We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, but a bit noisy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cactus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cactus Hotel
Ranked #33 of 129 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great hotel, but a bit noisy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Me and my boyfriend booked a last minute vacation to Rhodes, and after doing some solid research we ended up staying two weeks at the Cactus hotel. This was mainly because we wanted to stay close to Ellie beach and because we had read some quite good rewies of the hotel.

Making reservations online was surpisingly easy, even by email, and the website gave us all the information we needed.

Pros:
+ Clean rooms.
+ Great view of the sea.
+ Close to the beach.
+ Good sized bathroom.
+ Helpfull and welcoming staff.
+ Varied breakfast, and it lasts for a whole three hours.
+ Different activities in the bar area in the evenings.
+ Comfortable beds (allthough my boyfriend thought they were too hard).
+ The staff reacted promptly when some brits was making a lot of noise one night.
+ Efficient AC.

Cons:
- A lot of noise in the hallway, and a lot of slamming doors. Easily heard through the thin wooden doors.
- The breakfast area gets very crowded when the rush hits its peak.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for sea view, it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartineGrymyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELCACTUS, Διευθυντής Πωλήσεων at Cactus Hotel, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Cactus Hotel for your vacation and for taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor!
We are very glad to read that you have found easy the way of making reservation on line and that our website helped you a lot with all the information you needed! It is also our pleasure that you were satisfied almost with all parts of the hotel such as cleaning, staff, breakfast, location!Concerning the noise you were hearing in the room from the hallway maybe that was because you were staying next to young people.
We will be happy to see you again in our hotel!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    114
    58
    12
    10
See reviews for
71
140
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

We have been there in the beginning of July, 2013. The staff was extremely kind and helpful. We had a beautiful sea view, the down town is 15 mins from the hotel. The closest beach is one of the cleanest in the island.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Z01tan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELCACTUS, Διευθυντής Πωλήσεων at Cactus Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Dear Guest,

we would like to thank you for choosing Cactus Hotel for your vacation!
We are very happy that you were satisfied with our services, staff and location!
We hope to see you again in our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portlaoise, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

maybe not the best in cost, rooms, staff - but clearly the best in location. wow - right on the end of the island, every room has a view. those other items, while not excellent, are still good. breakfast a little weak, but okay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Serena Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELCACTUS, Διευθυντής Πωλήσεων at Cactus Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Cactus Hotel for your vacation!
We are very glad that you were satisfied with the location of the hotel.
We hope to see you again in our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tbilisi, Georgia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

hotel was normal, wish to be more comfort but it's clean and it's located on the most great place i think, if u are not old ages person u r out of hotel so it's good and eat is good but some bored in hotel

Room Tip: good room is with sea side view and difference with palm view room is only 4-5 euro
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irakli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELCACTUS, Director of Sales at Cactus Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2013
Dear Guest,

we would like to thank you for choosing Cactus hotel for your vacation!
We are very glad that you found great our hotel's location, cleaning and food!
As long as the fact that you were a little bit bored while you spent time into the hotel, we will be very happy to hear some proposals about anything you need so you can enjoy your time in the hotel, because we have already some events like karaoke night, Greek night and gymnastic by the pool during the day!
We hope to see you again in our hotel with your proposals!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

We stayed on Rhodes Island for 4 nights while in Europe on our honeymoon.

6 months prior we made a booking at The Mediterranean Hotel; however we checked out after the first night because of a number of problems.

We found the Cactus Hotel and were promptly checked in and settled in our room with a complimentary bottle of champagne.

The front counter staff at Cactus were lovely and always helpful. The room staff were friendly and took good care of us. The bar tender in the downstairs bar was a lot of fun and we enjoyed a nightcap in the bar every night of our stay.

We stayed in an executive apartment on the 6th floor and the view of the ocean from every window was spectacular. Sitting on the balcony soaking it all in was a great experience. The apartment itself is very big with multiple rooms including two large bathrooms. The decor and furnishings were modern and comfortable. It was difficult motivating ourselves to leave such a lovely apartment each day! We managed to though but it was a great feeling going back to the hotel to refresh after a day on the beach or out sightseeing. The pool area was a great place to relax and read a book when we didn't feel like going out.

The hotel is in a great location with plenty of shops and restaurants nearby.

We highly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Rhodes.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AAgoni81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELCACTUS, Director of Sales at Cactus Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2013
Dear Guest,

we would like to thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review on tripadvisor!
It is always a pleasure for us to know that we have been able to meet our guest's expectations!
We hope to see you again in our hotel!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

View from the room was good. We did not have sea view but still the view was gorgeous.

The bartenders behavior was very inappropriate sometimes.
The cleaning ladies cleaned up very strange times. For example, if the breakfast lasted 1-3 hours, they just had to wash the floors at the same time. The floor is then very slippery, we don´t understand why they could not do that job before or after breakfast. Once the cleaning lady leaved her dirt-water bucket right behind our door and we almost fell over it. Strange place to put a bucket...

The Cactus-hotel location is very good.

There could be little more of sun-umbrellas by the pool. Now only shadow-places where you could go was under the palm trees and many people wanted to be in the same place - shadow, because it is cooler in there.

The breakfast area is very noisy! People move the chairs all the time and the noise was disturbing. We decided to sit outside where is few tables and it is more peaceful to eat breakfast.
But then (again) the cleaning ladies just had to wash the "Cactus"-hotel sign (in front of hotel and next to breakfast area) at the same time with a hose and the water, which watered me and my ladyfriend all - and we couldn´t eat our breakfast anymore because it was soaked with water. The cleaning ladies saw that but there were no apologies or anything.

It would be nice if there were some tags or something in front of every dish. It would be easier to pick up the food, if you for example want gluten free food.

The safety boxes are downstairs - it would be better if they were in the hotel room.

They wanted the hotel visitors to fill a form where they asked many questions of the hotel. Every one got with a glass of sparkling wine when they filled the form. This is a good idea but they did not think that to the very end. So, then everyone had to wait for that one person (hotel worker) to go and visit for every table and then you read and have a conversation about the hotel when that person arrives finally. And 1 hour is not anything for waiting, people got bored and leave because they were tired to wait that one person.

For some reasons there were 3 beds in our room. And there was staying only me and my ladyfriend (2 women). So it was little bit crowed.

Room Tip: Don´t get a room from upper floors, because there is only 2 elevators. We had to walk many times the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 7Caroline7_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELCACTUS, Director of Sales at Cactus Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Cactus Hotel for your vacation.
We are very glad that you enjoyed the location of Cactus Hotel and the view from your room but we are very disappointed and at the same time surprised with the matters that you weren't satisfied because for example any problems or complains about our barman. All of our guests like him very much and we hear only nice comments about us.
As long as, the umbrellas at the pool area we would like to inform you that now we have more of them, so, there is no problem any more about that.

Also, we would like to inform you that the cleaning hours almost in all the hotels is from 09:00 until 14:30 because at this time all the people have already waken-up and then leave their rooms to go to the beach or excursions, so that is the best time for cleaning.

When we invite our guests to the meeting with our manager we give them a paper which says that they can come from 6 until 7 and that is exactly because we don't want all the people to come at the same time and wait for a long.
So we had already think about this problem and found this solution to avoid it.

Although thank you very much for your comments because thanks to them we try to upgrade our services.
The only thing that we have to mention is that if you had any problem you should inform the reception so we could do something at the time that you were still in our hotel!

we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

This is the 8th time we have stayed at the Cactus Hotel. You could not get a better location for the sunsets and the beach. It's just a few minutes walk to nearest tavernas and restaurants and there are so many to choose from. Rhodes Old Town is perhaps 15 minutes walk but is something not to be missed.

The staff at the Cactus are all really nice and friendly and will do anything for you. They always try and give us our favourite room on the 2nd floor overlooking the beach and its brilliant watching all the cruise ships coming in to the harbour. It's like coming home.

The Cactus has a lovely relaxing pool area and does get quite busy but the beach is so handy just across the road that you are spoilt for choice anyway.

The rooms are very clean and the maids work hard cleaning them every day.

The breakfast is the normal for Greece and but there is plenty of choice and the new breakfast room is in a lovely spot with views all round. The only fault we found that it was a bit noisy when a lot of people got in there.

They are gradually updating the hotel and we have noticed the difference over the last couple of years. I'm sure when they have finished it will look really smart.

All in all we had a fabulous holiday again at the Cactus and we are looking forward to coming back again hopefully next year.

If you want to hire a car just go to Euromobil just around the corner. We have been using them for the last 8 years and Jason is a very easy to get on with and the prices are very good.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GrecianLadyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELCACTUS, Director of Sales at Cactus Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Dear Guest,

first of all we would like to thank you for choosing Cactus Hotel for your accomodation and for taking the time to post your kind comments about us.
It is always our pleasure to know that we have been able to meet the expectations of our guests.
We always try to upgrade our services to satisfy our guests!
We certainly looking forward to see you again in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibiscus Hotel
Ibiscus Hotel
#24 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mediterranean
Hotel Mediterranean
#15 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
0.2 mi away
smartline Aquamare
smartline Aquamare
#17 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bellevue Suites Hotel
Bellevue Suites Hotel
#43 of 129 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#84 of 129 in Rhodes Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mitsis La Vita Beach Hotel
Mitsis La Vita Beach Hotel
#51 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cactus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cactus Hotel

Property: Cactus Hotel
Address: 14 Kos Str, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 129 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cactus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Also Known As:
Cactus Hotel Rhodes Town
Cactus Hotel Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing