We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent week”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
smartline Cosmopolitan
Ranked #22 of 127 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“excellent week”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Just returned from a very comfortable stay at this Hotel. Michalis and all the staff are friendly, helpful and the entertainment team good fun. The room which had a wonderful sea view was spotless and cleaned daily. Food offered a wide choice and was very good quality. The location is ideal and easy for travelling to Rhodes town. The buses get busy but there is always the taxi rank across the road which is reasonably priced. The beach is close and has a bit of shingle at the waters edge but if you have sensitive feet you can buy water shoes at the supermarket, again reasonably priced. All in all a great holiday.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank toni j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager Z, General Manager at smartline Cosmopolitan, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your excellent comments from your recent stay with us.
Each and everyone of our collegues is thanking you for your kind words about the provided service.
We are hoping to welcome you again at Cosmopolitan Hotel and we once more thank you for the time that you spend to share your feedback on this website.

Best regards,

The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    313
    149
    20
    10
See reviews for
281
354
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Excellent hotel, very good food, drinks by the pool. The hotel has a good location - 3 km to the old town of Rhodes, great as a base, the hotel can rent a car. Beach average, but beautiful views of Turkey. Team nice, helpful front desk and very, very nice in restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Kamila P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager Z, General Manager at smartline Cosmopolitan, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear guest,

It was very kind of you writing a review about your holidays in Cosmopolitan Hotel of Rhodes.
Thank you for showing your pleasure in every kind of service we provided you in our hotel.

We do hope that we will soon have the opportunity to welcome you back for another wonderful stay

Best regards,

The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Fantastic holiday at a great hotel

please take bad comments from others with pinch of salt more are willing to moan than compliment, i went with my girlfriend as last minute booking after other holiday was cancelled, had a fantastic, easy going week, clean, watered and fed with staff who helped throughout :)

Food- was fantastic, great spread and plenty provided throughout the day with something for everyone. Only grumble was one bar maid was a little moody when serving however the majority were quite charming so again i was happy and avoided miss grumpy

The room was cleaned daily and had everything we wanted, although had a noisy first night being placed near reception with buses however staff offered to move but noise was no longer so we stayed so cannot fault them.

Entertainment team were fantastic and really welcomed us and knew us by name and provided lots of activities when wanted.

the location of the the hotel is so close to the beach and near enough to all the attractions like rhodes town and other shops/bar really is a great hotel for all!!!!!

will hopefully return

Room Tip: all rooms have own qualities some with better views/ nearer pool but you won't go far wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager Z, General Manager at smartline Cosmopolitan, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us.

Our excellent location, hotel design together with our personnal service are elements that we are extremely proud of and it is always such a pleasure to read our quests positive comments regarding these.

Thank you for selecting Cosmopolitan Hotel for your stay in Rhodes. We do look forward to welcome you back in the very near future.

The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed in June for a week all inclusive, had a lovely time!

Location- Great location in terms of proximity to Rhodes town! Took about 40 minutes to walk, but we found the bus to be good value (1.70 each way), you can buy bus tickets from the supermarket under the hotel! The buses can be really full in the mornings, we had to wait for half an hour while and eventually we caught the 5th bus to pass! Taxi is good value if you have a party of 4 at only 8 euros its probably a better option as the buses are like a sardine can.
Ixia isnt great, a little run down but with all inclusive you don't need to leave the hotel so often. The beach is quite stoney but quite nice. There is quite a busy road outside the hotel but this didnt bother us really.

Food- Generally the food was great! The best all inclusive food I've experienced. Loads of flavoursome dishes and traditional Greek food as well as Italian and Chinese. There was always salad and chips so you were never hungry. The pool snackbar was also pretty good with a nice variety.

Drinks- To be honest the all inclusive cocktails were quite disappointing, a lot of them tasted really similar they were okay but the good cocktails you had to pay for which was pretty cheeky. The wine was nice and the spirits were fine! The soft drinks were fine, all local brands but thats normally the case.

Entertainment- The animation team were brilliant, always chatting to us and making sure we were having a great time! There was great day time activities, darts, booles, water aerobics, water polo, water zumba and more! It was good to get off the sunbed and do something and the entertainers were great fun. The evening entertainment was all sketches by the team and with a few drinks was hilarious and they did their best to keep us laughing. Also you got popcorn with was fun.

Staff- They staff were really lovely. They maid always did a great job and they place was so clean. Reception staff helpful and friendly. Barstaff could be a bit friendlier but I understood as it was always busy. The main bar at night wasnt great as they didn't put on enough staff to cope with the amount of customers, no table service which didnt bother us really.

Overall we had a lovely time and would consider coming back next year!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Rose N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager Z, General Manager at smartline Cosmopolitan, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for posting your review from your stay in our hotel through trip advisor.

We appreciate your positive comments which have already passed to our team members, but most of all we are really pleased that we manage to offer you memorable holidays.

We definately look forword to welcome you again to our beautiful resort.

Best regards

The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My boyfriend and I just came back from a 2 week break at this hotel and we couldn't be happier! The hotel is lovely, modern, clean and all the staff are extremely helpful and friendly. The rooms are clean, spacious, with excellent bathroom facilities. Beds were made every day, and the coffee and tea was also replenished. However, you do have to ask for fresh towels at the pool bar, but this was not a problem! The food selection is excellent for all inclusive. All nationalities are catered for. There was a wide variety food, with even Chinese and Italian dishes, as well as traditional Greek dishes. Dining room is clean and well looked after. This hotel has it own spa, which was well managed by the lovely Yiannis. Me and my boyfriend had a massage and aloe vera body treatment, which was very relaxing in their poolside spa environment. Highly recommended. We were very impressed with the drinks menu, especially the cocktail menu! The bars are well staffed, with the pool side bar staff being very efficient during busy periods. We had great service from Giota and Mikes in the hotel bar, who instantly remembered us and our drinks order! The hotel has two pools, as well as a children's area. Both pools are lovely, and you never had to fight for sunbeds. Everything is well maintained, and there is plenty of pool safety information on poolside (as there is no lifeguard). The hotels animation team really liven things up on poolside and in the evenings. They are eager for you to be involved with activities, but are never too pushy. Big praise for Desmond, Erika and Mario, who were very friendly and fun! Activities range from aqua aerobics, table tennis, darts, water polo, bowls, aqua zumba and Latin dance fitness. The team would then entertain in the evenings with a range of variety shows and games nights as well as the mini disco every night for kids. Also Michallis the hotel manager was always pleasant and helpful with any enquires. Overall we had a lovely holiday, made better by the hotel and staff. My boyfriend didn't want to come home, after striking up several bromances with Des, Yiannis and Mikes!!!! We would highly recommend this hotel to everyone!!!

Room Tip: Ask or book a sea view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Meg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager Z, General Manager at smartline Cosmopolitan, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Meg,

Thank you very much for such a detailed review and gracious comments about your recent stay.
It’s very nice that you have pointed out the level of service and its consistency. I have to say that I am privileged to work with a very dedicated team, eager to make sure that our guest has an enjoyable experience in our resort. It’s always very nice to hear it from you directly, a guest, who actually experienced it in person.
I would like to thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcome you back soon.

With kind regards,

The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Amazing hotel,staff fab, pools amazing ,rooms very clean, drinks and food excellent. My Rep Natasha Mcloud from Thomas cook was amazing! fantastic location and ideal for beach and sunsets, Will try to visit again soon.

Room Tip: Ask for pool side
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bristolbird1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager Z, General Manager at smartline Cosmopolitan, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to let us know about your stay! It's always great to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay with us. Our team is always focused on providing the best service possible, so we'll make sure to acknowledge all of our departments for the job well done. I'd also like to thank you for providing great tips that our future guests can use, and for the kind words. Our team is looking forward to seeing you once again.

With kind regards,

The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We have just arrived back from a 2 week stay at this hotel (18/06/14 - 02/07/14). What a truly magnificent stay we have had. The hotel is gorgeous, and the staff in the hotel are extremely pleasant and will go out of their way to help guests.

On arrival we were given a room on the first floor of the main building. We didn't like the fact that this floor is a shared balcony and not so good views. We asked the reception if any other rooms were available and the next morning we were placed in the annex building on the 3rd floor, with gorgeous views of the sea as well as the pool area. We really are grateful to the staff at the hotel for allowing us to change our room as a lot of other hotels would not have done this.

The cleanliness of the hotel is unbeatable. The maids work extremely hard and every day the rooms are cleaned spotlessly.

The food in the restaurant is great. I am a vegetarian and was pleasantly surprised at the amount of food available for myself. The queues for drink in the bar have been greatly exaggerated on peoples reviews. We never once queued for more than 1 minute for a drink and 9 times out of 10 there was no queue at all! There was often a small queue in the restaurant for lunch, which was no problem for ourselves. The only issue we had was that a lot of Russian guests were extremely ignorant and didn't understand the concept of queuing.

The pool scene was great. We often stayed by the smaller pool which was a lot more quiet, although it is important to highlight that in the last few days of our stay they seemed to be far more children around the hotel which made it a little harder to relax during the day.

The animation team were great. Absolutely spot on. Desmond, Erika and Mario are all great at what they do. They are other Polish members to the animation team, however they do not really engage with the English guests at the hotel. Games night is extremely funny and is recommended. They do a few variety shows as well on an evening, although after watching them a couple of times they can become repetitive and boring.

We done a couple of trips while on our holiday. We went to Lindos which is a must do! A truly gorgeous place. We also went to Marmaris on a day trip. The ferry only took 1 hour to get there and we went to the great Bazaar and done a lot of shopping. We also spent a couple of nights in Rhodes old town, big shout out to Georges Bar for their "special" cocktails! There are a few bars in Ixia as well. Our favourite was Black Velvet which is right at the other end of Ixia, but they play live music and it has a great atmosphere.

Also...AVOID the supermarket adjacent to the annex building. The staff are extremely rude and obnoxious. Instead use the Cosmopolitan Supermarket where we found the staff to be very pleasant and helpful.

The beach is one to avoid sadly. Not very nice at all which is a shame.

All in all our holiday was superb and I could not recommend this Hotel enough!

Room Tip: Try to avoid 1st floor in main building as all rooms have a shared balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager Z, General Manager at smartline Cosmopolitan, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review, of your experience in our hotel.

Needless to say, we were thrilled to read all those kind comments regarding our facilities in all of our sections.

Thank you for selecting our hotel for your stay in Rhodes. We do look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Best regards,

The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 127 in Rhodes Town
2,589 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oceanis Hotel
Oceanis Hotel
#18 of 127 in Rhodes Town
1,494 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#14 of 127 in Rhodes Town
1,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#10 of 127 in Rhodes Town
2,019 reviews
0.9 mi away
Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center
0.4 mi away
Belair Beach Hotel
Belair Beach Hotel
#29 of 127 in Rhodes Town
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to smartline Cosmopolitan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about smartline Cosmopolitan

Property: smartline Cosmopolitan
Address: Iraklidon Street 175, Rhodes Town 851 01, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#14 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#19 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#20 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — smartline Cosmopolitan 4*
Number of rooms: 377
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The All Inclusive hotel smartline Cosmopolitan is ideally located on Rhodes' west coast. on a hillside between Ixia and Rhodes town.. A stunning view of Trianda Bay is guaranteed. The hotel comprises a total of nine buildings and has a nice pool area with two pools and a large kids' pool. The hotel's animation team arranges various activities throughout the day, including water aerobics, boccia and evening entertainment several nights a week. The easiest way to get to Rhodes town's narrow alleys is by taxi or bus both stations are in front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your smartline Cosmopolitan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mareblue Cosmopolitan Ixia
Mareblue Cosmopolitan Hotel Ixia
Cosmopolitan Hotel Rhodes
Smartline Cosmopolitan Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing