We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,400)
Filter reviews
1,400 results
Traveller rating
604
481
225
65
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
604
481
225
65
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews animation team snack bar father and son evening entertainment beach shoes pool area mini club great holiday until midnight water polo air con music quiz daily activities plenty of choice kids club family room plenty of sunbeds
Filter
Updating list...
742 - 747 of 1,400 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I arrived at the hotel fairly late in the evening, with my wife and family. Unfortunately we didnt have the correct documentation. But this was not a problem for the lovely reception lady who was both helpful and cheerful. She directed us to our room, which we found to be very clean and perfectly adaquate. I always think that people make too much of an issue of hotel rooms, as you only really use them as a base, so long as they are clean, which they are; and cleaned on a daily basis, and they are cool, which again they are, with air conditioning.

We found the hotel to be of a high standard, with very friendly staff (I can't agree with previous comments who say that the staff don't smile) A special mention should go to Kiriakos who works the day shift at the beach bar, who must be the most genuinely nice person you could ever meet. He spends the whole of his shift with a smile on his face and a friendly word for whoever he is serving.

The pool is also very nice with a safe paddling area for young children. The pool was cleaned daily by a very hard working attendant(s) and as others have stated, never seemed to be crowded.

We found the food to be varied, and bearing in mind that there must be up to eight or ten different nationalities staying, that there was always something different to try. The restaurant area was spotlessly clean and the food was of very good quality. Other comments have said that tables are not re-set, but that is because it got a little busy and you would have to sit at a table and get our own cutlery (not a problem!!).

We found that if you wanted to get involved with the Animation team during the day that you could, but they would leave you if you didnt choose to take part. What I think is very good is that once you told them your name, they remembered it! Most of our dealings were with Artur and Chris who are both excellent hosts and entertainers, Artur's one fault being the colour of his shirt!! The two girls (Elin and Susan) dealt mainly with the younger children, but from what I could tell, they were equally as hard working as the boys.

The issue of sun beds is a problem, which I read about before visiting, but it is very frustrating to encounter it. When you get to the sun bed area, there is a sea of towels etc on the beds, which is supposed to be against hotel rules, so we sat in the bar area. What made us really angry was that some of the 'claimed' sun beds would not be used all day, yes, people actually got out of bed at whatever hour of the morning, claimed the sun beds, and then didnt use them!! Some even claimed beds by the pool, and beds by the sea!! But dont let this spoil what is a very good hotel, although the onus is on them to solve this problem!

We found it simple enough to access the rest of the island with a full taxi service available, at set prices for particular visits, or a bus service which stops right outside the hotel and takes you right into Rodos (Rhodes town) for E2.20. We found it better to get a taxi to and from Rodos as it costs E9 in the cab and E8.80 on the bus!

Back at the hotel, and All Inclusive! This is the first time that we have gone AI, but for us, this is the way to go in future. The amount of soft drinks and water drank during the day, and then the wine, beer and cocktails during the night, although you are drinking the local products, really is value for money.

Overall though, we found it to be a great place to stay at and look forward to returning

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvraBeach, Public Relations Manager at Avra Beach Resort Hotel - Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear Chris,

We would like to thank you for choosing Avra Beach Resort for your holidays and also for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are very glad that you have had a pleasant stay at our hotel and that you were especially pleased with the services our staff provided. We have shared your kind words with all of them. We do take all comments seriously and we reviewed your comments regarding the sunbeds.

Once again thank you for your nice words and for your recommendation to other guests. It was a pleasure to have you and your family as our guests and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you in the near future.

Best Regards,
Photini Mina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

My husband daughter and mysef arrived Wednesday 21st August approx 10.00 pm . We were greeted by one member of Staff a receptionist who was pleasant enough she gave us a room which she said was a " nice one" there was no one to assist with luggage and we were sent to find the room ourselves .I have never visited a 4 star hotel that didnt have a porter!! We opened the door only to be greeted by a mass of cockroaches and ants ... ( please see photos ) I checked the beds and they were also covered in ants and hair . The mattress covers were filthy as were the bedside lampshades and the bedcovers . Going straight back to the receptionist I
explained that the room was filthy and no way was u sleeping in it due to the infestation - she told me "it sometimes happens because of the heat and that they won't hurt you " .. Well I'm sorry i have stayed in hotter countries than Greece and I have never had ants and cockroaches in the room! It was pure filth ..after her agreeing to move us the next day we
agreed to the room being fumigated and cleaned . The next morning we were given a clean room however I have to say it wasn't much better .
Probably not updated since 1980!!
Food ....
Beach bar snacks were horrendous .. Pizza squares and cake , cheese rolls ice cream .
All drinks watered down within an inch if there life ! That includes beer and spirits . Cocktails with no imagination whatsoever!

Restaurant....
Staff pleasant but lazy. Dirty tables on a lunch time and evening . We gave up on breakfast in the end as the toaster had one side working for over 4 days it took 20 mins to queue to just get to it !!! Imagine the size if the queue.!!
Meals were extremely boring - the quality if food was ok however little or no imagination and even less selection .
The sweets were horrendous I don't know what they were they tasted awful it was the same Fir the duration of the holiday so We had to go to local restaurants outside the hotel most of the time even though it was all inclusive ..
The pool..
If you like blasting music ( from 1975 that is ) you would be in heaven !! From 9.30 all day with a couple if interruptions from the water polo ball hitting you . You will love it . Oh and just to note there are a lot if families but no life gaurds in fact one security gaurd for the whole hotel and he watched while children played in the fountain that had electric lights inside !!! Amazing I don't know how there wasn't an accident .

Well the last comment is regarding Wi-fi it cost 15 euros per day
Every other hotel I have stayed in
It's free..
With that in mind I will leave you to decide wether to holiday in avra beach in my opinion it would be lucky to scrape 2stars . It is by far the poorest hotel I have ever stayed in and I am amazed by a the good reviews it has received on trip advisor it certainly wasn't cheap and we feel we wasted our hard earned money .. Definitely will not book with jet2 again .

Date of stay: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ksibet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvraBeach, Public Relations Manager at Avra Beach Resort Hotel - Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at our hotel.

We work very hard to ensure our facilities and services are superior and we apologize that your stay was below your standards. We appreciate your feedback and we have reviewed the room cleanliness during your stay here. Concerning the Wi-Fi it costs €15 for 24 hours not per day.

We want all of our guests to enjoy their stay and we hope that you will consider staying with us again and give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Best Regards,
Photini Mina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Just got back 22nd August from a holiday in Rhodes staying at Avra Beach Hotel. The overall holiday was amazing . We found some of the greek people not very friendly at all especially taxi drivers which is a shame as Rhodes is beautifull.The hotel itself was very clean and staff constantly cleaning . Reception staff very friendly and helpfull. Our room was on 4th floor number 426 although quite basic very clean and comfortable.when standing on the balcolny we could see backof the kitchen , but when

sitting down we had a stunning view of the bay and beyond . There is a resturant next door and they have live entertaiment some evenings i use the word entertaiment loosley as i wouldnt call that singing ,and can go on quite late at weekends . Also the staff there like to have loud music playing at 7am while getting the place ready for the day. Our cleaning lady was very good leaving the room very clean every day changing the towels every day and sheets every second day. She was always smilling and happy . Some of the staff outside by the bar and around didnt seem to know how to smile . The hotel is right on the beach there are plenty of sun beds and tables and chairs. So no fighting to get either . I think this is because this hotel is not as big as some around so not so many people just comfortable . The swimming pool is very nice and was never to crowded . The sea very warm and clear little bit of shingle on the way in but not a problem.walk down a few steps straight into the sea. Now to the resturant this is really the only complaint i have the food is very much the same every day but is very nice so there was always something to eat . The main problem was its not very organised at all. When people leave a table its never relayed just cleared . So when you get your food and find a table you then have go and find cutlery and seviettes and get drinks if its busy that can take a while . Sometimes ifthey run out of food it takes them a while to replace it . Another problem the whole of Rhodes has a stray cat population including hotel so its not nice cats walking around the resturant . The hotel had many eastern europeans who sadly were very rude greedy and brash no manners and love to queue jump . Overall we had a lovely holiday and would deff return .

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvraBeach, Public Relations Manager at Avra Beach Resort Hotel - Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Dear Angie,

We would like to thank you for choosing Avra Beach Resort for holidays and also for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. Also we would like to thank you for your useful remarks regarding the restaurant organization.

We are very happy that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us. It will be a real pleasure for us to host you in our hotel again.

Best Regards,
Photini Mina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Enjoyed this hotel stayed in may going back in August. The bar man during the day is great helpfull and cheerful. Not to far from the bars and shops near Rhodes town in a good location. The restaurant needs to have air con on and tables set more quickly. The only spirits you can drink are the ouzo and brandy other wise the cheap 30per cent proof spirits spoil the cocktails. The hotel reception staff are great and are always helpful. The staff in general are friendly most of the time need to smile a little more. We really enjoyed our stay the animation team are great lots of professional shows as well as the norm comedy shows and games. The air con works well rooms are basic mostly kept nice and clean The public relations lady is lovely always around checking if everything is ok taking pictures would live to come back again

Date of stay: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Widford31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvraBeach, Public Relations Manager at Avra Beach Resort Hotel - Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

Dear Angie,

We would like to thank you for choosing Avra Beach Resort for your holidays and also for having taken the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We are very glad that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel and that you were especially pleased with the services our staff provided and also with the location of our hotel. It is always gratifying to receive a positive feedback. Also we do take all comments seriously and we reviewed your comments regarding air conditioning in the restaurant.

Once again thank you for your nice words regarding our hotel and we are glad you had a positive experience. It has been a great pleasure to have you and your family staying at our hotel and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards,
Photini Mina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We have returned from a 10 stay in Ixia at The Avra Beach Hotel/Bungalows.

Generally we found the previous good reviews about right. While this is not a four star hotel (more like a good 3), it is a well run, clean & friendly hotel and anyone going here will have a great stay.

Rooms;
We had a standard room. They were fairly basic, quite small inside but adequate. They were very cleaned regularly and to a high standard. We did find them to be quite noisy at times with other guests in the corridors at night, or moving the furniture on the floor above as well as the road,. We kept the AC on low throughout the night and used the blankets. The beds were fine.

Food;
A first time on all inclusive for us - we have always been put off by the poor quality food in mainly Spanish hotels that we usually go self catering. In this case the food reviews encouraged us to cautiously try AI, but we fully expected to end up eating out if it turned out to be poor. We never ate out once. The food was of good quality, plentiful supply and varied throughout the week. Our only comment would be it would have been nice to see more fresh fish and Greek style dishes. The snack bar was a vegetarian type pastry which was ok, ham and cheese rolls, also ok, and a pizza type thing which we didn't like. Ice cream was on offer all day but it was not dairy ice cream, rather this oil based cheap stuff so we didn't really eat any of that but the kids there seemed to like it.

Drinks
The beer is ok, you get used to it, the wine at mealtimes was surprisingly drinkable. The cocktails at the bar seem to be very popular. All the spirits are local stuff and apart from the G&T we didn't try any. There is proper Pepsi served at the bar.

Hotel facilities
The hotel lets itself down on the lack of sunbeds. There is enough room to put more in if they wanted to but they don't, so as usual there's the 6-7.30 am brigade out reserving beds. I also noticed so many people mentioning this in their reviews but whenever the hotel responds to a review they never make any mention to the sunbed issue. When are hotels going to stop ignoring their guests and address this?? This year we refused to join in on this and as a result we never got a bed. We simply grabbed a couple of the tables by the pool and set up camp there along with our towels on the ground.

The pool was very nice, clean and large enough. It never felt very crowded.

The beach is not especially attractive with the lack of sand and just a concrete deck, but the pebbles do stop after only a couple of metres and the water is lovely and warm.

The other facilities inside the hotel are fairly basic but don't let that put you off, it is a good hotel. I would have liked a gym to try and keep control of the extra calories consumed though!

Resort
The immediate "resort" outside we found to be a bit of a let down. It is just a busy and treacherous road to cross (the main road to the airport and Rhodes Town) and once you have crossed it you will only find a series of restaurants desperate for your trade, slowly being killed by the All Inclusive hotels, along with shops selling the same stuff. There is a couple of larger supermarkets within 5 minutes walk. The resort is both very noisy and quite dirty. Get on the bus to Rhodes Town (about 10 minutes, 2.20 euros each way) which is beautiful. Beware though it's a total tourist trap.

Staff
Excellent. Cleaners, reception, restaurant, bar staff all very helpful, very friendly and a real asset to this hotel. They were all great.

Animation Team
Quite a funny bunch. They have a good team here with Arto the Albanian in charge, A dutch and Swedish girl and English Chris. Again, all hard working and are a real asset to the hotel. The Management have certainly got it right by employing this Animation Team.

Other Guests
We found a nice and balanced mix of English, French, Dutch, Swedish, Danish, Russian, German, Polish & some Slovakian. There was no particular majority nationality and this made for quite a pleasant atmosphere. The Russians didn't seem to be as friendly but that may be due to the language barrier.

Summary
If you want a great hotel with good food go ahead and book this hotel. You will have a good holiday. The resort outside is not too great but get out further and explore all the island has to offer.

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvraBeach, Public Relations Manager at Avra Beach Resort Hotel - Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

Dear Matt,

We would like to thank you for choosing Avra Beach Resort for your holidays and also for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are very glad that you have had a pleasant stay at our hotel and that you were especially pleased with the services our staff provided. We have shared your kind words with all of them. We do take all comments seriously and we reviewed your comments regarding the sunbeds.

Once again thank you for your nice words and for your recommendation to other guests. It was a pleasure to have you and your family as our guests and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you in the near future.

Best Regards,
Photini Mina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews