We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time!”
Review of Dionysos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dionysos Hotel
Ranked #13 of 127 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Canvey Island
Level Contributor
104 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Time!”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We returned yesterday from a fab week at this hotel. I struggled to believe I was in a Greek Hotel (nothing broken or missing in the room & everything matched!!)
The rooms are spacious & airy, with excellent storage - balcony a little small, but not a problem (we were in the main hotel, can't comment on the other blocks), free Air-Con was appreciated.
Breakfast was varied & the coffee was good (always a bonus!).
As others have commented suin beds are in short supply - the price you pay for a big pool I guess, but at least reserving was not allowed (pool man removes towels etc from any beds not in use).
poolside restaurant was great for lunch, & if you're on a budget you can't do better than Souvlaki corner.
The staff were without exception friendly, & efficient - everyone from maids to managers greet you, & nothing eemed to be a problem.

One word of caution tho' - if it rains (& it DOES!!) please be careful - the floors are treacherous when wet, especially the main steps into the lobby.

I would definitely return to this hotel & in my opinion that says it all.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kazzrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    304
    77
    17
    10
See reviews for
167
392
18
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sale, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We booked accommodation separate to flights and believe we obtained a real bargain so our rating is based on this. As per a few other reviews, yes parts of the hotel are dated and the rooms. very small for a family of 4. The beds are really hard but the staff were very accommodating and brought us a mattress topper the next day. The breakfast was always plentiful and of a good quality. The pool area was really good and there was always evening entertainment. Drinks and food in the hotel was a little expensive but that's nothing new. Ixia itself is ok, we wanted a base close to Rhodes Town and it certainly did that. Trip to Lindos highly recommended. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Just returned from a week at the Dionysos. Hotel very clean and lovely seating areas and bar area. Pool great but could do with more umbrellas for when hot. The Poolside Bar restaurant served great food lunchtime and evening. Staff all very welcoming and couldn't do more to help. Gardens lovely. The weather was great all week - which obviously helped! A visit into the old Rhodes town is a must and we travelled by bus which is 5 minutes from hotel and very easy and frequent service. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is not in town. Isolated with a 5 minute walk to the local bus for a 10 minute ride into Rhodes town centre, service good. No pool towels and if you want the sun all day, limited space so be early, no later than 9.30am. 1 week half board from 22nd May 2014, weather was superb, low 80s most days. Breakfast was a disappointment, nobody cooking eggs, etc but they had eggs laid out which I'm not keen on and very limited choice. Ala carte for dinner in 2 restaurants, a welcome escape from those mundane buffets but beware!! Service can be very slow and an extra 5 Euros surcharge for certain items on both menus. A cheap shot considering I already paid for my food, as was the 16 Euros for the safe key. Guests where many Scandanavian with Greeks, Brits, Russians etc, a nice blend of Europeans. Staff where generally nice and whatever you do, don't leave the island with a visit to Lindos. This is a jewel in the crown. Beach is 5 minutes walk, across from where you get the bus, but nothing special as it is pebble, if you are fit and walk well, this is your option for sunshine all day if you miss the spot by the pool. Enjoyed myself and the minor flaws did not put me off a lovely week in Rhodes, and the Greeks are lovely and friendly, always the odd one, but that's global. If you like peace and quiet, try the Dionysos

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heb58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is a very attractively appointed hotel with a lovely pool and very lovely hotel gardens. The public areas of the hotel have a very pleasant feel because of the way they are furnished - mixture of comfortable modern and antiques. Food in both of the hotel restaurants is of high standard and the service throughout the hotel is of high standard. Rooms very clean and functional. I would recommend for relaxing holiday (we were there in late May) although it may get noisier in school holidays. Good public bus links to Rhodes town which is necessary as it is a long walk!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank southsider615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

the Hotel and staff are quite well, but there are some ugly truth. All hotels around have free internet. This one doesnt have. It claims 50 Euro per week for WiFi access. It is also located at a beach which does not belong to the preferred ones in Rhodes. There is a bus Station nearby to get to Rhodes , but we chose to rent a Scooter for 12 EUR per day which gavw us the possibility to explore Rhodes. It was agood decision. Like this we could find all the recommended places and even more. For those who want to stay in the Hotel i would recommend to take a all inclusive booking because restaurants are not cheap. We will not return to Rhodes because it has no white sand beaches and we do not love the stone beaches or all inclusive holidays. But this is a mtter of taste.

Room Tip: book a five star hotel if you want better comfort
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Axel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Recife, PE
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Me and my wife just got back from our honeymoon and although we have had many nice experiences, the most of them were away from the hotel! The hotel is very beautiful and the bathroom is clean but that is all really! Location bad, boring breakfast, not a lot do really, little information and the rooms are not what you see on the photos. Thats for sure! This hotel is perfect for people who just want to relax all day, get a sun tan and not a lot more. I was thinking of renting an atv at the hotel, but Rhodos is probably the worst place to be driving because people drive very fast over here! Even scooters looked to be having a top speed of a 120 km per hour! I will give this hotel a 3,5 of a 5!

Room Tip: I will recommend to stay in Lindos or the town of Rhodos, not in Ixia
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatrickWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 127 in Rhodes Town
2,577 reviews
1.3 mi away
Nathalie Hotel
Nathalie Hotel
#6 of 127 in Rhodes Town
631 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#14 of 127 in Rhodes Town
1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Oceanis Hotel
Oceanis Hotel
#19 of 127 in Rhodes Town
1,493 reviews
0.6 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#10 of 127 in Rhodes Town
2,010 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belair Beach Hotel
Belair Beach Hotel
#29 of 127 in Rhodes Town
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dionysos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dionysos Hotel

Property: Dionysos Hotel
Address: Iliadon St, Rhodes Town 851 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#17 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
#24 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dionysos Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 281
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dionysos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dionysos Hotel Ixia
Dionysos Hotel Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing