We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”
Review of Saffron

Saffron
Ranked #15 of 434 Restaurants in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$30
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Since our opening on June 2, 2013, our policy has been to serve freshly cooked, authentic Indian food to all our customers according to their individual tastes. That means they can request the full range of seasoning, from mild to very spicy, for all the dishes we serve. For those who tend to avoid Indian food because of its spiciness, they now have the chance to enjoy the delicate flavors of Indian cuisine without worry.
Forest of Dean
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Located just behind our hotel Mitsis Grand owner just lovely food the same. Clean genuine Indian chef very good food all cooked to order.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank minimoForestofDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    375
    123
    26
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson AZ
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Wow! The best food on our trip!”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

After eating Turkish and Greek food for almost six weeks, we were definitely in the mood for something different. Saffron was ideally located not far from our hotel, and we were able to get in for an early dinner one night. We have had Indian food all over the world – literally, from Tasmania to Ireland – but the meal we had at Saffron was truly the best we have ever had. Their chicken tikka was so incredibly tender that we could cut it with a fork, and their prawn khorma was exceptional. In fact, their vegetable pakoras were so generous that we had to take some home with us (to make a great breakfast!) The proprietor is a very nice man, and his entire staff took really good care of us. We will definitely return to Rodos one day, as we are dreaming about their chicken tikka!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank HappytrailsTucsonAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Indian gem”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Very good food, well presented, in generous quantities. We were asked about the level of spiciness we required individually, so that none of the dishes would be hotter than we could cope with. The chef is from the Indian subcontinent and was obviously experienced and talented. Our party of four could not finish the two starters we ordered. The main dishes were also quite large. We were fortunate enough to meet the owner and his daughter, and were impressed by their commitment to authentic Indian food. The premises were clean, bright and welcoming. I would recommend this restaurant unreservedly for those who like hot Indian food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Downtablesub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit or two”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

After many years of visiting Rhodes and a series of indifferent Indian restaurants Saffron is a revelation. Delightful staff serve delicious food in an extremely warm and welcoming environment.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Indian In Greece Perfect”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Absolute delight to eat here absolutely gorgeous food red hot and fresh!
Persuaded the waitress to have a word with the owner about doing chips on the menu.

Loved the fact no one was stood at the door pulling you in with the 'hey you look hungry and thirsty' line.

Th saffron has 5 stars and I wouldn't dispute this one bit perfect service perfect food perfect timing.

I would recommend this to anyone one of Rhodes town hidden gems!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank A-Hitchens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saffron also viewed

Rhodes Town, Rhodes
 
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
 

Been to Saffron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing