We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our hotel at Rhodes” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lydia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lydia Hotel
Ranked #50 of 129 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Bodrum
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Our hotel at Rhodes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

This was our second visit to Rhodes within 3 years and we stayed at Lydia Hotel as we had done the first day. It is very central, convenient for shopping and going out for lunch or dinner and the Old Town is a 10- minutes walk away. The rooms are small but have comfortable beds. The breakfast is buffet style and there are many choices. If I had asked for an omelette, probably I could have one. The next time I will for a try. Wi-fi was nor working at all at the second floor where our room was, but the management tried very hard to fix it for us and the last two days of the five, we could get wi-fi connection

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Aydin I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    113
    46
    20
    16
See reviews for
56
113
19
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

Beautiful hotel great location , near to port and shops,restaurants,lovely breakfast, this was a 2 night stay as a trip from the island of halki and we were impressed withe quality of the room, the bar prices, and everything about it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suebinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kos Town, Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

I stayed there in april 2012 with my boyfriend,they gave us a terrible room with view at some garbage,at the side of the hotel.Also the room had ants and at the beginning we didn't say nothing,but after we left a coca cola and the ants where too many. I told the receptionist that we should change the room because of the ants and she said that it was our fault because we left the coca cola and she didnt apologise.(she gave us another room fortunately,also bad but without ants.)That's rudness and I'm not gonna stay in this hotel anymore,although I've been there many times,me and my family. This last time was a disaster!!!

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank AnthiaKav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a good location within walking distance to the Old Town and water front. The lobby is the best part of the hotel, modern and clean. Then we went up to our room which was back in the 70s with small bathroom, old tiles, tiny shower base and floral shower curtain. The walls are thin so talking, TV and plumbing noise is heard loud and clear from other rooms. Wifi in the lobby and restaurant area was 5 Euro per day per user. Buffet breakfast was good for the B&B price.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RNP2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

A good central location in a prosperous quarter. The beach, shops, harbours and the old town are all just minutes away and the hotel's very inviting and roomy receptions areas can be accessed easily from back and front of the hotel. The bedrooms are fairly standard — mine had a balcony with an unlovely view — but very clean and well-equipped with spare pillows and blankets and spotless bathroom. The water could do with being a few degrees hotter. The mattress was a little on the hard side, but I slept well, and the building and environs were quiet at night.

Breakfast was ample with everything known to man except the things I desire most in the morning — strong hot coffee, and fresh fruit. This would make all the difference. I should say in the hotel's defence that tinned as well as dried fruit was on offer in abundance including dried star fruit, dried kiwi, and other novelties I enjoyed trying. Everything else was very good — plenty of bacon, eggs, cheese, various varieties of bread, marble cake, even λουκούμι (Turkish delight).

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Madog29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012 via mobile

The best thing about the Lydia hotel is the lobby. It makes you believe you actualy are in a nice hotel. The rooms however are very old and outdated. The bathroom ceiling was covered in mould. Also interesting, the lamp that was in our room could not be turned on because it couldn't be plugged in anywhere. The was only one electricity outlet in the entire room!
Also the staff act very hautain, like this was some posh hotel.
Breakfast ends at 9:30 which is just ridiculous. And of course the breakfast area is completely crowded because of this.
I would not recommand this hotel, there are better options in Rhodos.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaartenHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sými, Dhodhekanisos, Greece
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

The Lydia was re-vamped recently, a couple of years back, though it kept the rather dark brown design it certainly improved its breakfasts and rooms. I much prefer the bar at the Plaza around the corner but the Lydia is cheaper to stay at and the staff are just as welcoming, if not more so. The rooms are comfortable and have all you need. When my partner and I stayed there and he had a broken leg they went out of their way to look after him, even helping him get his breakfast when I wasn't there and putting us in a room near the lift; they still remember us. It's usually a quiet place, not on a busy street and is always clean and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Atlantis City Hotel
Atlantis City Hotel
#40 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
#21 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
0.5 mi away
Evdokia Old Town Hotel
Evdokia Old Town Hotel
#31 of 129 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Nathalie Hotel
Nathalie Hotel
#6 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
3.9 mi away
Sunday Hotel
Sunday Hotel
#39 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amaryllis Hotel
Amaryllis Hotel
#75 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lydia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lydia Hotel

Property: Lydia Hotel
Address: 25th March street 31, Rhodes Town 85 100, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Lydia Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Rhodes, an island known for it's history and beauty throughout the ages. Welcome to Lydia Hotel, a family owned and operated hotel since 1971. We operate 365 days a year, providing our services to a large variety of customers, locals, tourists, and business people. A large market, which is attracted both by the hotel's facilities and physical position as well as its cleanliness and hospitality. Lydia Hotel, after the recent total renovation program is one of the most comfortable, luxurious and spacious hotels of its category one can find in Rhodes town heart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Lydia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lydia Hotel Rhodes Town
Lydia Hotel Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing