We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, not so great rooms”
Review of Cactus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cactus Hotel
Ranked #32 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2013

All in all my stay at Cactus Hotel was decent. The location of the hotel is excellent with a beautiful view of the sea, also as it is in Rhodes town with just 15 minute walk to the Old town makes a great place for a stay in Rhodes town. However there is the standard of the hotel. It is worn down and overdue for a renovation. At least that can be said for my room on the third floor with a sea view. With newly renovated rooms i would definitely consider staying at Cactus again, but as is today it would not be my choice in Rhodes town.

Room Tip: Be aware that you will hear noise from outside the rooms in the hallways as the rooms don't have...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jonwir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELCACTUS, Director of Sales at Cactus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2013

Dear guest,

we would like to thank you for choosing Cactus Hotel for your vacation .
We would like to inform you that we have already renovate our common areas, such as the reception, the breakfast area, the bar, generally the lobby area and also some of our rooms, including our suites.Our goal is to renovate all of our rooms but this has to be gradually.So, after the information that we gave you, it will be our pleasure to see you again in our hotel and in our new, renovated rooms!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (341)
There are newer reviews for Cactus Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

77 - 83 of 341 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2013

Last summer me and my boyfriend stayed in this hotel for two weeks. I have travelled a lot and I have seen many bad hotels, but this was the worst i have seen so far. Because we were young with my boyfriend they tought they could give us terrible room. There were very dangerous broken electric wires in the shower and everything else in the room was in really bad condition. When we tried to change the room the staff was very rude to us and they didn't understand why we weren't satisfied. The breakfast was also really bad.. The location was good but that is the only positive thing I can say about this hotel.We are never coming back to this hotel again :)))))))) thanks for this unpleasant stay in cactus.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Inka K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELCACTUS, Director of Sales at Cactus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2013

Dear Guests,

we are really sad for the fact that you left our hotel unsatisfied. We always try to do our best for all of our guests, regardless their age. Especially for our staff we had never before claims for their behavior, they are friendly, kind and always try to find a solution to all the problems if it is possible. It is a little bit strange that you mention that after so many months, although we are glad, because you give us the opportunity to inform you that we have totally renovate our breakfast and all the common areas and we have also upgrade our services concerning the rooms. Once again we are really sorry, that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

My wife and I spent two weeks in hotel Cactus in late September 2012 with our friends.
Hotel Cactus has officially 3 stars but in my mind they are strong stars. The sea view is superb, breakfast is good (a little bit loud), staff is nice and hotel is clean enough. The price/quality relationship is also good.
And of course the location is just great. Very clean beach is just a few steps from the hotel door. (There are many Chinese (!) masseurs walking around and almost harassing people.)
The hotel Cactus has a new manager (a young lady). We were surprised see how she was facing the customers in the breakfast table, in the lobby and even in the bar in the evening. She also arranged separate evaluation sessions with the customers to find out our likes and dislikes. We’e been travelling some thirty years and this was the second time to notice something like this. This promises a lot.
It would be nice to have free WiFi in all rooms because many people are travelling with pads.
We all four liked the hotels atmosphere so much that we have already booked two weeks in next September. We are curious to see if any improvements are implemented when hotel Cactus is on the way to have four stars.

Room Tip: Take a sea view on either side. It is so nice to sit in the balcony and watch so many ships sailing...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pentti_I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELCACTUS, Director of Sales at Cactus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2013

Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Cactus Hotel for your vacation and for taking the time to post your nice comments about us!
We are very glad to know that you had such a wonderful time during your stay in our hotel.
It is a pleasure for our manager to meet our guests and hear to their opinion for the hotel or their suggestion for improvement .
We are looking forward to see you in September.

P.S. We will have many changes at Cactus Hotel!You will be surprised!!!!

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Ordered seaview and got a small room with the smallest balcony and a tinyest shower we have seen. Although a good stay, good breakfast and wery nice people working there. Wery near the Elli beach where you in september always get a sunbed. Near the town vith lots of restaurants. If you are trawelling to Rhodos to see the town, this is the place.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank logo205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELCACTUS, Director of Sales at Cactus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2013

Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Cactus Hotel for your vacation.
We are really sorry for the fact that you have taken a "small room" for your expectations.
We hope that in the future we will have the chance to serve you, sending us by e-mail your request for the size of the room. We hope to see you again in our hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Very good service and excellent breakfast. Wish they had a double bed instead of 2 singles joined together.
Other than that the hotel was great- clean, nice pool, good view, good breakfast and they even allowed late check out as our flight was late evening.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank savithaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELCACTUS, Director of Sales at Cactus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2013

Dear guest,
We would really like to thank you for choosing Cactus Hotel for your accomodation.
We are really sorry that you were not satisfied with the beds according to your requirements.
We hope that we will have the chance in the future to satisfy you, by sending us an e-mail asking for the type of beds that you would like to have.
Although thank you very much for your nice comments.
Looking forward to see you again in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Once again we had a vacation in Rhodes and of course our choice was the beautiful Cactus Hotel at the northern peak of the island. There are no words to describe the treatment we got. It was like coming home....and more. Absolutely lovely room; tidy, spacious, nice in every way... Beautiful scenery and friendly atmosphere.... just everything we ever could ask for :) We just love this place...Our Home under the sun of Helios :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zambikos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELCACTUS, Director of Sales at Cactus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2012

Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review on tripadvisor.
We are delighted to read that you had such a wonderful time during your stay with us.
We certainly look forward to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

I stayed at Cactus hotel in Rhodes Greece for 10 days in August 2012. The hotel is located near the center of the city of Rhodes and the old town(15 minutes walk). It is a bed and breakfast, cheap ,clean with polite staff hotel very close to the sea. The majority of its rooms has a sea view . The rooms overlooking the windy beach have the prιvilege tο watch an awesome sunset.The amenities are poor and the change of bathroom towels takes place every other day. The hotel has a pool but it is very small. The sea in front of the hotel is very clean . One can hire an umbrella and a chair for 4 euros. Close to the hotel there are many restaurants bars where one can eat and drink at a low price .The hotel has a free wifi zone as well as an internet room at a cost.I will surely go again to this hotel in the future

Room Tip: rooms with a view to windy beach to watch the sunset . However these rooms are sunny after midday ti...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ADRAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELCACTUS, Director of Sales at Cactus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2012

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Cactus Hotel for your vacation and for posting your kind comments about us.
We really hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.0 mi away
Ibiscus Hotel
Ibiscus Hotel
#11 of 126 in Rhodes Town
504 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mediterranean
Hotel Mediterranean
#18 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,024 reviews
0.2 mi away
smartline Aquamare
smartline Aquamare
#26 of 126 in Rhodes Town
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bellevue Suites Hotel
Bellevue Suites Hotel
#43 of 126 in Rhodes Town
98 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Plaza
Best Western Hotel Plaza
#25 of 126 in Rhodes Town
688 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mitsis La Vita Beach Hotel
Mitsis La Vita Beach Hotel
#63 of 126 in Rhodes Town
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cactus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cactus Hotel

Address: 14 Kos Str, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Price Range: £52 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cactus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cactus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cactus Hotel Rhodes Town
Cactus Hotel Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing