We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A delightful, comfortable hotel”
Review of Lydia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lydia Hotel
Ranked #48 of 127 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A delightful, comfortable hotel”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

In early June we paid our 6th visit to the Hotel Lydia. Your first impression , of the marble steps and floor of the Reception area, is that you are entering a very comfortable, modern, well- maintained establishment. The rooms are modern and beautifully furnished. a really good bathroom (shower etc.) with all the little extras ( shampoo, shower gel etc.)
Breakfast is a buffet affair with every sort of bread/ cake/ cheese / bacon eggs etc. available. We have recommended the Lydia to many people. They have all come back to us and said that their experience was great. We will definitely use it again on our next visit to Rhodes.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikealun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    117
    47
    20
    16
See reviews for
56
118
19
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

A five minute walk to the Old Town, beaches, the harbour, sea front market, casino, motorbike and car hire and a multitude of bars and restaurants. Reception staff are friendly and efficient and check in was super fast. Room was fully air-conditioned with the usual suspects - tv, mini-bar and safe. Balcony overlooked nothing in particular but was thrilled to bits with the mosquito screen allowing us to leave balcony door open at night. Fab idea. Toilet would just about fit a pair of hobbits but was serviceable none the less. Breakfast is 7.30 - 9.30 and generous. Plenty of everything and all still coming out of the kitchen even at 9.25. Only negative is that wifi is charged at 1 euro per hour. Not expensive I know but have no idea why hotels opt to charge for this at all.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iseult R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California Hot Springs, California
Level Contributor
161 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Always like a central hotel in new town, this is. Close to old town, close to ferries, beaches, about 1,000 places to eat. Have stayed at the nearby Plaza for more than 15 years, but as it has crept upwards in price, found it hard to justify, and thought to try Lydia. Happy decision: location, staff, rooms all seem great (rooms a bit more comfy than Plaza). Breakfast ok, not up to Plaza's, but ok -- exception being the bacon, come on guys, Greek bacon is wonderful, and you fry lunchmeat ham and call it bacon?
Small objection there, overall, great.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mafac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Due to severe gales we had to leave Symi early - the hotel managed to find us a room at the last minute - superb breakfast and cant do enough attitude throughout the staff.
Ideal location for the old town and port for onward transit.

Room Tip: Ask for the best price, all rooms appear to have the same standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sými, Dhodhekanisos, Greece
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Stuck on Rhodes for two nights I turned to the Lydia for a room and, even though it was high season, they found me a newly refurbished double room, charged me a very good rate, as a returning customer, and let me get into the room straight away even though it was early. Everything, as usual, was clean and neat, the staff were friendly and helpful, the breakfast was a good mix of cooked and continental (real fruit juice rather than coloured sugar water would be nicer) and the hotel was quiet. Not all rooms have a view and there's no real sea view, but it's practical and comfortable. Also central in the new town, & close to the old town.

Room Tip: Ask about views when you book, if a view is important to you. Some rooms have a view of an internal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

This was my FOURTH stay. I was greeted like I was an old friend by the same staff.
I visit Rhodes to help the stray cats and dogs for Rhodes Animal Welfare Society.
The Hotel staff were so helpful assisting when my supporters were meeting me.
I felt so valued. My balcony room was, as usual spotless. Breakfast very good quality.
Being situated behind Mcdonalds, easy to find when I get lost.A 5 minute walk from the Old town and in the heart of the shops, bars and restaurants. Just perfect.
Fantastic value for money. Only 20 minutes from the airport.
I once stayed in a resort, and it was expensive to get a taxi into town. The Bus Station is a 5 minute walk away too.

Room Tip: Choose one with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmills9321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Stayed a week in May. Great location. Close to either beach or the old town. Short walk to either. Plenty of restaurants and small supermarkets nearby. Staff always very friendly and polite. Buffet breakfast was adequate rather than fantastic. Room was small but clean although a few mosquitoes appeared at night. Shower is VERY small. Fridge in room kept things cool at best. No tea and coffee in room. Wifi good but 2 euro for three hours. Safety deposit box in the room. Very limited TV channels. No pool or gym facilities. Got what we paid for I suppose but some little extras like tea and coffee and a COLD fridge plus good fly screens would make a stay much better.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimwoodsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Atlantis City Hotel
Atlantis City Hotel
#40 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Plaza
Best Western Hotel Plaza
#23 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
3.4 mi away
Nathalie Hotel
Nathalie Hotel
#6 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Evdokia Hotel
Evdokia Hotel
#32 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amphitryon Boutique Hotel
Amphitryon Boutique Hotel
#62 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anastasia Hotel
Anastasia Hotel
#35 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lydia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lydia Hotel

Property: Lydia Hotel
Address: 25th March street 31, Rhodes Town 85 100, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Lydia Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Rhodes, an island known for it's history and beauty throughout the ages. Welcome to Lydia Hotel, a family owned and operated hotel since 1971. We operate 365 days a year, providing our services to a large variety of customers, locals, tourists, and business people. A large market, which is attracted both by the hotel's facilities and physical position as well as its cleanliness and hospitality. Lydia Hotel, after the recent total renovation program is one of the most comfortable, luxurious and spacious hotels of its category one can find in Rhodes town heart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lydia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lydia Hotel Rhodes Town
Lydia Hotel Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing