We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, but lacks atmosphere”
Review of Dionysos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Dionysos Hotel
Ranked #13 of 127 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, but lacks atmosphere”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We have just returned from Rhodes and stayed at the Dionysos. The Hotel itself is very nice however we found it completely lacking in atmosphere. Staff were friendly enough, although not many English guests to chat to, which is part of your holiday to make some new friends. Evening entertainment sparce, great if you like watching football in the TV area, although no English games were shown. We stayed half board, which is thoroughly recommended as evening meal is waiter service and very good food. Ixia is not a great resort, handful of bars along a busy main road and the beach is pretty stoney with fairly rough sea, and being on the West side of the Island makes it very windy. Rhodes Town is worth a visit as is Lindos. Overall, pleasant holiday but not much to do on Rhodes, especially on the West Coast - you may want to hire a car if you don't like lazing around the pool or beach.

Room Tip: 107,207,307 etc - you get a corner room with larger balcony with two different views, plus they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 914JulesR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    304
    77
    17
    10
See reviews for
167
392
18
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in, my only weeny complaint would be not enough parasols for the number of sunbeds. Although, no problem with getting a sunbed unless you want a parasol, and some are in the shade for part of the day due to the numerous trees dotted around. I mentioned that it was our 25th Wedding anniversary, and we were given room 423, which is on the corner above the restaurant, and the balcony was massive, with fantastiv views of the hotel pool, and the surrounding arear. We also got two complimentary boittles of sparking wine and some grapes, very nice.The hotel is extremely well kept, and the staff are all very helpful and friendly. The two on-site a la carte restaurants serve great food at competitive rates, and good portion size. The Bar area again is massive, and right next to the pool, which is great for evening drinks when lit up. There are also two snack bars, which are open until about 6pm. Drinks prices are not too expensive either.

The surrounding bars are not very many, and only good for a snack or the free wi-fi, and it is about 20-30 mins walk to the next 'resort' area, turn left at the end of the road to the beach. We tried Coconut and Le Gourmet, and were disappointed, although Villa De Mare is excellent and right on the beach too. Buses to Rhodes town are frequent and packed, but it is only 1.7 euros. A taxi is about 8 to 10 euros. We walked into Rhodes one night, about 2 miles to the edge of the town, and don't recommend it as at least half of the walk is along the path next to the sea, which is dimly lit and a muggers paradise, it would be OK during the day although a little hot. Rhodes town is beautiful, and you can spend hours in its cobbled streets, but best to go in the evening when it is cooler. Try Mama Sofias for great service and free puddings, its near the suleyman mosque.

If you get a taxi back from Rhodes at night, ask the driver to take you back along the top road, past the Acropolis, it offers stunning views of the coast towards Ixia, and also the other side of Rhodes town, the fare is the same, so its worth it.

Will return here again in the future for definite

Room Tip: ask for a corner room for massive balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank burmesterbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

The hotel is nice, big, clean and it has a very large pool. The rooms are spacious.
It has 2 restaurants, and 2 bars. It is not directly on the beach but 5 minutes walk away. The nearest beach is not the best in Rhodes.
Breakfast: large variety of food but of medium quality.
The staff were helpful and friendly.
Bus station very close. Very good as a base to explore the island.
The furniture and carpets are not new but OK.
It is worth the 4*.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

7 days at this hotel was not long enough. The staff were so friendly and helpful, on 2 occasions helping us out when I spilled drink in bed and smashed a glass in the hotel room (how clumsy of me). The waiters at the bar also made us feel very welcome and always served with a smile, and the cocktails, the mojitos in particular, were nice.

A particular highlight was the food on offer, myself and my girlfriend stayed on a B+B basis, and yet chose to eat in the hotel 4 out of the 7 nights, such was the brilliant range of food and wine on offer, always cooked to a very good standard. It was also very reasonably priced with a generously portioned meal and a bottle of wine to share not coming to more than 40 euros between the two of us.

We also enjoyed the Souvlaki served at a poolside kiosk on several occasions, the meat was cooked well, and for just 2.40 euros its a bargain!

The pool is massive, and never too busy both in the pool and on the sunbeds scattered around the pool area. The pool bar is a fun addition, and when it is lit up at night its quite a spectacle.

The supermarket at the hotel entrance is also highly convenient, even if the staff are a little grumpy. We would often buy a drink or two from here to enjoy on our balcony, from which we could watch the sun set over the sea.

Nearby Ixia has some good bars and restaurants. Rhodes Town is also easily accessible by bus or taxi, for a wider selection of eateries, alongside essential sightseeing spots.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire uk
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

First time to rhodes,really pleased we chose this hotel every thing about was excellant pool was one of the best,never crowded very clean,lots of sunbeds,not so many umbrellas,usual idiots putting towels on early.
Rooms good size and spotless,cleaned every day,fresh towels every day.
Had a couple of evening meals at hotel,lovely food at a reasonable price,
Breakfast,lots to choose from,yummy cakes,cereal,fruit,eggs sausage bacon,even champagne was served one morning,i think,looked like, did not want any that time in morning.
A couple of reviewers complaining about location,and saying there is no sidewalk,i managed and i walked the sidewalk many times during my stay,i chose this hotel because it is off the main rd,nr bus stops,near a beach with sunbeds,and beach bar,yes it is pebbles but with the right footwear it is no problem
Buses and taxis plentiful,Buses to rhodes every 15 mins 1.70euro return,from rhodes i went to falaraki one day,lindos another day,explore the island by bus cheap and fun.
Will come back to this hotel,with its friendly staff,and pebbly beach,
Thanks for a great holiday, john,

Room Tip: try to get a corner room large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank smiffyLancashireUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed at the hotel in August and we had such a lovely time. It was our first holiday together and was made even better by the hotel and staff,

We requested a pool view room which we didn't receive at first but as soon as we spoke to the staff this was quickly sorted out and we were put in a top floor, corner room with a HUGE balcony that had a lovely view of the pool (especially at night when it was all lit up).

During our stay at the hotel it was my birthday which the hotel staff were aware of and when we arrived back at the room that evening there were 2 mini bottles of sparkling wine and some cakes waiting for us in the fridge which was a lovely and very unexpected surprise (something that didn't need to be done but shows how thoughtful and kind the staff are).

The pool area is gorgeous, lots of space, never too crowded and always plenty of sunbeds free (even in the middle of August!)

Another thing we were impressed with was that as we had to check out at 12pm and our transfer wasn't until 7pm we wouldn't have been able to shower before going home but in the basement of the hotel there is are 2 shower rooms for guests to use in this situation, a very good facility.

The bars and restaurants are approx 10 mins walk from the hotel and there are some very nice places that offer lots of different Greek dishes to try. The beach isn't the best but if your more pool people this is definitely the place for you.

Only downfalls were the expensive wifi and the air con wasn't the most effective we have ever experienced but as every thing else was so good these small things can certainly be overlooked.

Overall it was an excellent hotel with friendly, helpful staff, a beautiful pool and clean, spacious rooms and balconies. Highly recommended by us!

Room Tip: Corner rooms in the main building have very large balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AimeeandRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

My husband and i recently stayed at this hotel. It was lovely and clean, and staff were very friendly. Glad i took a kettle as there arn't any in the rooms. We did B&B which i am glad we did, going by what they gave us for breakfast was more geared up for other nationalities than Brits Overall nice Hotel but sharn't be visiting again

Room Tip: Refuse a room which is over the entrance, as this is where the coaches drop off and pick up, abit no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gaynor j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 127 in Rhodes Town
2,567 reviews
1.3 mi away
Nathalie Hotel
Nathalie Hotel
#6 of 127 in Rhodes Town
631 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#14 of 127 in Rhodes Town
1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Oceanis Hotel
Oceanis Hotel
#19 of 127 in Rhodes Town
1,490 reviews
0.6 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#10 of 127 in Rhodes Town
2,008 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belair Beach Hotel
Belair Beach Hotel
#29 of 127 in Rhodes Town
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dionysos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dionysos Hotel

Property: Dionysos Hotel
Address: Iliadon St, Rhodes Town 851 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#17 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
#24 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dionysos Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 281
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dionysos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dionysos Hotel Ixia
Dionysos Hotel Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing