We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food”
Review of Saffron

Saffron
Ranked #11 of 422 Restaurants in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$29
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Since our opening on June 2, 2013, our policy has been to serve freshly cooked, authentic Indian food to all our customers according to their individual tastes. That means they can request the full range of seasoning, from mild to very spicy, for all the dishes we serve. For those who tend to avoid Indian food because of its spiciness, they now have the chance to enjoy the delicate flavors of Indian cuisine without worry.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We looked on Trip Advisor for an Asiain restaurant and it's a good job we did, otherwise we would have missed out on this lovely place. The food was really good in fact the best Indian meal I have enjoyed in a long time. A good atmosphere and friendly staff, especially the owner and his daughters. When next in Rhodes town I shall definately make a return visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank gwen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    352
    115
    23
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Forest of Dean
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Located just behind our hotel Mitsis Grand owner just lovely food the same. Clean genuine Indian chef very good food all cooked to order.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank minimoForestofDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson AZ
Level Contributor
217 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Wow! The best food on our trip!”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

After eating Turkish and Greek food for almost six weeks, we were definitely in the mood for something different. Saffron was ideally located not far from our hotel, and we were able to get in for an early dinner one night. We have had Indian food all over the world – literally, from Tasmania to Ireland – but the meal we had at Saffron was truly the best we have ever had. Their chicken tikka was so incredibly tender that we could cut it with a fork, and their prawn khorma was exceptional. In fact, their vegetable pakoras were so generous that we had to take some home with us (to make a great breakfast!) The proprietor is a very nice man, and his entire staff took really good care of us. We will definitely return to Rodos one day, as we are dreaming about their chicken tikka!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank HappytrailsTucsonAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Indian gem”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Very good food, well presented, in generous quantities. We were asked about the level of spiciness we required individually, so that none of the dishes would be hotter than we could cope with. The chef is from the Indian subcontinent and was obviously experienced and talented. Our party of four could not finish the two starters we ordered. The main dishes were also quite large. We were fortunate enough to meet the owner and his daughter, and were impressed by their commitment to authentic Indian food. The premises were clean, bright and welcoming. I would recommend this restaurant unreservedly for those who like hot Indian food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Downtablesub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit or two”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

After many years of visiting Rhodes and a series of indifferent Indian restaurants Saffron is a revelation. Delightful staff serve delicious food in an extremely warm and welcoming environment.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saffron also viewed

Rhodes Town, Rhodes
 
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
 

Been to Saffron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing