We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All the budget was blown externally!!”
Review of Dionysos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dionysos Hotel
Ranked #14 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

After my recent trip i was left slightly deflated! I had read all the reviews on Trip advisor prior & was expecting a great hotel!
My room was nothing like the pictures & was a 1980's throw back! They had obviously renovated a few but it certainly wasn't mine. The absolute worse thing is the rock hard beds, I'm pretty fit & I have been left crippled since!
The staff where not overly helpful or particularly friendly & you felt that you where bothering them when you asked for something! I'm not a fussy person that's hard to please but I am well traveled & know whats expected of a four star hotel!
The only saving grace was the pool!! Amazing externally, but at the end of the day you cant sleep on a sun lounger!!
I wouldn't return & think I rather spend the little extra for five star & be treated a little better!

Room Tip: I would imagine all the beds are rock hard after mentioning it at check out, I was informed they had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marbellabelle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (827)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 827 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

Dionysis is a beautiful hotel , spotlessly clean , courteous staff , excellent food !

Book half board for a waiter served, three course evening meal , many choices . IGNORE comments of a previous reviewer about breakfast .!!! ..You could not wish for a better buffet selection , many choices of eggs and other hot and cold dishes , cereal , yoghurts , fresh and dried fruits ,many different fresh breads , pastries , and lots of teas, coffees or juices .All replenished quickly by efficient staff, who also promtly cleared tables .This served in a pleasant first floor dining room , overlooking the beautiful gardens , with crisp table linen etc!!

The hotel grounds are stunning , with lovely swimming pools , a welcome sanctuary after a day touring beautiful Rhodes .We hired a car and visited many viiages in the hills , and pretty bays overlooking the fabulous turquoise Agean sea.

DON'T book ..if you expect the latest technolgy ( and paying for WiFi is a bit irritating and could be expensive if you have family members with different devices ) or expect state of the art designer bedrooms .These are, although spotlessly clean , quite basic, But all have balcony or outside space .

DO book if you want an excellent value , happy relaxed holiday with fun evening entertainment , in a beautiful environment . Highly recommended !!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoBo272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Me & my partner went to Rhodes for the first time after having such a good experience in Crete last year and i have to say we weren't left disappointed. The hotel is stunning and has so much going for it...two restaurants, including a grill and the food is spot on! Three course meals every night...why not! Another plus is the pool which is magnificent...big and flows round under little brigdes etc! The location is convenient to get too Rhodes town and Faliraki. The only minor things that let the hotel down slightly is the staff and location....the staff are very friendly but don't really open up in conversation (go that extra mile to get too know you!) And not really helpful in a sense of going out of there way for you. The location is convenient to get too places except Lindos which is about 2 hours away on a coach trip! The town Ixia doesn't offer much in the way of other entertainment and the beaches are very pebbly! The water sports are good though ;) TOP TIP...if you're travelling by bus make sure you go very early or late as you may find yourself rammed on and standing like sardines!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We had the best holiday ever in Rhodes and The Dionysos Hotel made that possible. It is a beautiful hotel with great staff. The rooms are to a high standard with daily room service, clean linen , clean towels every day. They manage to cater for every type of holiday maker, from families to couples, the young and the elderly. The food is amazing and they provide for every taste in there fabulous range of restaurants. They have the best entertainment each evening from singers, dancers, musicians, magicians. We will be returning for our second holiday in September and will go back every year. A big thankyou to all at The Dionysos and can't wait to see you all again xxxxxxxxxx

Room Tip: Main building is better for couples, singles and elderly
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This was my first trip to Greece, so I booked the hotel on the basis of the reviews on trip advisor. I can honestly say First impressions when the cab pulled up to the Dionysos Hotel, I can honestly say I was impressed. We checked in two hours early, which was not an issue at all. The check in process was quick and the staff friendly. We made our way up to the room that was on the 3rd floor. Upon entering the room, it was quite of decent size and very clean, I was slightly disappointed as this is rated as a 4* hotel and the room we had was more of a standard 3*, when I looked online and booked this hotel the pictures I saw of the rooms were the renovated rooms/ upgraded suites, there were no pictures of the room we were allocated.
We unpacked, checked out the balcony we had a lovely view over the hotel gardens. We proceeded to make our way down to the pool area. We were starving so decided to have lunch/brunch in the pool bar restaurant.
We both ordered the Club Sandwich (came with fries) which was absolutely gorgeous but if we had known we would have ordered one between two of us as it was huge. The fries were grim and inedible. The pool is massive and lovely like people have said can get busy but lots of seats around the bar area. The next night we decided to have dinner in the Dionysos Grill, The waiter and waitress were not friendly at all, rather rude to be honest, the waitress was just miserable, it took 20 minutes to take our order (it was not very busy) and another 45 minutes for it to come out, when it did it was horrible and the portion sizes were tiny. It wasn't cheap either. So avoid if you can go into Rhodes town, you'll get better food, more ambience and great service. Maids/Hotel Ground staff all very nice, especially the guys who work in the hotel bar, Yiannis is exceptional, so warm and friendly. There is entertainment every night from Greek Dancing to Pop band performing. One thing that was not entertaining was the 4 girls that were dancing, there changing room consisted of a folding screen in the bar area so everyone could see them changing, with kids around this is in appropriate also there dancing style was a bit too tongue and cheek for a child audience. I felt very uncomfortable. I don't think that kids should be in the bar area after 9pm or sitting at the bar. I would recommend the Dionysos as we did have a good time there. Also opt for the breakfast as the choice is unbelievable.

Room Tip: When booking your room upgrade to a suite as these have been renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tracey e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We returned yesterday from a fab week at this hotel. I struggled to believe I was in a Greek Hotel (nothing broken or missing in the room & everything matched!!)
The rooms are spacious & airy, with excellent storage - balcony a little small, but not a problem (we were in the main hotel, can't comment on the other blocks), free Air-Con was appreciated.
Breakfast was varied & the coffee was good (always a bonus!).
As others have commented suin beds are in short supply - the price you pay for a big pool I guess, but at least reserving was not allowed (pool man removes towels etc from any beds not in use).
poolside restaurant was great for lunch, & if you're on a budget you can't do better than Souvlaki corner.
The staff were without exception friendly, & efficient - everyone from maids to managers greet you, & nothing eemed to be a problem.

One word of caution tho' - if it rains (& it DOES!!) please be careful - the floors are treacherous when wet, especially the main steps into the lobby.

I would definitely return to this hotel & in my opinion that says it all.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kazzrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We booked accommodation separate to flights and believe we obtained a real bargain so our rating is based on this. As per a few other reviews, yes parts of the hotel are dated and the rooms. very small for a family of 4. The beds are really hard but the staff were very accommodating and brought us a mattress topper the next day. The breakfast was always plentiful and of a good quality. The pool area was really good and there was always evening entertainment. Drinks and food in the hotel was a little expensive but that's nothing new. Ixia itself is ok, we wanted a base close to Rhodes Town and it certainly did that. Trip to Lindos highly recommended. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,905 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#15 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,780 reviews
0.6 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#13 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Nathalie Hotel
Nathalie Hotel
#7 of 126 in Rhodes Town
689 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sunny Days Hotel
Sunny Days Hotel
#58 of 126 in Rhodes Town
61 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
#6 of 126 in Rhodes Town
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dionysos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dionysos Hotel

Address: Iliadon St | Rhodes, Rhodes Town 851 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#17 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
#24 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range: £33 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dionysos Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 281
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dionysos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dionysos Hotel Ixia
Dionysos Hotel Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing