We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel , good position , excellent management and staff”
Review of Africa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Africa Hotel
Ranked #66 of 127 Hotels in Rhodes Town
new zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice hotel , good position , excellent management and staff”
Reviewed 21 November 2009

We enjoyed our stay at this well run clean value for money ,hotel.It is rare to find such friendly helpful management , it was a treat to stay in this lovely property , if staying in Rhodes dont miss the chance to experience this great value money hotel .

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PETERJILL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    69
    26
    12
    3
See reviews for
15
69
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2008

My wife and daughter spent a wonderful 2 week holiday in Aug 2007 in greece,island hopping and a 1 week stop in Rhodes,We stayed at a small coastal Hotel called Africa,steps away from the beach,and walking distance to everything,the hotel staff were great and the rooms were clean.we have stayed many times at 5 star resorts in the past,however we were pleasently surprised at the service and staff and rooms of this family owned hotel.we rented a car to tour the coast and to visit many sites.

  • Liked — loation and staff
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank rickAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2007

We were shocked at first sight: Very old, sheets were incredibly thin, tile in bathroom was broken, shower was just a shower curtain in the corner: you could not avoid flooding the whole tiny bathroom. However! -- the room was actually very clean, sheets were changed every day, towels were nice and thick. I loved the balcony, it had a great light for reading in the evening, you could look down on the street action. The location of the hotel is excellent, you can walk to Old Town, and you are beside the beach. The staff were very nice and friendly. Breakfast was adequate. I heard that some rooms have bathtubs with showers: if I could get one of those, I would actually consider staying again!

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank taylorone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2006

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for one week in August. We had a great time! No the room was not updated but it was comfortable and large with a large balcony. The people working at the front desk were wonderful and extremely helpful. Car rental, bakery/convenience store, and laundry service were right outside the hotel and it is near the beach and 10 mins from Old Town. If you come to Rhodes to spend your time in a hotel room then Hotel Africa is probably not the place for you. If you come to Rhodes to spend your time exploring the island, relaxing on the fantastic beaches, shopping in the Old Town, and only need a clean place to rest in between all of these activities, then the Hotel Africa is perfect!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Tips/Secrets — Rent a car and check out the amazing windsurfers at Prassonissi Beach
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Karen1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 8 July 2006

We stayed at Hotel Africa for 3 nights. The front desk service and the location was the only good thing. 10 min walk to old town and close to beach. The hotel room was outdated, bed were hard as a rock, the sheet were not cleaned, noisy hall ways, bathroom was small including the shower, the breakfast had hardly no variety and it was served only between 7:30am - 9:30am. The hotel rooms need a total update.. The lobby and bar was ok.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Parthenon City
Hotel Parthenon City
#92 of 127 in Rhodes Town
343 reviews
0.0 mi away
Europa Hotel Rooms and Studios
Europa Hotel Rooms and Studios
#69 of 127 in Rhodes Town
209 reviews
0.4 mi away
Moschos Hotel
Moschos Hotel
#45 of 127 in Rhodes Town
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Amaryllis Hotel
Amaryllis Hotel
#85 of 127 in Rhodes Town
95 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nafsika Hotel
Nafsika Hotel
#68 of 127 in Rhodes Town
117 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anastasia Hotel
Anastasia Hotel
#37 of 127 in Rhodes Town
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Africa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Africa Hotel

Property: Africa Hotel
Address: Alexiou Diakou 63, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Africa Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Bookgreece.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Africa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Africa Hotel Rhodes Town
Africa Hotel Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing