We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now called Aquarium”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aquarium View Hotel
Ranked #61 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Reviewed 10 June 2008

This delightful location couldn't be more convenient for the beach. Short walk (15-20 mins) to the Old Town citadel area which is full of quaint alleyways dating back to Byzantine times. Don't go expecting a boutique flash city hotel but it is very clean, the rooms are spacious and the staff are helpful and friendly (not batting an eyelid when we asked to change rooms to the other side of the hotel as the first room was too near the lift) The receptionist gave us the keys to 2 alternative rooms one of which had a double bed (result!) as most rooms are twin bedded only. There is access to the swimming pool at the neighbouring Cactus Hotel which was pleasant if a little busy. We found the breakfast to be more than adequate and the terrace was charming - a sunny spot from which to watch the world go by (mostly Scandanavian and German tourists). We would recommend the Boudoir restaurant for its modern decor, generous portions and Europop (!) and Hatzikelis Fish Taverna for authentic Greek seafood dishes, pleasant setting and unusual octopus washing-line.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank loiswiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

46 - 52 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2007

We stayed a week at this hotel. The guests were mostly Scandinavian. The breakfast was fine. Excellent if you get a table outside. The staff was very friendly. The room was good. Highly recommend booking a room with a seaview for it is certainly worth the extra cost. The view was fabulous! The location could not have been better. That peninsula is definately the place to be in Rhodes! Absolutely fantastic location. You are close to a lovely beach yet just a short walk from the most interesting sites in Rhodes. Highly recommend Mike's bar around the corner!
And the Olive resteraunt around the back of the hotel.

Only negative thing was the last night we stayed at this hotel they were trying out new lights on the balconies. This was NOT a good idea as these lights were too bright so they disturbed our sleep. Not sure if they kept these lights or not. Hopefully not as it really made a big difference as to whether I would return to that hotel or not but I would definately return to that area if not at the Siravast then another hotel next store.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Multinational
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2007

Just come back after a week's holiday at this hotel.

The good points for the hotel were the location to the Old Town / harbour. It was just across the road from the beach and within easy walking distance to all the restaurants and bars. The hotel was in a quite area and not on the windy side of the island. The hotel staff couldn't have been more helpful or polite and the maid kept our room as clean as possible.

The real down side to this hotel for us, was the fact we were on the first floor (which had no patio door to the balcony, just a very large sliding window) and to sit on the balcony you had to use a chair to climb up through the window to get there, as did all the other rooms on the first floor.

The other down sides were the air conditioning (which was switched off on the 23rd Sept) it was still 28 degrees outside. We had to sleep with the window open, which let in mosquitos and I had a few bites. The breakfast was just OK. Poor selection of fruit (watermelon and grapes, which were full of pips)and tomatoes were only served on the first day with the peppers and olives. We ended up buying our own to take down to breakfast.. The bathroom was small with a huge basin, which the door banged against every time you went in. The shower curtain was not long enough, so all the water from the shower came into the room. My husband pushed all the water down the small grid in there after each shower using his hand. There were twin beds but only one had a headboard and the lampshade on the table light needed replacing.

I would not stay here again, even if we had been alocated a room on a different floor (with a patio door to the balcony) as there was no atmosphere in the hotel. Nobody seemed to sit in the hotel of an evening and many corners had been cut. The hotel next door was much better.

We did request a high room with a sea view but were informed the hotel was fully booked and they couldn't move us.

Plenty of places to eat close by and would recommend The Olive Restaurant.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seleus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2007

The hotel is in a great location but rooms are very disappointing, very small and needed modernising(i kept hitting my head in shower room on stupid towel rack). Was not a 4 star at all. The staff on the other hand were great, especially the bar man who recomended some great restaurants. And the breakfast isnt even worth going to.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank philiplongjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2007

The location is excellent with the beach right across the road, plenty of places to eat and drink nearby and only about 10-15 minutes walk to the Old Town.

The hotel is very clean and maid service was exceptional. They have a very good barman, Michelis who is very friendly and very happy to guide you on places to eat and places on the island to visit. There is a good choice for the buffet breakfast. However, the decor and fittings are very tired and in some cases a bit shabby. The hotel has great potential particularly when you see the Ibiscus Hotel, next door, which has been upgraded.

Having said all that we had 2 great weeks holiday

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikey2906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2007

The best value of the hotel is the position - close to east beach. By the way, if you want to stay in Rhodes, be aware - the west coast is very windy.
Rooms are very nice on the sea view side. The other side deserves half the number of stars.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mkivu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2007

I' ve lived in Rhodes 10 years ago, so I knew exactly where to look for when I started searching for a place to stay on my vacations there.

You can not find a better spot in Rhodes city. Siravast is near to anything, plus it has ample parking space, should you want to use a car. I' ve also read and heard that the hotel was renovated a year ago or something like that, so Siravast was my immediate choise.

If you want to stay in a convenient place and you don't care for anything else, it is perfect. But don't expect to stay in a 4 star hotel (despite the fact you are paying for such one!). The room had been partly renovated - the bathroom was OK, but the sleeping room was NOT. Take a look at the attached photos for further information... Plus, I don't think our sheets have been changed despite the fact we stayed there for 5 days.

Overall, it's not a place to avoid, is nicely situated, but the next time I'll be there I will take my chance with hotels Ibiscus and Mediterrenean which are situated right next to Siravast and look quite modern.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LiFo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mediterranean
Hotel Mediterranean
#16 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,065 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mitsis Grand Hotel
Mitsis Grand Hotel
#35 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,537 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Plaza
Best Western Hotel Plaza
#23 of 126 in Rhodes Town
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Ibiscus Hotel
Ibiscus Hotel
#10 of 126 in Rhodes Town
546 reviews
0.1 mi away
smartline Aquamare
smartline Aquamare
#24 of 126 in Rhodes Town
248 reviews
2.2 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquarium View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquarium View Hotel

Address: G Haritou Square, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece (Formerly Siravast Hotel)
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#39 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range: £46 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aquarium View Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Atrapalo, HotelQuickly, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Aquarium View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquarium Hotel Rhodes Town
Aquarium View Hotel Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing