We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst experience I ever had...”
Review of Cactus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cactus Hotel
Ranked #38 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The worst experience I ever had...”
Reviewed 15 August 2007

We just returned from a 7 days stay in Rhodes, and I want to share this experience with everyone who wants to spend some time on this island, because there are beautiful places, and one should have a proper place to stay...
First I want to mention that we booked a room in this hotel, and our travel agent has paid for it entirely on 20 of June. Despite this, on 7th of August evening, when we reached the hotel, they said that it was an overbooking situation, and sent us to stay for 2 days at Esperia Hotel, that is a few blocks away inside the city. All this after we have chosen this hotel (Cactus), amongst lot of others, especially for the sea view (to both Seas). I want to emphasize that staff at Esperia is much nicer and friendly than at Cactus, however Esperia hotel is a city hotel, with much noise at night. We accepted this situation, since at Cactus they said they are fully occupied. After 2 days, we took our luggage back to Cactus Hotel (they paid for the taxi). Here, at 11 o'clock a.m., they said our room is not free yet. We went to the beach, and at 2:30 p.m., when we returned, the same situation: room occupied (check-out time is 12 o'clock!!!). After a lot of arguing with the hotel manager, we finally received a room (no. 623) at the last floor of the hotel, with no balcony. Tired to argue anymore, we accepted this room, and went to town. The big surprise was at night, when we tried to sleep. We discovered that our room was situated right underneath the air-conditioning system of the hotel, that produced a noise similar to a plane taking-off every minute. My husband complained at the reception, and they said (like they did not know about the noise in the room!!!) that at that hour they cannot do anything. We managed to sleep for around 3 hours that night, and at 7 a.m. we took our luggage to the reception, and said that we want the decent room we paid for. During the day we were out to Marmaris, and when we got back, at 7 p.m., we received exactly the same room as in the other night! Near to collapse, we tried to call the tourist police, but we got no answer. After another 2 hours of yelling, or begging for a decent room (that we paid for almost 2 months before!!!), the management of the hotel continued to treat us with ignorance and disrespect, like any other days. They said they could not offer any solution to this, not in this hotel or Esperia Hotel. Finally, under the perspective of sleeping on streets, the Greek representative of our agent travel found us another hotel, where we finally managed to relax and continue our holiday. But the price paid in nerves, money (hours of telephone conversations) and time was a little too high for a vacation that we expected for a whole year.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Manuela75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    130
    63
    14
    11
See reviews for
79
158
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2007

The hotel has a beautifull location with an excellent view. It's an interesting sensation to live in the most extrem hotel from this island and either u're looking right or left to see the Mediteranean sea with it's magnificent blue water. The hotel has a great location not only because it's view criteria but is in the town, you have all the restaurants next to you, the harbour is only 5 minutes walking and the old town is also close to it.
The Aquarium garden is also very nice and the hotel beach is right outside of the hotel with seats for everybody for only 1.5 eur per day.
The rooms are quite simple but with enought free space to enjoy the staying. Regarding it's cleaness I don't have anything to say..everithing is as it should be.
The breakfast is plenty and with a good variety of food and deserts. The best aspect of the breakfast is the view you get while sitting and enjoying you're coffe....you can see the islands of Turkey (Marmaris ) in the horizon and I can guarantee is an unique view.
I definitlly recomend this hotel to everibody who wants to see the real Rhodos Town and it's unique beauty.

  • Liked — The Location
  • Disliked — The sound of the A.C instalations...is needed a refurbish.
  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank gabidunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2006

I'll start off with the good...This 3star hotel is in a great location right across the beach and close to some cafes and tavernas. The breakfast buffet had a wonderful 180 degree view of the ocean. Old Town Rhodes is an easy walk from the hotel.

Now the not so good...The hotel looks a bit old, somewhat like the 70's. There was an area with pool table, air hockey and two computers for the internet which was always left dark. I don't know why the hotel didn't think it's important to light up all the areas of the lobby. The rooms were simple which was ok, but when we walked in, there was a fly. The bed which they called orthopedic was rock hard. Also, the bathroom floor had hairs and the towels were quite old. The worse part was that we were there toward the end of Sept which I guess was technically off season and there was NO AIRCONDITIONING. I'm not sure if this is true with all hotels at Rhodes, however since we did see most rooms of other hotels with their windows open.

In all, the cactus hotel had a great location, but know that you'll be getting a 2 star, barely 3star type hotel.

  • Liked — location with great views
  • Disliked — rooms were minimally clean and old, no airconditioning
  • Tips/Secrets — pick at least a 4star hotel in Greece
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank berrystrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2006

This is a lovely beach hotel the last hotel on the island. It is clean and the rooms bright. I booked through PricelineEurope and got a wonderful price. The beach is right across the road and the sea view rooms allow a wonderful view of the blue Aegean. The only draw backs were that they only change linens, including your one towel every two days, the breakfast was boring but would satisfy the average German or Russian who is the bulk o ftheir trade and the air conditioning is not turned on until June 15th despite 90+ degree days in May. However, the sea view room allowed for a sea breeze to cool the room in the evenings. All in all well worth the money I paid for it in location and charm alone.

  • Liked — The view and the cleanliness
  • Disliked — The lack of AC
  • Tips/Secrets — Take your own towels
  • Stayed May 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Kedwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 15 June 2006

With clean rooms overlooking the ocean what is not to love! We were pleasantly surprised at the quality of accomodation for the price we paid. It is in a great location right across the street from the beach. The hotel is very nice. The quality of breakfast was also great! I would definatly recommend this... and stay there myself again!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2005

we were changed last minute, from it's sister hotel the siravast to the cactus just before we departed (booked with a agency).hotel position could not be faulted the cactus,siravast.ibiscus and mediterranean hotels all enjoy being right on eli beach.our room was 3 star, clean with a sea view.the beakfast was one of the poorest we have ever had,it was continental and basic,it certainly let the hotel down.being october the hotel had no entertainment which did not bother us has it took minutes to walk to the restaurants/bars. the wife and i love greek food and tried many of the restaurants that were sugested by individuals on the web .we found that thomas and charlottes,leontos street,the olive just by the cactus on platia g.haritou,and mon ami which i think was on nik mandilara street, the better of the ones that we tried .the weather was quite nice but to windy for the beach,the hotel had a pool which was not very big more so, since it shared it with the siravast(which was closed).all in all a lovely time touring the walled old town of rhodes where a beer could cost you 6 euro's, to visiting the quaint lyndos bay and also the subdued faliraki to sample chicken tikka or gammon and chips and a beer on the beach for 1 euro,rhodes has it all.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank airtool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.0 mi away
Ibiscus Hotel
Ibiscus Hotel
#15 of 126 in Rhodes Town
453 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aquarium View Hotel
Aquarium View Hotel
#68 of 126 in Rhodes Town
123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mediterranean
Hotel Mediterranean
#16 of 126 in Rhodes Town
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
smartline Aquamare
smartline Aquamare
#24 of 126 in Rhodes Town
218 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bellevue Suites Hotel
Bellevue Suites Hotel
#39 of 126 in Rhodes Town
91 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#90 of 126 in Rhodes Town
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cactus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cactus Hotel

Property: Cactus Hotel
Address: 14 Kos Str, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cactus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cactus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cactus Hotel Rhodes Town
Cactus Hotel Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing