We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Avra Beach Resort Hotel - Bungalows
Ranked #26 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Just returned from 10 nights at this hotel I would say this is a 3 star not a 4 in my opinion. All the staff where very friendly and polite. We stayed in room 6 which is a family room nice size and clean but avoid if you like sleep. On the ground floor near reception very noisy with kids running up and down and people returning from nights out at 4am shouting. Pool area nice for kids but loads of cats which I saw fouling where most of the sunbeds are on the pebbled area. Food was fine and always something to eat. Entertainment on a night was hit and miss. Enjoyed Rhodes but would not returned to this hotel

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taylorfamily1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvraBeach, Public Relations Manager at Avra Beach Resort Hotel - Bungalows, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to comment on your recent stay at Avra Beach Resort and we are very happy that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We are very glad that you have had a pleasant stay at our hotel and that you were especially pleased with the services our staff provided.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guests and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,
Photini Mina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,095 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    445
    389
    187
    50
    24
See reviews for
467
379
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Have just returned from a fortnight AI package at this hotel booked through Jet 2 holidays. Package was 2 adults and 2 children between 16 and 30 July 2014.

The accommodation was a two level family room with a half glazed partition that could be slid to one side. The first thing of note was that the accommodation although reasonably clean was dated. The air conditioning unit in the room was sufficient to reduce the temperature in one part but not the other. Often waking up covered in sweat resulted in both patio and main door being opened (the main door opened to the outside) to allow a through draught. The air cooling would turn off as it is on a contact sensor on the patio door.

One other negative aspect of the hotel is the number of cats. We do not like cats one bit. These were often being petted and fed on the tables by some of the other guests. They would roam in both the inside and outside part of the restaurant. Cat droppings had to be removed from the volleyball area and the cats were seen using part of the sun bed area as a toilet.

The hotel has obviously tried to make an effort with the public areas which appear to have been renovated. The restaurant manager gets 10/10 for stopping guests eating in their swimwear or bare chested.

The restaurant was good.There was a good selection of food available at meal times which did become monotonous however, this is the case with several AI hotels and does not reflect on the capability of the restaurant staff.

The pool area was acceptable and the views from the sun beds across the Aegean Sea was spectacular as you could see Turkey really clearly. The staff maintained the cleanliness of the pool area and they were always present to remove any empty glasses/plastic cups.

The bar areas were good. The outside bar and snack area were good with a no quibble attitude to snacks and drinks between the times stated. The value for money for this is exceptional.

Unusually, drinks around the pool and sun beds were served in glasses to adults. On the very odd occasion when one was broken, the staff were very efficient and no one to my knowledge was cut. This is in my opinion a bonus as drinks are better from a glass. Children were always served with plastic.

The animation team were very good. There were a number of daily activities to keep the kids engaged (although ours were too old to use the mini club). The activities reflected the adults with Darts, Table Tennis, Water Polo, Football. The extras for adults was Volleyball, Aqua Aerobics and stretching. Gustav was the main adult animator and gets my exceptional vote as he was always ready for a laugh and quite motivational whilst the remaining ones were very good.

The only thing the hotel could improve on is to dig out the rough volleyball court and fill it in with decent soft sand as it was very sharp and a number of participants ended up with bloodied knees.


The nightly activities were hit and miss. Particularly the visiting entertainers.

Those involving the animation team were better. The karaoke was a laugh (although at other's expense) and the music quiz ended up with all the adult participants getting drunk on Ouska (Ouzo and vodka).

The last very positive note for the hotel is that all staff members are very friendly and polite.

We would not consider using this hotel again if we were to return to Rhodes in the near future as the air conditioning issue was such a factor that made the room uncomfortable even though it was a value for money experience.

Room Tip: The main rooms may be better for air conditioning as they are smaller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvraBeach, Public Relations Manager at Avra Beach Resort Hotel - Bungalows, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Allan,


We would like to thank you for choosing Avra Beach Resort for holidays and also for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are very glad that you have had a pleasant stay at our hotel and that you were especially pleased with our staff. We have already shared your kind words with them. Also we would like to thank you for your useful remarks regarding our hotel.

It has been a great pleasure to have you staying at our hotel and we are looking forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Best Regards,
Photini Mina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Food really good for all inclusive, lots of choice & varied each day.rooms adequate & clean . receptionist so helpful.We did have to change rooms as we were stuck at the back, but they sorted it.We will hopefully go back next year.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvraBeach, Public Relations Manager at Avra Beach Resort Hotel - Bungalows, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Susan,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to comment on your recent stay at Avra Beach Resort and we are very happy that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guests and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,
Photini Mina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bewdley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Lovely pool area and gardens,food was ok,Rooms slightly dated but clean,the childrens animation team make this hotel along with all the other staff,allthough the manager could do with a smile.
The view from the beach area is lovely,no litter or rubbish,the only draw back to the hotel is if like me you don't want to get up at 8.00am to get a sunbed you have to sit in a poolside chair all day.The hotel state they check sunbeds for towles between 8.00-8.30,but everytime i went down at 8.30 there was never any spare beds.
This was the only downside from our holiday,but i'ts a long day sitting in a chair.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvraBeach, Public Relations Manager at Avra Beach Resort Hotel - Bungalows, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Glen,

We would like to thank you for choosing Avra Beach Resort for your holidays and also for having taken the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure to have you as our guests and we are we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards,
Photini Mina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Avra beach resort in july 2014 for one week. Bloody lovely hotel, friendly staff. I would give the whole of the holiday 10 out of 10. If i could give you advise on you stay i would say when you get there and have your welcome meeting with your rep and they offer you the boat trips to see the different islands and the day trips out it will be cheaper to buy them on the streets by the harbour, im not saying dont buy them off the reps im just advising there more expensive. Its a must to go and visit symi island its amazing. Take plenty of spends as there is loads of gifts and souvenirs and beautiful greek restaurants. Also a must to visit old rhodes town. So overall food at hotel is nice plenty of choice pool is brilliant activities all day beach is great just get some sea shoes and you will be fine as it is shingle beach. Have a great time and hope this helped. Thanks avra for a great stay.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Shaun H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvraBeach, Public Relations Manager at Avra Beach Resort Hotel - Bungalows, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Shaun,

We would like to thank you for choosing Avra Beach Resort for holidays and also for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are very glad that you have had a pleasant stay at our hotel and that you were especially pleased with the helpfulness, courtesy and professionalism of our staff. It is always gratifying to receive a positive feedback. We have shared your kind words with all of them.

Once again thank you for your wonderful words regarding our hotel. It has been a great pleasure to have you and your family staying at our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,
Photini Mina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed at avra beach for 14 nights as part of a large group (13 of us in total). My husband and myself were getting married in Rhodes and as we had previously stayed here and really enjoyed it we decided to come back to Avra Beach.

We had a great time at the hotel and have lots to praise this hotel for. The hotel rooms were basic but cleaned everyday. The room has air conditioning, a fridge, a hairdryer and TV. We were staying in one of the bungalows and had the front row with a direct sea view.

The pool bar/swimming pool area was kept clean and tidy, my only down point here was the debris lying on the pool floor. In the 2 weeks we were there the pool debris wasn't removed.

There is a spa onsite and I had 2 massages during my stay. The price was reasonable and the masages were professional and very good.

The entertainment runs from 10am - 12am every day and the entertainers are brilliant. Yes it can get quite noisy but the hotel is a family hotel and this is expected!

The food and drink were very good. Although there is plenty to choose from, after 2 weeks though it does get very repetitive.

The staff were exceptional and are what made our stay so enjoyable. They are pleasant and very helpful. On our wedding day they also came in and decorated the bed with flowers and gave us a gift of honey, fruit and champagne.

Overall, we really enjoyed staying at avra beach and will definitely return in the future.....

Room Tip: email before you leave an ask for a bungalow. Our room was 905, and had a direct view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvraBeach, Public Relations Manager at Avra Beach Resort Hotel - Bungalows, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Michelle,

We would like to thank you for choosing Avra Beach Resort for your holidays and also for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are very glad that you have had a pleasant stay at our hotel and that you were especially pleased with the services our staff provided. We have shared your kind words with all of them.

Once again thank you for your nice words. It was a pleasure to have you and your family as our guests and we are looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you in the near future.

Best Regards,
Photini Mina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed at Avra Beach Hotel for 10 days 6-16th July, myself and husband and 17 year old daughter. We had a brilliant time. The hotel, rooms, swimming pool and all bar areas exceptionally clean. The food was choices were great and a high standard for all inclusive.
The entertainment team were brilliant - couldnt have wished for a nicer group of entertainers, we even went night clubbing with them not bad for a couple of parents who are 48 and 51 with their 17 year old daughter!
Would definately recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If a late flight home suggest you book in advance a late room as the hotel is usually fully booked b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JULIEJAMES2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvraBeach, Public Relations Manager at Avra Beach Resort Hotel - Bungalows, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Julie,

We would like to thank you for choosing Avra Beach Resort for your holidays and also for having taken the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We are very glad that you have had a pleasant stay at our hotel and we have shared your kind words with our staff.

Once again thank you for your wonderful words and for your recommendation to other guests. It has been a great pleasure to have you staying at our hotel and we are looking forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Best Regards,
Photini Mina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.7 mi away
Oceanis Hotel
Oceanis Hotel
#20 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,554 reviews
0.7 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#10 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,109 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sentido Ixian Grand
Sentido Ixian Grand
#22 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Belair Beach Hotel
Belair Beach Hotel
#29 of 126 in Rhodes Town
756 reviews
1.4 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,732 reviews
0.5 mi away
Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avra Beach Resort Hotel - Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avra Beach Resort Hotel - Bungalows

Property: Avra Beach Resort Hotel - Bungalows
Address: Lalysos | Ixia Beach, Rhodes Town 85101, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Rhodes Town
#7 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#8 Spa Hotel in Rhodes Town
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#24 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#29 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Avra Beach Resort Hotel - Bungalows 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel bungalow apartments Avra Beach Resort is situated on the beach of Ixia, 6km west of Rhodes town and 7km from Rhodes International Airport. The hotel covers 18.000 square meters of blossom garden and well kept environment. The hotel is closer to the beach than any other hotel in the area (literally on the beach!) and very close to local shops of Ixia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Avra Beach Resort Hotel - Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avra Beach Hotel
Avra Beach Resort All Inclusive
Avra Beach Resort Hotel - Bungalows Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing