We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (197)
Filter reviews
197 results
Traveller rating
65
82
33
13
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
65
82
33
13
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews safe box eli beach greek yogurt windy beach old town air condition excellent location room was clean bar street great place to stay shower curtain recommend this hotel star hotel small balcony cleaned every day nice hotel excellent holiday
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 197 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2013

This is a pretty good option if you are going to stay on Rhodes. It's clean, comfortable and has an excellent location only minutes from the beach.
My room had a small balcony and was the cleaners did an excellent job. Breakfast was more than satisfactory. Staff were helpful without being intrusive.
Don't expect 5 star, but if your looking to spend a few days idling your time away on Rhodes you should be more than satisfied. Wifi was only really effective near the lobby area but it worked fine.
I find it disappointing and this is not the only hotel on Rhodes that falls into this category that in 2013 it is not available to your room.
Really guys this is 2013 not 2003 so it wouldn't take much to get your act together. However having griped about that the hotel did specifically advertise that wifi was only available in the lobby, more importantly it worked.
Bottom line .....would I stay here again if I visited Rhodes? Yes!

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ziggy154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Africa Hotel is a 2*hotel and some of the services they provide were by far above our expectations (me and my sister stayed there 4 nights in may 2013 ).
Location is great as it is a walking distance to everything. Walking a minute or two you can reach the beach.
The rooms were very clean with a narrow balcony, there they managed to place two chairs and a table.
The staff were really great and were most helpful, cordial and friendly.
The breakfast was good.
Free Wifi in the lobby.
They brought us a fan on request, the bottom line is that we were very happy with this hotel and would return to it in the future.

Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012 via mobile

Great place to stay!! Would stay more if had more days!!
Beach just 3 min away, close to lots of things!!
Very good staff, amazing breakfast!!
After check out, u still can go to the beach and have a shower in the hotel ( just ask before)!!

Date of stay: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Natalie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We would recomend this hotel escpesially because of the nice staff! The bartender, Sotiris, is always in a good mood, he speaks very good English, and makes the best drinks in Rhodes. The cleaning ladies are so understanding, sweet and helpful. The people in the reception is also very service minded. You have the beach just accross the road, and shops all around. Just a short walk from the old town, and a very good variety of restaurants just a few meters from the hotel. We are defently comming back. Best regards to you all at Hotel Africa! Love Hanne and Tom

Room tip: The best rooms are facing the sea. But rooms on the south side are quieter. And higher floors have less noise.
Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HannesHawai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We stayed at Africa in October as part of a charter holidays and noise (reported by some guests) was not at all a problem for us. The location is excellent, not far from the Old town, the beach, bus station, bars restaurants etc. the rooms were fine, not enormous but not tiny either. Furniture a bit run down but functional and the beds were comfortable, which is of course very important. Cleaning was up to scratch. The breakfast, if not super varied, was fine too (I got quite addicted to the freshly made doughnuts and apple fritters) and most importantly, the breakfast coffee, which fails at many hotels, tasted like coffee! We found the staff very friendly and helpful as well. The only thing that is missing is perhaps the charm one might be able to find in some of the Old Town hotels (which however we have not tried).The only minus is perhaps that out of season airconditioning is not included in the room price.
Looking at the regular prices on the room I would say excellent value for money even if not part of a package.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leila L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews