We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want to hear excuses whenever you have a problem come here!”
Review of Sunday Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunday Hotel
Ranked #41 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
malmö
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“If you want to hear excuses whenever you have a problem come here!”
Reviewed 10 August 2009

How to describe this 'hotel'?!? Firstly, on getting there our room was invested with bugs, when i said this was not acceptable she told me because i chose the cheaper room (actually it was because i didn't upgrade to a room with a balcony) that i should expect bugs and there was nothing she could do about it. I further complained about the infestation and she told me she would get the cleaners in there to do something about it immediately. In this hotel, immediately means 6 hours later when you remind them again to do something. In fact a cleaner didn't come, she came with a can of bug spray, sprayed down the room and then took the spray with her. the room stunk after that and we had to leave as the fumes were so bad.
The pool was fine and it seemed to be well taken care of. We decided we would give the place a second chance and ate as the hotel restaurant one night well the food was horrible compared to other meals we had in the city and the price was the same. Stale bread, overcooked meats etc. It was obvious they do not have much turnover in the place to keep the food fresh.
I decided to have the breakfast a couple of times there, they do not replenish the vegetables and other choices at the table and most of the time you were stuck with whatever noone else wanted.
As this is a hotel APARTMENT we had a kitchen, fridge etc in our room. When one of the hotel owners saw that i was purchasing food and drinks from the grocery store not 100 meters away she commented that i was too cheap to buy from the hotel bar.
There were a couple of sons working there, they were great, it was the old fat man who i guess owns the place and the wife or older woman whom works with him that were the main problems with respect to something greeks never have heard of 'customer service'.
Another saving grace of the hotel is that it is visited primarily by scandinavians who i guess do not complain when their rooms are infested with bugs and other things go wrong. I am canadian and i dont tolerate this as we have paid for a hotel room and expect a certain minimum standard, if i wanted to sleep with bugs i would have just slept outside.
Further more apparently Canada and USA are the same country to these people as she kept referring to how things are not the same there as they are in the USA even though i had told her i was from Canada several times and she even took my passport the first time. I guess greece and turkey are the same country too!
thankfully we were not at the hotel most of the time, but on speaking with other guests they all reported similar experiences with the staff at the hotel. you can always email me at newton 4 all at hot mail dot com if you want to ask me any questions or learn more about my experience there. I WOULD DEFINTELY NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO ANYONE.

Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank hschyffert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SundayHotel, manager at Sunday Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2009
On behalf of the management of Sunday Hotel we would like to apologize again for the incident concerning the bugs in the room and to clarify that this happened only on the first day as there was a full scale debugging on the next day applied to the whole hotel even though there were no other concerns in rooms.

However, there are things mentioned in this review that are far from the truth. To begin with the client was never offered an upgrade to another room with balcony as he is suggesting since the hotel was fully booked and there was no availability. Furthermore his booking was made through a travel agent for the specific room type and a change would have to go through them. When the client notified the staff for the problem he was told that it would be taken care of a soon as possible since the cleaners where occupied in other rooms that had to be ready for arrivals and he was also informed that there will be a debugging the next day as it was Sunday and no debugging agencies are available in that day. The response to the clients problem was in no way ignored for 6 hours as he is suggesting.

The remarks about the breakfast and the food in general at the hotel restaurant are also very subjective and biased. The breakfast buffet every day contains 4 different kinds of bread , a selection of ham, turkey, peperoni and cheese, sliced tomatoes and cucumbers, boiled eggs, a selection of cereals, chocolate cake, yogurt, peaches, butter, jam, fresh milk, orange juice, coffee and tea. Breakfast is served from 7.30 to 10.00 and always has plenty of ingredients, as well as refills. The food is always freshly prepared with the finest ingredients with excellent care and hygiene.

Furthermore the remarks about about the shopping and the staff attitude towards them are at least vicious and far away from the truth. The Hotel provides a fully equipped kitchenette with fridge and not only we expect people to use them but we also provide information about the location of nearby supermarkets and bakeries, as well as restaurants and commercial shops. This client however was kindly asked numerous of times not to bring food and drink in the hotel restaurant. He was informed that it was not only against our policy (as is in most restaurants all over the world) but also illegal since according to law all food and drink consumed within the restaurant must have a till recite and in any other case would impose a heavy fine on any check by the tax officers. Even though the guest was kindly asked numerous of times to oblige to this rule he ignored it and made a fuss about it.

Most importantly having read the reviewers' remarks about nationalities and attitudes towards them I would like to stress to all extends that in Sunday Hotel we do not discriminate against any nationality or race. On the contrary we promote a friendly environment to ALL and in no case tolerate ANY kind of racist behavior. We do not categorize people in any form and we provide the same friendly service to everybody no matter where they come from. Since in the review there is a comment concerning Scandinavian people I would like to comment that they are (according to latest travel surveys) some of the most demanding, quality concerned travelers and we like that because their comments and suggestions help us get better (as it is with all our customers).

Finally I would like to inform the viewers that the family that built and runs the Hotel has done so in the last 20 years with one thing in mind, customer service. This is why we really enjoy the fact that many of our guests come year after year back in Sunday Hotel in beautiful Rhodes and with many of them have created strong bonds becoming personal friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    42
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
36
59
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jyvaskyla, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2009

Very nice staff, exellent hotel with small chidrens

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kreikkaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 27 June 2006

just got home from my stay in the sunday apartments Rhodes. (2 females early 20's)
the apartments themselves were clean and very basic. there was no aircon so spent most of the night taking cold showers to try and keep cool, the windows had to be shut because of the thousands of mosquitos buzzing around.

it was in a quite area of Ixia and not particually suitable for younger people who want to do anything more than relax

the beach seemed more than half a mile away and you have to go a bit further towards the town to find the nicer beaches, however the pool was nice so we prefered to stay there

it was probably more suited to families or couples and the people who ran the apartments were really nice.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 20 November 2005

Myself (Sean) & my partner Dolores spent 3 wonderful amazing weeks at the Sunday Apts - Tina,Her mother & father,Tula,Jimmy,Mary & all the family made our stay so enjoyable that we will have no hesitation in going back - hopefully soon.While there we met some really lovely people & families - too many to mention but hello to the Ginns ,the "dont do karaoke" Brands , Alan,Irene & their girls ,Mick & his boys & all the people who made our holiday so special. Ok the Sunday & surrounding areas are quiet but read the brochure & thats what it tells you - exactly what we wanted yet everything we needed was only a short walk - you can eat at the Napoli & listen to live music at The Blue Note but you'll not be stuck for good food as it's plentiful - eat at the bar of the Sunday - it's as good as anywhere we ate in our 3 weeks - especially the home made moussaka.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 27 October 2005

i went to sunday hotel this summer with my family.
it was really nice!it has a really nice pool for the kids and big area to play!
they had karaoke night which was really fun and i will never forget it!!!
i absolutelly recommend it for your holidays!!!
i left some pictures so you can have a look at the place!!!but not pictures of myself :) !!!
enjoy!!!!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co Down, Northern Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2005

My husband and I, along with our two 20 year old daughters had a great holiday at the family- run Sunday apts this summer. Tina and Tula are lovely. They are really friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The apartment are very clean and spacious with sheets and towels being changed regularly. The pool is also very clean and we never had a problem getting a sun lounger at any time of the day. The snack bar is very reasonably priced and the food was very good - loved the greek and chef's salads! The beach is a ten minute walk away and once you got accross the pebbles, the sea was lovely. It is a short walk into Trianda where there are really nice shops and restaurants, and the beautiful town of Rhodes is only a short ride away by taxi or bus. We hired a car and drove down to Lindos and then to the southern tip of the island where the Aegean and Mediterrean Seas meet. There really wasn't too much traffic and the roads are well sign posted.
Would really like to come back here and would definitely stay at the Sunday Apartments.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Longs9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewkerne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2005

We stayed here for two weeks from 25th june till 10th july and we had a wonderful time.
Tina,Tula and Jimmy were great nothing was ever to much trouble.
The mosquitos this year were a problem but they went great lengths to help prevent the biting .Tina even purchased a blue zapper whilst we were there.
Rhodes island at the moment seems to be quite quiet every where .
The appartments are between Trianda and Ixia which is about 15 minutes walk either way but a bus runs every 1/2 hour in either direction and Rhodes Town is only 15 to 20 minutes on the bus .Faliraki is not that long on the bus either and not that dear by taxi. It depends on what you want on a holiday.
The rooms are basic but again they are not advertised as any thing else and we have been doing Greece self catering for a number of years now and they are mostly all the same .The appartment cleaners come regulary and change bedding and towels at least every other day.The pool is good and clean . It is hot at night so buy a fan you will need it

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dutchycrewkerne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.0 mi away
Eleonas Hotel Aparts
Eleonas Hotel Aparts
#80 of 126 in Rhodes Town
43 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nathalie Hotel
Nathalie Hotel
#6 of 126 in Rhodes Town
645 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pine Trees Art Hotel
Pine Trees Art Hotel
#27 of 126 in Rhodes Town
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Philoxenia Hotel & Studios
Philoxenia Hotel & Studios
#39 of 126 in Rhodes Town
119 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Galaxias
Hotel Galaxias
#43 of 126 in Rhodes Town
100 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sunny Days Hotel
Sunny Days Hotel
#56 of 126 in Rhodes Town
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunday Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunday Hotel

Property: Sunday Hotel
Address: Diogenis 3 | Ialyssos, Rhodes Town 85101, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Rhodes Town
#17 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunday Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunday Hotel since 1990 provides people with an excellent setting for memorable holidays. The family that operates the hotel has three generations of experience in the tourism industry and for more than twenty five years offers personal and friendly service to holiday makers from around the world. We know how to make people feel relaxed and comfortable, and we provide an authentic holiday experience based on the values of Greek hospitality and tradition. Renovated in 2012 our rooms are designed to cater for the holiday needs of couples, families and groups of friends. Our swimming pool and garden is an ideal setting to enjoy the sun in a relaxing environment. Our restaurant and bar offers authentic Greek cuisine and refreshing drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunday Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunday Hotel Ixia
Sunday Hotel Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing