We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Vert friendly” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carina Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Carina Hotel
Ranked #113 of 129 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Vert friendly”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012 via mobile

Didn't stay at the hotel but called for evening meal and drinks lots of nights. Aris the barman was really friendly so we went back again food was good too Would definitely call again when we go back to Rhodes

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Wayne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    22
    25
    19
    23
See reviews for
11
43
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

I needed a hotel in Rhodes town for the night as the ferry from the Island on which I was staying was too late for the flight out of Rhodes and came up with The Carina Hotel at either £20 or 20 Euros, I can't remember which. Having booked it I then checked the reviews (better the other way I know!) so I arrived expecting the worst. The receptionist was friendly and helpful, the room was small but clean, with A/C which was a pleasant surprise and free Wifi in the lobby. It is situated just off "The strip", has a pleasant open air bar downstairs and is very close to all the restaurants and bars but no noisy clubs that I could see. I checked out at 5.00am so I can't comment on the breakfast. My stay was late September 2012 so towards the end of the season but the place was still quite busy. A bargain all in all.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank johnandfranners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vantaa, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

Before our trip I read all the reviews about the hotel, and actually I was quite afraid of going there. After the week we spend there, I'm really positively surprised about the quality of service, cleanliness of the rooms and especially about the location of the hotel in the center of the city. Short walk to both beaches, old town and the new town shops.
Breakfast, as told in the reviews before, wasn't actually gourmet: Bread rolls, croissants, some cheese and ham (which I didn't taste at all), and eggs or youghurt (natural or flavoured) every other morning. Still, it was eatable and with it you survived until the next food.
Food in hotel bar was good, on a couple of days we ate there omelettes for lunch. Price was also cheap.
All the staff were polite and helpful, and the cleaning lady kept our room extremely tidy the whole week!
Our room was small, and the glass door of the toilet was pretty weird... But in spite of that our room was good place to store your luggage, take a shower and to sleep. Balcony view wasn't too breathtaking: Next buildings stairway. But that's a thing I can live with.

We might have been lucky, or then the hotel has improved, but I can't see any reason to complain. Two star hotel is two star hotel, though as a two star hotel this was little bit better than the usual. I'll recommend Carina for everyone, who isn't going to spend the whole holiday in the hotel room, or balcony ;)!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Minna453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beograd, Serbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

I was in this hotel in 2007 and i decided to go again this year,cause i was really suprised how clean the room was,huge balcon,view not so nice(other hotel and street),but for that money was more than ok! breakfest was terible,only croissants every morning and tea&coffee,but i woke very late so i didnt care :) ... but,again,room was really nice, and the air-conditioner was free,the bed was comfortable,bathroom was small but ok, we always had hot water!
i hope that nothing changed till now and that its still ok....;)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

OK, so its not the Ritz. But then given the price that's hardly surprising. We visit the Mandilara area of Rhodes every year, and have stayed in many of the hotels. The Carina has 'pros' over some of the others (the bathroom and balcony were bigger than the Ambassador) and 'cons' (needs a refurb, bathroom fittings especially).

OK - so the negatives:
- Don't bother with breakfast, most are terrible in the Mandilara hotels, this was the worst so far
- Super-tiny safety deposit boxes
- Rooms are 'tired' and need a refurb. A bit of peeling paint, old bathroom fittings which give the appearance of being dirty (but aren't, the cleaners do a good job with what they have to work with!)
- Poor views from the balcony, BUT - this is the case with many of the hotels in the area due to the layout so not the Carina's fault (although they could clear away the debris dropped from balconies)
- The air con drains into a water bottle on the balcony which overflows quickly and you have to empty yourself (though the cleaners may have done it you can't wait for them or the balcony gets flooded)
- Very little storage in a small room, especially if you are there 2 weeks. Only place to put cases is on top of wardrobe and you will need to store some clothes in your cases.
- No hairdryer, take your own!
- Previous comments about paper-thin walls are spot on. You really can hear everything in the rooms around, above and below you.

The positives:
- Great location
- Great price
- Air con is free (we have had a daily charge in some places)
- Staff are lovely, the lady on reception and the guys at the bar will do anything to help you
- Nice bar area
- Rooms are clean, done every day except Sunday incl clean towels
- Fridge in room

In summary, I wouldn't say 'don't go there' if you are used to the general standard of 2/3 star Greek hotels you will find its OK. If this is your first time and you are used to 4star or above or other destinations, spend more and stay at the Marie, Ibiscus, Cactus etc etc.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank andrea_birch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boras, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

Before going to Rhodes I remember reading a few reviews on this hotel. "Do not go there" was one and I thought to myself: "There will always be haters and it just cant be THAT bad". After one week on Carina I'm surprised I actually agree with that review.
I'm not sure though whether we were just unlucky or if the hotel actually was really bad. To begin with we were four people coming down to Rhodos to party for a week and therefore our demands were quite low. We only wanted a cheap and simple hotel to stay during the nights, however we simply couldnt ignore everything that was bad about this hotel.

It started from the very arrival at the hotel. The receptionist told us he wasnt able to give us the rooms we had booked. We had booked 2 double rooms but were given only one big room for four people. They said they would give us new rooms the next morning. This was false though and we had to stay in the big room for another night. Of course we were displeased with this and called Apollo many times and discussed our situation. Apollo called the Hotel and fixed it. The worst thingabout the rooms was probably the bathrooms. The door was almost transparent and there was no lock on it whatsoever. Just cant figure out who would make such a poor choice of a bathroom door. A little hasp would make a huge difference and it's not expensive to add. Additonally,The shower hose once started showering by itself and we had difficulties turning it off (Not kidding). Most of the time we were just laughing at this hotel but it kind of broke it for us when we got robbed by the cleaning lady. An iPhone and 300 Euros were stolen. When we called Apollo they said it actually wasnt the first time people had got robbed at Hotel Carina this summer. They also mentioned they would call Carina for a meeting to discuss their future cooperation. It was obvious Apollo werent confident sending tourists to Carina unless changes would be made. This really says something about this hotel.

Now, lets get to what was actually good about this hotel. It was in fact perfectly situated. Close to both beaches and very close to the barstreet. This was also the reason why we chose this Hotel in the first place. In addition we were allowed to refill our water bottles for free at the hotel. A big plus!

I'm planning to come back to Rhodes next summer but I know for sure I won't be staying at Hotel Carina. There are many other hotels that are perfectly situated and I will probably choose one of those instead.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bacarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rhodes Town hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

there are some mixed reviews on here, so i thought i'd give the pros and cons so you could see exactly what's like there

PROS:
- free internet
- free breakfast
- in the tourist heart of rhodes town

CONS:
- the internet is free, but is only available in the lobby, not in the rooms
- the breakfast is free, but it's not good. it's basically old stale rolls, a few spread for it, watermelon, coffee and really bad, watered down juices. for any real food that will give you energy, you have to buy it somewhere else
- it's in the tourist heart of rhodes town among tons of other hotels, restaurants and a few shops. it's in the party central for swedes, so it's really not good for anyone that doesn't want to party, because there are partiers going by the hotel, coming in and leaving at all hours and music is loud from the bars and restaurants downstairs along with bar street only about 2 blocks away. we went out at night, so it only bothered us when we went to sleep but it didn't matter what time. we went to bed at 2 am, 3 am and it was still loud. i saw a few older couples and a family or two and i had no idea how they could stand the area or the noise at night.
- i have to elaborate on partiers coming and leaving the hotel. they are ridiculously loud b/c they are extremely rude and they also think only partiers stay there, therefore, they can be loud whenever they want. we were woken up each night we stayed there around 4 or 5 am by people coming home. we had to yell out in the hallway for them to be quiet b/c they were carrying on for 10 minute almost trying to be as loud as they could, and after a minute or so, they'd get loud again. we did get them back though, by being loud in the hall and slamming our door at 8 am. you don't want to be fighting with your room neighbors while on vacation, though.
- the hotel owners are very cheap in regards to towels. you are not allowed to wipe make up on a towel, leave a towel on the ground or take it to the beach if you forget a towel. if you do any of this, they charge you for the towel! i couldn't believe a hotel could be so stingy. so, you really can't use your towel that much, which is ridiculously annoying b/c it's just a towel. you're a guest at a hotel, you should be able to use it any way you want, rather than worrying about being charged for wiping for face on it after you wash make up off of it. they also change them every 2 days.
- you have to pay extra for air conditioning. i believe it's €5 per day. it's just another way for them to cut corners and gouge you for extra cash. i had never heard of a hotel charging for air conditioning before this hotel and each hotel i stayed at after thought it was ludicrous.
- the front desk isn't that friendly. when we arrived, they said they needed to make copies of our passports, except apparently there is only one person that can do it and they work in the morning! so, only one person is capable of making copies of a passport and if you don't arrive while this person is there, they HOLD ONTO your passport! i couldn't believe they expected me to trust them with my most important form of ID. they simply put in a cubby that absolutely anyone can reach just behind the desk, and they don't sit at the desk during their entire shift. in fact, i think 90% of the time i went to the front desk, i had to wait for someone to show up b/c they walk around or something, i'm still not sure. that's how secure your passports are. we had no choice but to let them hold it though, otherwise they wouldn't have given us a room. so the next morning we come down to get our passports and the woman who is the only one that can do it says they're not ready yet. (how long does it take to make a freaking copy?). she said to give her 10 minutes. so, we went, ate breakfast and came back about 15-20 min later and asked for them back. she just glared at us like we were annoying her. it was only then that she made copies in front of us, which took 30 seconds and from then on, she didn't like us. she was rude to us the rest of our visit and barely spoke a word to us all b/c we asked for our passports back past the timeframe she had given us. how rude are we? and on the day we checked out, when we asked for luggage storage, she didn't even say a word to us, but led us to a room and then walked away. she was an absolute witch and we were guests just asking for basic things that hotel offered.
- the maids are rude. one day when we were leaving, a maid stopped us, brought us into our room and told us to clean off things in the room!! yeah, she told us to clear our beds and move our luggage. i couldn't believe that we were being told to clean by the maid. had she not learned to clean around the people in the hotel and that they get live as they want in the rooms and SHE is supposed to clean? i was completely fed up with the staff at this point. i tossed a few things off the bed, but i wasn't doing her job for her. in a hotel where people are raging partiers, i have a hard time believing that me leaving my clothes on my own bed that i was paying for was the maid's biggest problem when cleaning, and warranted her stopping me and telling me to clean my stuff up.
- the rooms are tiny. you barely have a pathway in the room. with luggage, it's hard to move. the beds are pushed right next to each other b/c there's no room. you are guaranteed to get hurt if you walk in the dark in these rooms b/c there's no way you're not running into something
- the bathroom is a wet room. might be a problem for some b/c you can't have a towel or the toilet paper in there when you shower. also, there was a lot of mold around the doorway and in some in the corners. just wanted to let you know
- the walls are very thin. walls aren't usually very thick in europe, but honestly when i went in the bathroom, i could hear word for word the entire conversations going on the next room, even when they were like whispering. it was ridiculous

overall, all this hotel has going for it is the fact that it's the cheapest. it is missing a lot of basics though such as air conditioning, quietness, courtesy, which is why is it's the cheapest. so, unless you're a swede looking to stay out till 4 am, this probably isn't for you. and if you are looking to stay out till 4 am and not be in your room much, i guess you could try this hotel. just don't make a mess or the maid will have you clean and don't use the towel or they'll try to charge you. in rhodes town, where hotel are only a few dollars difference, find another for a few bucks more a night. you'll appreciate the amenities and enjoy your vacation much more

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank clairethebear88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Vassilia
Hotel Vassilia
#86 of 129 in Rhodes Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.3 mi away
Noufara City Hotel
Noufara City Hotel
#118 of 129 in Rhodes Town
3.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amaryllis Hotel
Amaryllis Hotel
#73 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Africa Hotel
Africa Hotel
#63 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Galaxias
Hotel Galaxias
#42 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.1 mi away
Esperia Hotel
Esperia Hotel
#67 of 129 in Rhodes Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carina Hotel

Property: Carina Hotel
Address: 56 Griva Street, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 129 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Carina Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Carina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carina Rhodes Town
Carina Hotel Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing