We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty good, Comfortable stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Africa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Africa Hotel
Ranked #63 of 129 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Pretty good, Comfortable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

This is a pretty good option if you are going to stay on Rhodes. It's clean, comfortable and has an excellent location only minutes from the beach.
My room had a small balcony and was the cleaners did an excellent job. Breakfast was more than satisfactory. Staff were helpful without being intrusive.
Don't expect 5 star, but if your looking to spend a few days idling your time away on Rhodes you should be more than satisfied. Wifi was only really effective near the lobby area but it worked fine.
I find it disappointing and this is not the only hotel on Rhodes that falls into this category that in 2013 it is not available to your room.
Really guys this is 2013 not 2003 so it wouldn't take much to get your act together. However having griped about that the hotel did specifically advertise that wifi was only available in the lobby, more importantly it worked.
Bottom line .....would I stay here again if I visited Rhodes? Yes!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ziggy154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    69
    25
    12
    3
See reviews for
15
67
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tiberias, Israel
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

Africa Hotel is a 2*hotel and some of the services they provide were by far above our expectations (me and my sister stayed there 4 nights in may 2013 ).
Location is great as it is a walking distance to everything. Walking a minute or two you can reach the beach.
The rooms were very clean with a narrow balcony, there they managed to place two chairs and a table.
The staff were really great and were most helpful, cordial and friendly.
The breakfast was good.
Free Wifi in the lobby.
They brought us a fan on request, the bottom line is that we were very happy with this hotel and would return to it in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Racc2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012 via mobile

Great place to stay!! Would stay more if had more days!!
Beach just 3 min away, close to lots of things!!
Very good staff, amazing breakfast!!
After check out, u still can go to the beach and have a shower in the hotel ( just ask before)!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Natalie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lillehammer, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

We would recomend this hotel escpesially because of the nice staff! The bartender, Sotiris, is always in a good mood, he speaks very good English, and makes the best drinks in Rhodes. The cleaning ladies are so understanding, sweet and helpful. The people in the reception is also very service minded. You have the beach just accross the road, and shops all around. Just a short walk from the old town, and a very good variety of restaurants just a few meters from the hotel. We are defently comming back. Best regards to you all at Hotel Africa! Love Hanne and Tom

Room Tip: The best rooms are facing the sea. But rooms on the south side are quieter. And higher floors have l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HannesHawai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
94 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

We stayed at Africa in October as part of a charter holidays and noise (reported by some guests) was not at all a problem for us. The location is excellent, not far from the Old town, the beach, bus station, bars restaurants etc. the rooms were fine, not enormous but not tiny either. Furniture a bit run down but functional and the beds were comfortable, which is of course very important. Cleaning was up to scratch. The breakfast, if not super varied, was fine too (I got quite addicted to the freshly made doughnuts and apple fritters) and most importantly, the breakfast coffee, which fails at many hotels, tasted like coffee! We found the staff very friendly and helpful as well. The only thing that is missing is perhaps the charm one might be able to find in some of the Old Town hotels (which however we have not tried).The only minus is perhaps that out of season airconditioning is not included in the room price.
Looking at the regular prices on the room I would say excellent value for money even if not part of a package.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LLL825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

I searched for a hotel in Rhodes, and found the Africa Hotel had great reviews. I stayed there a few nights ago and was so happy with the accommodations. The room was light and airy, beds comfortable, bathroom clean - the whole premises were clean, and the breakfast wonderful. The beach is directly across the street, within walking distance of Old Town, and the patio was great for hanging out. I highly recommend the Africa Hotel if you are in Rhides.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank skymoon50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FIN
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

Oh we´d loved that choose.

We choosed that Africa hotel by chance and spent one last night there after a long journey in Greece.

We hadn´t any expectations because location is quite near at bar strip and because it is only 2-star hotel. But hotel was as a matter of fact in quite silence section and everything in hotel exceed our expectations a lot.

The madame in reception was marvellous and the other guys in reception and bar extremely friendly too.

Rooms were good enough to spend a longer time too. Good pillows and beds. Clean bathroom with shower curtain. Decent bar they have in front of hotel. Decent prices in bar compared at rodos price level. Hotel is very near at "Windy" beach.

5 person versatile breakfast incluced ( doubleroom 34 € / triple 45€ ) and they proposed us free extra breakfast because we arrived allready at 8 a clock in the morning. We also got our rooms 4 hours uppfront.

Wifi worked only at reception area. There were two customer computer at lobby where internet worked with coins.

When i return i will stay with them.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greensome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Nafsika Hotel
Nafsika Hotel
#64 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sylvia Hotel
Sylvia Hotel
#61 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
1.6 mi away
Comfort Hotel
Comfort Hotel
#72 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Parthenon City
Hotel Parthenon City
#93 of 129 in Rhodes Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.0 mi away
Europa Hotel Rooms and Studios
Europa Hotel Rooms and Studios
#66 of 129 in Rhodes Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anastasia Hotel
Anastasia Hotel
#37 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Africa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Africa Hotel

Property: Africa Hotel
Address: Alexiou Diakou 63, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Africa Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LoveHolidays so you can book your Africa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Africa Hotel Rhodes Town
Africa Hotel Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing