We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would never recommend this hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Manousos City Hotel
Ranked #101 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I am an experienced charter traveler and travel 3-4 times a year and I know it can cause problems and accidents, and I thought I seen it all, but have never experienced anything like this.

At Manousos hotel we were informed by reception staff that they could not find our room booking and we will have to wait until his colleague should start his shift, even though we had both booking slip indicating the room reservation and payment is completed.

The staff were very dismissive and said it was not their problem and that we would be looking hotel elsewhere or wait for our courier service would open. The staff was very rude and non-service-minded.

It had then been five hours after we landed, but at Ticketmaster reference was back to the number that was specified on the voucher. After a few more attempts to communicate with the reservation attendants so we were abruptly told by hotel staff that there was now a room for us.

The room was a mess, and of course it was above the crowded bar. The receptionist said that it was just a little problem with the booking system. They never asked for apology or even greeted us as we passed the front desk. I have never in my life felt more unwelcome and badly treated.

The room was OK, apart from the sound volume from the bar but preferably from celebration teenagers. I'm also young and can have patience with this kind of noise, but it concerned roar, people pounding on the doors, smashed the glass in corridors and on balconies etc. The staff did not do much to preserve order.

"Celebration" was going generally five or six in the morning. It did not get much sleep. Stay result, we dozed our way through the day at the pool, even though it was celebrated there, too, and was able to never do anything, attend activities or excursions on the day.

I also work in hotels and know that such unprofessional conduct had been reason enough to get fired. This holiday was something I had looked forward to for months but I'm incredibly disappointed. The staff At Manousos hotel did never say hi or anything when we past by the reception. I should NEVER recommend this hotel, it ruined my vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Elin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
There are newer reviews for Manousos City Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 32 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

Good basic Hotel, rooms clean and comfortable. We spent 2 nights here and found the staff very helpful, breakfast was okay and location was good. It is close to the beach and there are lots of "Tavernas" - we ate at several good ones very close to the hotel that weren't too loud or noisy. We experience a little noise from the street during the night but this wasn't too bad and we did have our balcony door open for some fresh air so it was to be expected in the area.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from Leontos street for better sleep quality
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JanBaby1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

The location is good if you want to be close to bars/cafes/clubs. The hotel is just one minute walking from the bar street. However, be prepared for sleep issues because the noise from the bars is extremely loud.
The rooms were very clean and spacious enough.No disappointment at all with that.
However,the pool was not very clean,maybe because it was crowded all the time.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vicky K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Awesome location if you are in Rhodes to enjoy a wild week of partying, just a 1 minute walk to the bar street.
The rooms are decent, bit tired but works well to recover from your hungover.
It's a standard 3star Greece hotel, don't expect much and you won't be disappointed.
(5 min walk to the beach with sand, 10min walk to old town)

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank Robin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 7 nights. Location is nice, in the middle of the nightlife and near windy beach which we prefer. Hotel pool seemed nice too but we couldn't get a chance to try it due to loud and badly behaving swedish people taking over the hotel (making a lot of mess, knocking on doors during the night etc). Rooms were clean and everything was nice including the breakfast that also offered some greek delights. Easy access to the town. Hotel was a good choice for us since we traveled around island most of the time so we just came back to the hotel for sleep. Many restaurants and bars nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Johanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here end of October 13 & the outside of the hotel is much better than the interior which is very tired. Really saddened that staff were smoking in the reception area which didn't help the state of the place. Room was clean & tidy but the air con unit was really old & very noisy. The toilet had a fault which meant it constantly ran luckily I was able to turn off the fill. I visited this same hotel 7/8 years ago, so I knew it was basic, but it's just tatty now & the breakfast was awful the ready made coffee wasn't even drinkable. Give this hotel a miss much better hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stansdadmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

The hotel is lockated behind the bar street (we we're there in mid september, so half the street was closed for the summer). A short 5min walk to the windy beach. Not recomended for children or people with dificultis to walk. mainly round rocks and a slippery stone/concrete mas further out. A lot of waves and strong curent. We went on an hour long hicking up the small mountain to Akropolis and back in about an hour. Nice view, but a lot of trafick and barly any pavement going up. the old town is amazing with the wall and all the history and tourist shops.
the room was small but nice. Wasn't that clean and sand in the shower from people using it before us. Great aircondition and fridge. Poor insulation to the pathway. The elevaitor hadn't room for two persons and luggage. Small but nice pool. Good breakfast. Polite staff exept one of the staff from the bar. Should learn to help customers insted of talking in his cell or smoking in the face. Couldn't care to help a old lady with her cofee and drink to the table(no other customers in the bar). All in all a good stay, but perhaps to close to the bar street in the party weeks.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Espen_SPURSY80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
1181.6 mi away
Esperia Hotel
Esperia Hotel
#72 of 126 in Rhodes Town
218 reviews
1181.6 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#93 of 126 in Rhodes Town
172 reviews
1181.7 mi away
Europa Hotel Rooms and Studios
Europa Hotel Rooms and Studios
#70 of 126 in Rhodes Town
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1181.7 mi away
Angela Suites + Lobby
Angela Suites + Lobby
#62 of 126 in Rhodes Town
256 reviews
1181.6 mi away
Alexia Premier City Hotel
Alexia Premier City Hotel
#44 of 126 in Rhodes Town
81 reviews
1181.8 mi away
Hotel Parthenon City
Hotel Parthenon City
#108 of 126 in Rhodes Town
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manousos City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manousos City Hotel

Address: 25 Leontos St, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Price Range: £27 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Manousos City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manousos Hotel is situated on the beautiful Greek Island of Rhodes, in the Dodecanese archipelago. Rhodes was once the home of the legendary Colossus, a very tall and imposing statue considered one of the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World. Today this amazing island in the Aegean Sea offers not only beautiful sandy beaches but also a wealth of ancient sites including the medieval town of Rhodes, which is itself a World Heritage Site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Manousos City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manousos Hotel Rhodes Town
Manousos City Hotel Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing