We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An honest review from a couple who are not usually fussy!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
smartline Cosmopolitan
Ranked #23 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Clitheroe
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“An honest review from a couple who are not usually fussy!”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We arrived at the hotel at around 3pm in the afternoon, check in was quick and easy but had to find our own way to the room with very little direction given by the receptionist. We did however find the room quite easily by using the lift, we were on the fifth floor with a beautiful sea view.

The room was nice, free air conditioning, basic tea and coffee making facilities but with two single beds pushed together, with booking a double room we were expecting a double bed, but it wasn't a huge problem. The maid was very good, clean towels every day and the room was always cleaned thoroughly. We were disappointed that we didn't have an iron, we rang reception to ask if we could have one as a few of our outfits were creased from being in the suitcase. We were told that this was not possible unless we paid extra to have our clothes sent out of the hotel to be ironed. I don't go on holiday to iron but sometimes it is handy to quickly run over your dress to look a little nicer. A few creased outfits we just had to put up with, again, not a massive issue though.

Wifi in reception is free but not the best connection, anywhere else to use wifi is €1 an hour which is cheap compared to other hotels we have stayed in, but again, the connection isn't brilliant.

Cleanliness of the hotel as a whole was very good, fresh water swimming pool (was very cold but the strong breeze made the heat bearable enough to lie in). If you want a sun bed in a decent spot, get up early! Maybe we just went on a busy week but we did struggle with sunbeds and spent most days at the beach because of this. The beach is just across the road, 30 seconds walk away. The sea is very rough with big waves which myself and my partner found quite fun to (attempt!) to swim in. Please note though that it's a pebble beach which is painful on bare feet, make sure you have some sort of sandals or flip flops you can wear into the sea. There is also a charge of €4 per person for the day.

Staff at the hotel were not at all friendly, we had very little contact with the animation team, to us they seemed more interested in any other nationality than English. The pool bar staff always seemed tired and like they simply couldn't be bothered. "Yes?" Was all that was said by most staff, when they were asking what you would like to drink. The all inclusive closes at 11pm, at which point you must pay for your drinks after this time. The all inclusive cocktails weren't very nice, and each person was only allowed to order two drinks at a time. My partner drank the local beer, which two drinks in the small glasses didn't even equal one pint so he was constantly up and down the to bar. As a couple in our early 20's we found 11 o clock very early, the hotel suddenly went very quiet because everybody disappeared to bed! The main bar was also very busy with only two members of staff at a time with long queues, maybe we just spent our time there on a busy week. Because we found the animation team quite rude we spent a lot of nights down at the pool bar and had a few games of pool, but at €2 a game it can get quite expensive!!

The food was excellent, plenty to choose from and always something available. Breakfast 7.00-10.00, continental breakfast 10.00-10.30, lunch 12.30-2.30 (I think) with the snack bar at the pool open 12.00-4.00 serving pizza, chips, burgers, fruit and cakes etc all on a self service basis. Also an ice cream stand which is self service which is delicious and open all day. Evening meal is 6.30-9.30. We found the food very good for all inclusive with something different every night, three sections to choose from, Chinese, Italian and Greek with a huge salad bar also. My partner particularly enjoyed the desserts at all meal times, the cakes were delicious. Everybody is given a free visit to the Elie's restaurant at the pool, we didn't find this as good as the usual buffet, but as it's free you may as well try it, it was okay. The barbecue which is held weekly is €13 per person, we didn't actually go so can't personally comment but we didn't hear great reviews about it.

The location is quite central, a 15 minute walk into the main resort of Ixia with bars, restaurants and shops and a bit further into Rhodes town. Buses are available into Rhodes town at around €2 each or a taxi is €8. 'Bar street' as they call it is extremely lively, the taxi driver actually describing it as 'the new Faliraki'. Lots of bars and clubs (including a strip club!) which we were not expecting!! The old town however is beautiful, we ate at a gorgeous restaurant with reasonable prices of €9 each for a delicious traditional Greek dish.

Check out was very quick, literally saying our hotel room and the receptionist just said "okay thank you, good bye". We weren't even asked if we'd had a nice stay. Again, the staff weren't the friendliest we've come across in what is rated a 4/5 star hotel.

All in all we had a relaxing stay, but mainly kept ourselves to ourselves as there weren't many other English people there despite the hotel being full. The English we did meet we're lovely, special hello to Matt, Sarah, Tabitha, Yan, Claire and Nevaeh. (Sorry we didn't get to say goodbye, we fell asleep down at the beach for a couple of hours!!) hope you had a nice journey home. 3 and a half stars from us, but with recent reviews we had higher expectations.

Lois and Cristian

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lois1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager Z, General Manager at smartline Cosmopolitan, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for this detailed letter you have posted on Tripadvisor.
There are many comments which are really useful and they will help us very much to provide you a better service to each and everyone of you.
Thank you for selecting our hotel in Rhodes and we will sure take very much in mind everything that we will makes us even a better team for our quests.

Best regards,

The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    332
    156
    21
    13
See reviews for
312
371
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I have just landed home after visiting this hotel. Was greeted with welcoming arms from reception. Really helpful at all times throughout our stay. We had a bungalow between 3 adults and one child. Two big beds. (Not the softest mattress tbh) free air conditioning and fridge. We had to pay £2.50 a day for the safe key which is cheap enough for security. The wi-fi is not good in the rooms so not worth purchasing.. The reception is a good place for free wi-fi. The pools are ideal for families as their is a great children's pool. The hotel has a nice pool bar where there is always something to munch on till 4. All inclusive could be longer as 11 o'clock is too early to be putting people to bed. Not much after 11 going on but before their is always a good entertainment with mini disco for kids and some really funny sketches led by the animation team. Big shout out to my man Desmond!!!! The darts champ lol. My little girl who is 4 loved him as he is a funny kind nice genuine guy. Mario is very funny with his acts. Mama Mia!! All the girls are very good with kids and are also funny.
The manager michalis is one of the nicest men I have ever met. Loves everyone very helpful and always smiles!! The food at Elies which you are aloud once for free is outstanding. Excellent quality food all day long to be honest. Great weather. Sunny with a good breeze so your not too hot when your tanning. Overall my stay was very pleasing and relaxing just what you need on holiday. Thanks a lot guys for everything.
YAN. ( the guy from Cyprus lol)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Yinyan2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager Z, General Manager at smartline Cosmopolitan, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your experience at Cosmopolitan Hotel. It is always a great relief to hear so nice words about our service which gives us the motive to become even better day by day!!

Thank you once more and we do hope that will soon have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Best regards,

The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We have just spent a week at this hotel in Ixia and was pleasantly surprised as we had paid a budget price for all inclusive. The hotel is exceptionally clean with friendly staff and an excellent entertainment team, who all work extremely hard. We had a great room on the top floor with spectacular views of the coast line and pool. The food was varied and catered for everybody's different tastes. The only downside was the all inclusive spirits which were poor quality, wine and beer were ok. Sunbeds can be a problem due to the volume of guest, but there were plenty. There is always a breeze on this coastline, which was wonderful in the heat! Special mention must go to Desmond in the entertainments team and Mika our chambermaid. Would definitely return

Room Tip: Top floor at the front with own balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank denpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager Z, General Manager at smartline Cosmopolitan, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for this detailed letter you have posted on Tripadvisor.
We were delighted to learn that your accommodation in our hotel was such a success, and that our team were able to create such a memorable experience.
Feel always welcome and we would be honored to see you again.

Best regards,

The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Just returned from a very comfortable stay at this Hotel. Michalis and all the staff are friendly, helpful and the entertainment team good fun. The room which had a wonderful sea view was spotless and cleaned daily. Food offered a wide choice and was very good quality. The location is ideal and easy for travelling to Rhodes town. The buses get busy but there is always the taxi rank across the road which is reasonably priced. The beach is close and has a bit of shingle at the waters edge but if you have sensitive feet you can buy water shoes at the supermarket, again reasonably priced. All in all a great holiday.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank toni j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager Z, General Manager at smartline Cosmopolitan, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your excellent comments from your recent stay with us.
Each and everyone of our collegues is thanking you for your kind words about the provided service.
We are hoping to welcome you again at Cosmopolitan Hotel and we once more thank you for the time that you spend to share your feedback on this website.

Best regards,

The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Excellent hotel, very good food, drinks by the pool. The hotel has a good location - 3 km to the old town of Rhodes, great as a base, the hotel can rent a car. Beach average, but beautiful views of Turkey. Team nice, helpful front desk and very, very nice in restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Kamila P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager Z, General Manager at smartline Cosmopolitan, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear guest,

It was very kind of you writing a review about your holidays in Cosmopolitan Hotel of Rhodes.
Thank you for showing your pleasure in every kind of service we provided you in our hotel.

We do hope that we will soon have the opportunity to welcome you back for another wonderful stay

Best regards,

The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Fantastic holiday at a great hotel

please take bad comments from others with pinch of salt more are willing to moan than compliment, i went with my girlfriend as last minute booking after other holiday was cancelled, had a fantastic, easy going week, clean, watered and fed with staff who helped throughout :)

Food- was fantastic, great spread and plenty provided throughout the day with something for everyone. Only grumble was one bar maid was a little moody when serving however the majority were quite charming so again i was happy and avoided miss grumpy

The room was cleaned daily and had everything we wanted, although had a noisy first night being placed near reception with buses however staff offered to move but noise was no longer so we stayed so cannot fault them.

Entertainment team were fantastic and really welcomed us and knew us by name and provided lots of activities when wanted.

the location of the the hotel is so close to the beach and near enough to all the attractions like rhodes town and other shops/bar really is a great hotel for all!!!!!

will hopefully return

Room Tip: all rooms have own qualities some with better views/ nearer pool but you won't go far wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager Z, General Manager at smartline Cosmopolitan, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us.

Our excellent location, hotel design together with our personnal service are elements that we are extremely proud of and it is always such a pleasure to read our quests positive comments regarding these.

Thank you for selecting Cosmopolitan Hotel for your stay in Rhodes. We do look forward to welcome you back in the very near future.

The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed in June for a week all inclusive, had a lovely time!

Location- Great location in terms of proximity to Rhodes town! Took about 40 minutes to walk, but we found the bus to be good value (1.70 each way), you can buy bus tickets from the supermarket under the hotel! The buses can be really full in the mornings, we had to wait for half an hour while and eventually we caught the 5th bus to pass! Taxi is good value if you have a party of 4 at only 8 euros its probably a better option as the buses are like a sardine can.
Ixia isnt great, a little run down but with all inclusive you don't need to leave the hotel so often. The beach is quite stoney but quite nice. There is quite a busy road outside the hotel but this didnt bother us really.

Food- Generally the food was great! The best all inclusive food I've experienced. Loads of flavoursome dishes and traditional Greek food as well as Italian and Chinese. There was always salad and chips so you were never hungry. The pool snackbar was also pretty good with a nice variety.

Drinks- To be honest the all inclusive cocktails were quite disappointing, a lot of them tasted really similar they were okay but the good cocktails you had to pay for which was pretty cheeky. The wine was nice and the spirits were fine! The soft drinks were fine, all local brands but thats normally the case.

Entertainment- The animation team were brilliant, always chatting to us and making sure we were having a great time! There was great day time activities, darts, booles, water aerobics, water polo, water zumba and more! It was good to get off the sunbed and do something and the entertainers were great fun. The evening entertainment was all sketches by the team and with a few drinks was hilarious and they did their best to keep us laughing. Also you got popcorn with was fun.

Staff- They staff were really lovely. They maid always did a great job and they place was so clean. Reception staff helpful and friendly. Barstaff could be a bit friendlier but I understood as it was always busy. The main bar at night wasnt great as they didn't put on enough staff to cope with the amount of customers, no table service which didnt bother us really.

Overall we had a lovely time and would consider coming back next year!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Rose N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager Z, General Manager at smartline Cosmopolitan, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for posting your review from your stay in our hotel through trip advisor.

We appreciate your positive comments which have already passed to our team members, but most of all we are really pleased that we manage to offer you memorable holidays.

We definately look forword to welcome you again to our beautiful resort.

Best regards

The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.6 mi away
Oceanis Hotel
Oceanis Hotel
#20 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,563 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,743 reviews
0.7 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#11 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Belair Beach Hotel
Belair Beach Hotel
#29 of 126 in Rhodes Town
758 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#14 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,686 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sirene Beach Hotel
Sirene Beach Hotel
#48 of 126 in Rhodes Town
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to smartline Cosmopolitan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about smartline Cosmopolitan

Property: smartline Cosmopolitan
Address: Iraklidon Street 175, Rhodes Town 851 01, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#14 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#20 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
#22 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — smartline Cosmopolitan 4*
Number of rooms: 377
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The All Inclusive hotel smartline Cosmopolitan is ideally located on Rhodes' west coast. on a hillside between Ixia and Rhodes town.. A stunning view of Trianda Bay is guaranteed. The hotel comprises a total of nine buildings and has a nice pool area with two pools and a large kids' pool. The hotel's animation team arranges various activities throughout the day, including water aerobics, boccia and evening entertainment several nights a week. The easiest way to get to Rhodes town's narrow alleys is by taxi or bus both stations are in front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your smartline Cosmopolitan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mareblue Cosmopolitan Ixia
Mareblue Cosmopolitan Hotel Ixia
Cosmopolitan Hotel Rhodes
Smartline Cosmopolitan Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing