We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dionysos Hotel Rhodes - Not 4 Star more like 3 Star”
Review of Dionysos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dionysos Hotel
Ranked #14 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This was my first trip to Greece, so I booked the hotel on the basis of the reviews on trip advisor. I can honestly say First impressions when the cab pulled up to the Dionysos Hotel, I can honestly say I was impressed. We checked in two hours early, which was not an issue at all. The check in process was quick and the staff friendly. We made our way up to the room that was on the 3rd floor. Upon entering the room, it was quite of decent size and very clean, I was slightly disappointed as this is rated as a 4* hotel and the room we had was more of a standard 3*, when I looked online and booked this hotel the pictures I saw of the rooms were the renovated rooms/ upgraded suites, there were no pictures of the room we were allocated.
We unpacked, checked out the balcony we had a lovely view over the hotel gardens. We proceeded to make our way down to the pool area. We were starving so decided to have lunch/brunch in the pool bar restaurant.
We both ordered the Club Sandwich (came with fries) which was absolutely gorgeous but if we had known we would have ordered one between two of us as it was huge. The fries were grim and inedible. The pool is massive and lovely like people have said can get busy but lots of seats around the bar area. The next night we decided to have dinner in the Dionysos Grill, The waiter and waitress were not friendly at all, rather rude to be honest, the waitress was just miserable, it took 20 minutes to take our order (it was not very busy) and another 45 minutes for it to come out, when it did it was horrible and the portion sizes were tiny. It wasn't cheap either. So avoid if you can go into Rhodes town, you'll get better food, more ambience and great service. Maids/Hotel Ground staff all very nice, especially the guys who work in the hotel bar, Yiannis is exceptional, so warm and friendly. There is entertainment every night from Greek Dancing to Pop band performing. One thing that was not entertaining was the 4 girls that were dancing, there changing room consisted of a folding screen in the bar area so everyone could see them changing, with kids around this is in appropriate also there dancing style was a bit too tongue and cheek for a child audience. I felt very uncomfortable. I don't think that kids should be in the bar area after 9pm or sitting at the bar. I would recommend the Dionysos as we did have a good time there. Also opt for the breakfast as the choice is unbelievable.

Room Tip: When booking your room upgrade to a suite as these have been renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tracey e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (834)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

263 - 269 of 834 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

We returned yesterday from a fab week at this hotel. I struggled to believe I was in a Greek Hotel (nothing broken or missing in the room & everything matched!!)
The rooms are spacious & airy, with excellent storage - balcony a little small, but not a problem (we were in the main hotel, can't comment on the other blocks), free Air-Con was appreciated.
Breakfast was varied & the coffee was good (always a bonus!).
As others have commented suin beds are in short supply - the price you pay for a big pool I guess, but at least reserving was not allowed (pool man removes towels etc from any beds not in use).
poolside restaurant was great for lunch, & if you're on a budget you can't do better than Souvlaki corner.
The staff were without exception friendly, & efficient - everyone from maids to managers greet you, & nothing eemed to be a problem.

One word of caution tho' - if it rains (& it DOES!!) please be careful - the floors are treacherous when wet, especially the main steps into the lobby.

I would definitely return to this hotel & in my opinion that says it all.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kazzrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We booked accommodation separate to flights and believe we obtained a real bargain so our rating is based on this. As per a few other reviews, yes parts of the hotel are dated and the rooms. very small for a family of 4. The beds are really hard but the staff were very accommodating and brought us a mattress topper the next day. The breakfast was always plentiful and of a good quality. The pool area was really good and there was always evening entertainment. Drinks and food in the hotel was a little expensive but that's nothing new. Ixia itself is ok, we wanted a base close to Rhodes Town and it certainly did that. Trip to Lindos highly recommended. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Just returned from a week at the Dionysos. Hotel very clean and lovely seating areas and bar area. Pool great but could do with more umbrellas for when hot. The Poolside Bar restaurant served great food lunchtime and evening. Staff all very welcoming and couldn't do more to help. Gardens lovely. The weather was great all week - which obviously helped! A visit into the old Rhodes town is a must and we travelled by bus which is 5 minutes from hotel and very easy and frequent service. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is not in town. Isolated with a 5 minute walk to the local bus for a 10 minute ride into Rhodes town centre, service good. No pool towels and if you want the sun all day, limited space so be early, no later than 9.30am. 1 week half board from 22nd May 2014, weather was superb, low 80s most days. Breakfast was a disappointment, nobody cooking eggs, etc but they had eggs laid out which I'm not keen on and very limited choice. Ala carte for dinner in 2 restaurants, a welcome escape from those mundane buffets but beware!! Service can be very slow and an extra 5 Euros surcharge for certain items on both menus. A cheap shot considering I already paid for my food, as was the 16 Euros for the safe key. Guests where many Scandanavian with Greeks, Brits, Russians etc, a nice blend of Europeans. Staff where generally nice and whatever you do, don't leave the island with a visit to Lindos. This is a jewel in the crown. Beach is 5 minutes walk, across from where you get the bus, but nothing special as it is pebble, if you are fit and walk well, this is your option for sunshine all day if you miss the spot by the pool. Enjoyed myself and the minor flaws did not put me off a lovely week in Rhodes, and the Greeks are lovely and friendly, always the odd one, but that's global. If you like peace and quiet, try the Dionysos

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heb58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is a very attractively appointed hotel with a lovely pool and very lovely hotel gardens. The public areas of the hotel have a very pleasant feel because of the way they are furnished - mixture of comfortable modern and antiques. Food in both of the hotel restaurants is of high standard and the service throughout the hotel is of high standard. Rooms very clean and functional. I would recommend for relaxing holiday (we were there in late May) although it may get noisier in school holidays. Good public bus links to Rhodes town which is necessary as it is a long walk!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank southsider615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

the Hotel and staff are quite well, but there are some ugly truth. All hotels around have free internet. This one doesnt have. It claims 50 Euro per week for WiFi access. It is also located at a beach which does not belong to the preferred ones in Rhodes. There is a bus Station nearby to get to Rhodes , but we chose to rent a Scooter for 12 EUR per day which gavw us the possibility to explore Rhodes. It was agood decision. Like this we could find all the recommended places and even more. For those who want to stay in the Hotel i would recommend to take a all inclusive booking because restaurants are not cheap. We will not return to Rhodes because it has no white sand beaches and we do not love the stone beaches or all inclusive holidays. But this is a mtter of taste.

Room Tip: book a five star hotel if you want better comfort
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Axel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.6 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#12 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,244 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,939 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#13 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Nathalie Hotel
Nathalie Hotel
#9 of 126 in Rhodes Town
693 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oceanis Hotel
Oceanis Hotel
#17 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,675 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Plaza
Best Western Hotel Plaza
#23 of 126 in Rhodes Town
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dionysos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dionysos Hotel

Address: Iliadon St | Rhodes, Rhodes Town 851 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#17 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
#21 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range: £33 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dionysos Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 281
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dionysos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dionysos Hotel Ixia
Dionysos Hotel Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing