We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forget the breakfast”
Review of Dionysos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dionysos Hotel
Ranked #15 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Forget the breakfast”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed 7 days half board at the end of September. On the whole the hotel was well organised and clean. The individual pieces of furniture throughout gave the place a unique feel. The pool area was fantastic and made the holiday very relaxing. Our only complaint was breakfast which was bland, and the cooked food only warm (bordering cold). This was highly disappointing but if it was improved we would holiday there again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ursula007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    330
    86
    17
    11
See reviews for
195
415
19
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dudley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We have just returned from 2 weeks at the Dionysos. From the moment we arrived we were able to relax. The reception staff were very friendly and extremely helpfull and the waiters and Bar staff team were excellent and helped make an enjoyable holiday into a fabulous holiday. The rooms were clean and spacious, my only negative was the bed was too hard for me.
The Pool area was amazing. We will definitley be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kerry s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhodes, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

A wonderful balance if style, comfort, service and friendliness. The hotel is perfect planning, while it can be windy on the coast during autumn, the inner pools and courtyard of the hotel are calm and lovely. The staff are wonderful, location perfect.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandieshope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I stayed here for one week. The hotel is located just behind the Rodos Palace hotel, and very close to the beach which is about 2 minutes walk away. The hotel is very clean and the rooms very spacious. I had a room with a sea view which overlooks the beach and provides a fantastic view of the beach and beyond. The staff I found very friendly. The breakfast here must be the best I have had anywhere. There is so much food it is impossible to eat all that is there. Even as a vegetarian I could have cereals, a cooked meal, and lots of fruits, sweets and yogurts. The hotel has a number of excellent swimming pools and two quite different restaurants. The gardens and surrounds are also exquisite. I could keep coming back here. The one down side is that the internet is really lousy and it is not worth your while paying the exhorbitant amounts for it. Most of the time it was so slow and impossible to use.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JG_Wilmslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We have just returned from Rhodes and stayed at the Dionysos. The Hotel itself is very nice however we found it completely lacking in atmosphere. Staff were friendly enough, although not many English guests to chat to, which is part of your holiday to make some new friends. Evening entertainment sparce, great if you like watching football in the TV area, although no English games were shown. We stayed half board, which is thoroughly recommended as evening meal is waiter service and very good food. Ixia is not a great resort, handful of bars along a busy main road and the beach is pretty stoney with fairly rough sea, and being on the West side of the Island makes it very windy. Rhodes Town is worth a visit as is Lindos. Overall, pleasant holiday but not much to do on Rhodes, especially on the West Coast - you may want to hire a car if you don't like lazing around the pool or beach.

Room Tip: 107,207,307 etc - you get a corner room with larger balcony with two different views, plus they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 914JulesR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in, my only weeny complaint would be not enough parasols for the number of sunbeds. Although, no problem with getting a sunbed unless you want a parasol, and some are in the shade for part of the day due to the numerous trees dotted around. I mentioned that it was our 25th Wedding anniversary, and we were given room 423, which is on the corner above the restaurant, and the balcony was massive, with fantastiv views of the hotel pool, and the surrounding arear. We also got two complimentary boittles of sparking wine and some grapes, very nice.The hotel is extremely well kept, and the staff are all very helpful and friendly. The two on-site a la carte restaurants serve great food at competitive rates, and good portion size. The Bar area again is massive, and right next to the pool, which is great for evening drinks when lit up. There are also two snack bars, which are open until about 6pm. Drinks prices are not too expensive either.

The surrounding bars are not very many, and only good for a snack or the free wi-fi, and it is about 20-30 mins walk to the next 'resort' area, turn left at the end of the road to the beach. We tried Coconut and Le Gourmet, and were disappointed, although Villa De Mare is excellent and right on the beach too. Buses to Rhodes town are frequent and packed, but it is only 1.7 euros. A taxi is about 8 to 10 euros. We walked into Rhodes one night, about 2 miles to the edge of the town, and don't recommend it as at least half of the walk is along the path next to the sea, which is dimly lit and a muggers paradise, it would be OK during the day although a little hot. Rhodes town is beautiful, and you can spend hours in its cobbled streets, but best to go in the evening when it is cooler. Try Mama Sofias for great service and free puddings, its near the suleyman mosque.

If you get a taxi back from Rhodes at night, ask the driver to take you back along the top road, past the Acropolis, it offers stunning views of the coast towards Ixia, and also the other side of Rhodes town, the fare is the same, so its worth it.

Will return here again in the future for definite

Room Tip: ask for a corner room for massive balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank burmesterbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

The hotel is nice, big, clean and it has a very large pool. The rooms are spacious.
It has 2 restaurants, and 2 bars. It is not directly on the beach but 5 minutes walk away. The nearest beach is not the best in Rhodes.
Breakfast: large variety of food but of medium quality.
The staff were helpful and friendly.
Bus station very close. Very good as a base to explore the island.
The furniture and carpets are not new but OK.
It is worth the 4*.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,738 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#14 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,681 reviews
0.6 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#10 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Oceanis Hotel
Oceanis Hotel
#20 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,554 reviews
1.3 mi away
Nathalie Hotel
Nathalie Hotel
#6 of 126 in Rhodes Town
654 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belair Beach Hotel
Belair Beach Hotel
#28 of 126 in Rhodes Town
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dionysos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dionysos Hotel

Property: Dionysos Hotel
Address: Iliadon St | Rhodes, Rhodes Town 851 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#17 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
#24 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dionysos Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 281
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Dionysos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dionysos Hotel Ixia
Dionysos Hotel Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing