watched the men just throw in the cleaner for the pool not even measuring it so it hurt our eyes. It was an okay holiday, i wouldnt go back there ever again.

Room Tip: Don't have the bugalows, its right new to bar area so all you hear is that, pick the main area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tyesha p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager Z, General Manager at smartline Cosmopolitan, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We feel very sorry that your stay with us in July 2013 was not what you have expected. We are disappointed to hear that on your visit our drinks did not meet your expectations. Our offering last year as well as this year consists of best local labels in the market. Again, I’m sorry that for you we’ve fell short. Regarding the pool, I assure you that pool cleaner is not just thrown as we would never risk the health of our guests and ourselves. At this point, I should inform you that during the season we are checked numerous times from Health & Safety organisations and Tour Operators. None have found our pool inappropriate in any way.
The team and I feel disappointed for your experience and we hope to have the opportunity in the future to make it up for you.

Best Regards,

The Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Went with a large family group in August 2013, we were spread over 3 rooms, the first night 2 rooms were over a bar and extremely noisy until 4am! However we were moved the next day after complaining at reception. The rooms were spacious and clean, the maids came in everyday and made beds, swept floor etc.. The food was varied and plentiful the restaurant does get extremely busy at peak times and we did have to queue to get in a couple of times.
Getting sunbeds was a massive task the first day we had none so the old saying if you can't beat them join them was put in force and we joined holiday makers getting up at 5am putting out towels.
The children in the group loved the kids dances and took part in children's pool activities but did not use the children's club as this was for the polish guests, the entertainers work very hard however our party wasn't to keen on the entertainment but the other nationalities loved it maybe it was our British sense of humour?!? Had to cover the children's eyes on a few of the nights as some shows are extremely risque!! A short bus ride into Rhodes town, and across the road from a quiet sand/shingle beach.. We were a varied age group and all guests had a great time... We would go back for sure!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Snowgirl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager Z, General Manager at smartline Cosmopolitan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to let us know about your stay last August.
We are very happy that you and your family have enjoyed your holidays. As August is the high peak month, the occupancies are at the highest and we are sorry you had to queue once or twice at the restaurant. Both staff and guests do their best to avoid having people wait for food. We have a new animation team this season and the feedback we receive is very positive , yet we will take your comments into consideration.
We truly look forward to welcoming you and the children back in Smartline Cosmopolitan soon!

With kind regards,
The Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,882 reviews
0.4 mi away
Belair Beach Hotel
Belair Beach Hotel
#28 of 126 in Rhodes Town
800 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dionysos Hotel
Dionysos Hotel
#15 of 126 in Rhodes Town
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Oceanis Hotel
Oceanis Hotel
#17 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,651 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#16 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,774 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sirene Beach Hotel
Sirene Beach Hotel
#50 of 126 in Rhodes Town
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to smartline Cosmopolitan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about smartline Cosmopolitan

Address: Iraklidon Street 175, Rhodes Town 851 01, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#14 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#20 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
#21 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range: £55 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — smartline Cosmopolitan 4*
Number of rooms: 377
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The All Inclusive hotel smartline Cosmopolitan is ideally located on Rhodes' west coast. on a hillside between Ixia and Rhodes town.. A stunning view of Trianda Bay is guaranteed. The hotel comprises a total of nine buildings and has a nice pool area with two pools and a large kids' pool. The hotel's animation team arranges various activities throughout the day, including water aerobics, boccia and evening entertainment several nights a week. The easiest way to get to Rhodes town's narrow alleys is by taxi or bus both stations are in front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your smartline Cosmopolitan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mareblue Cosmopolitan Ixia
Mareblue Cosmopolitan Hotel Ixia
Cosmopolitan Hotel Rhodes
Smartline Cosmopolitan Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing