We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well-organized hotel, great hospitality!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mitsis Petit Palais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mitsis Petit Palais
Ranked #24 of 129 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Well-organized hotel, great hospitality!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

I’ve been to Rhodes Island many times in the past, so I have a good sense of the service provided and the standards are indeed very high. From the very first moment we entered the reception we could tell that the place is very well-organized and members of staff motivated to satisfy guests. To put it briefly, everyone was smiley, quick and efficient. The room was spacious, spotlessly clean and with a lovely view to the sea. The variety of food was excellent and the location just perfect to visit the Old Town and Mantraki Port.
We were on a romantic gateway, but I would recommend the hotel for families as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VB1284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    220
    105
    33
    12
See reviews for
150
317
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Six of us all 50's age group, took our annual vacation to this hotel, I took time out to read the majority of trip advisor reviews, must say I agreed with the majority of them. some idiots complained about the meals, the meals were of great choice and in our 14 day stay I don't think any of our group duplicated their meals, a great choice was always available. The only concern we had was that to get to the one toaster at breakfast most people joined a single queue that was for the continentals who wanted bread and rolls etc, there was the rude people aswell who pushed in to get what they wanted!!! I found it hard to believe that with a 3 hour slot for breakfast and dinner people were queing at the Restuarant doors? The Staff were great and couldn't do enough for you, especially the waitng and bar staff. Just to add, the one day we took out a packed lunch we were amazed with the quality & quantity in these.

Our sheets and towels were changed everday and rooms were kept clean and tidy.

Our minor concerns were that the the pool was very small and the one day we ventured out there it resembled a morgue, the people who used this area regularly, looked at you as much to say, how dare you consider using our pool! Don't worry we vacated and used the adequate beech no more than a 100 metres away. The bar area could do with some more tables and seating. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would encorage people to give it a visit.

Room Tip: Try to have a front facing room as the top floors look out to the beach, our first floor room was go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Goonerob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

I was there in May 2013 on half board basis . Staff happy to see you and help you in anything. Food excellent to that extend that you want to eat more and you don't have to. I went there with Cosmos holidays and Megan the rep was so good and took care of me when my local trips were cancelled. Thanks to Megan, thanks to all staff in the resort. It seems that everbody there is happy including customers.
Rooms nice and clean. What a place to be. HAPPY Place

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed at the Petit Palais in September. When we arrived we were told we would have to stay in another hotel for one night but we were upgraded to all inclusive. We arrived back at the Petit Palais next morning for breakfast. After breakfast we were told our room was ready we were on the 2nd floor overlooking the pool. The room was very good quite a big room with a lovely big balcony, it was very clean and comfortable. The towels were changed every day without having to request it rooms were cleaned to a high standard. The meals in the restaurant were brilliant always lots of choice, the restaurant manager was very good showing you to your table and if there was a queue he knew exactly who came first so anyone trying to push in were quickly sent to the end of queue. All the staff were very nice, friendly and helpful especially Rosa on reception she bent over backwards to make sure you had all you needed and was very helpful at all times. Definitely a great hotel would choose it again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sungirl30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Just got back from this hotel after spending 1 week as a family of four with two teenage kids.
The hotel is in a back street and there are various routes to get to the old town, but to get to Mandraki harbour come out of the hotel and turn right back to the main road and turn right and keep going straight on past the casino and keeping on the same side of the road and keep walking and Mandraki harbour is on the opposite side of the road. From here you can continue to walk past the various boats at the harbourside and you will also pass the little outside market stalls and cross over the road and go under the archway to the old town, but there are also a few other routes you can take once you have got your bearings.Depending on the route you take to the old town it can take anything from 20 mins to 30 minutes to walk and about 15 mins to Mandraki harbour.
The old town is very nice with various shops, bars and you have the street of the knights and the grand palace to visit, you also have a turkish quarter as well as a jewish quarter and the side ally ways are interesting to walk along,
The hotel reception is nice with marble floors and the check in is quick and efficiant, you can also leave a 20 euro deposit for pool towels that you redeem when you return them.
The bedrooms are nice and our room had a view of the church tower, however the door to this room(room 435) did open by itself if other guests slammed their room doors, came back one day to find door open and on one night whilst in bed a guest slammed their door and our door opended by itself, did report this and i am not sure if it was looked at as it happend again on our last day.
The rooms are comfortable with a frfidge, however we were all inclusive and assumed the fridge would have bottled water and soft drinks in there and there is none provided and you are not allowed to take drinks from the bar to your rooms either. We bought some bottled water and soft drinks from the local shop and put them in our rooms.
The food in the hotel is very good with the usual fresh fried eggs, omlettes cooked to order, various cakes and pastries, yogurt and fruit for breakfast, lunch has various salads, soup, fresh meat cooked fruit and cakes, evening meals they cook fresh pizzas, a choice of four to choose from that are nice, there is also various meat dishes and pasta served each day and also a vegetarian option aswell as fish option and also fruit and cakes for sweets, you can also serve yourself to icecream at lunchtimes and evening meals.
I must also say how friendly and efficiant the staff are, espically the restaurant staff, you also get served your drinks in the evening and also your coffee in the morning.
The pool is not very big but big enough for a swim and to cool down and there is also a jacuzzi pool as well. There are sunbeds and it is best to get down early for a good spot.There is not however any childrens activites in the hotel and they only have the main pool and jacuzzi and no childrens pool.
There is evening entertainment in this hotel but we did not stay in to see much of it.
There is also two beaches close to the hotel.
We went with Thomas Cook to this hotel and we could only see our rep via appointment or go to the Grand Hotel round the corner.
We booked a trip to symi with our rep and symi has a nice harbourside with venitian buildings etc that are now shops/restaurants, however this trip cost 40 Euros each, we had to go to the Grand Hotel to be picked up at 7.45 am, we got to the port and got on a ferry and the boat did not sail until 9 am. The journey took just over 2 hrs to get to symi, you have less than 3 hrs there and then you get back on the ferry for another 1hr to a monastry in panorama the other side of the island that is nice to see but takes less than 20mins to look at then you are back on the ferry for the journey back that is again approx 2hrs to get back, If you like to spend lots of time sitting on a ferry then this is the trip for you.
We also took a trip to lindos via boat, we were told it took 2hrs 10 mins to get there and it took 2.30 hrs to get there and then you only get less than 3hrs there, it takes nearly 20mins to walk from the harbour to the town of lindos, you can take a donkey however if you like, the boat journey takes longer to get back as they stop for swimming for 15 mins.

The drinks in Rhodes Town are more expensive than lindos but as we were all inclusive at the hotel, we just bought a couple so that was not so bad and Rhodesold Town really is good at night.
We have enjoyed our stay at this hotel and we would stay here again as the location and the food at this hotel is very good.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jayne63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Just come back from 2 weeks AI at the hotel. Arrived Wed evening about 9pm at hotel only to be told overbooked and will have to go to hotel across the road. We were in a party of 5 people, the single room was ok and he went to his room. We argued with man on reception (who does need glasses to see!) but gave up and went across to other hotel. Receptionist there offered us an appt for 4 people for the night. Def no as our party was myself and my husband and 2 female friends. After more arguing she gave us 2 double rooms eventually.

Went back to Mitsis for drinks and until 12 midnight there were people coming in and getting their rooms straightaway. Anyway stayed in other hotel, went back with cases in the morning and had breakfast. No problem then and got our rooms. Hotel spotlessly clean, nice spacious rooms, we even had a slight sea view. Food ok and plenty choice.

After speaking to other English in hotel who had same problem as us first night, we decided to speak to the manager. No problem with him he let all 5 of us in his office. He apologised and gave us free safe and to keep our rooms at end of stay as we only left at 7pm. Also got drinks in fridge.

We also asked him about dress code for evening dinner. This is one thing that really annoys me, it states on the website men must wear long trousers also there is a sign as you enter the dining room saying the same, but the restaurant manager just let them in wearing shorts all the time. When we asked the hotel manager he said it was a problem but not everyone comes on holiday with a pair of long trousers and he did not feel you could ask them to go out and buy a pair. So what is the point of having a notice up then !!!

Because the hotel is in a town it does not have the facilities other hotels have. There is nowhere to sit outside at night, unless you sit on the wall as all other seats are taken every evening. Whilst we were there it was blowing a gale as soon as you go outside, but thats nothing to do with the hotel! Entertainment poor so quite boring in the evening and nothing to keep you there.

Staff, waitresses and cleaning staff no problems except for 1 guy in bar. My husband went for last orders at 11.40pm for 5 drinks, ordered 4 then barman waved his arms and said no more as it was 11.45 and AI finished. If we wanted to finish our order then would have to put money in the tips. We did tell the manager about that as well and he agreed it should not have happened. He must have spoken to barstaff as did not have any problems after that.

So, to finish, had a brill holiday, but would not go back there. Would not go back to Rhodes again also.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dylan14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north west england
Level Contributor
65 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Just got back from a fortnight stay at the hotel booked through Cosmos as a package. On arrival at 5pm a grumpy receptionist told us and another couple there was "a problem" and we were not staying in the hotel that night, and had to walk to another some 500 metres away with all our cases etc. Never found out the reason why we could not stay,but Cosmos were not aware we were even being moved,so whatever it was it was down to the hotel.

We returned to the hotel first thing the following morning and to be fair we were found a room within half an hour, this being the good bit,the room. A good sized,clean room with views of the sea and the Turkish coast. We found the beds OK but we do like a hard mattress. The rooms are cleaned daily and are the best bit of the hotel.

We were upgraded to all inclusive but didnt use it that much, we prefer to spend our evenings in the local bars, not drinking small beers in a hotel bar listening to people try to sing.

The resturant is a farce, run by the most useless head waiter I have ever come accross. There are signs saying no shorts at dinner and no taking food away, yet depending which country you are from he just laughs and lets them get away with it. He goes missing when people are waiting to be seated leading to queues outside, or people just pushing through and seating themselves. He has his favourites, and places room cards on certain tables,thus reserving the table for them,leaving it empty whilst others search for somewhere to sit. The food is Ok but gets a bit boring after a bit. There is a big play on the wood burning pizza ovens, and the pizzas are good, but its the same three pizzas everyday!!!. By the last few days we'd got fed up of the food, the queing,being barged into whilst queing that we ate all our meals out.

One the last night my wife went to switch the bedside light off and received a shock up her arm, a bang and all the electrics going off. I switched the fuse switch back on and found that the socket for the light was actually hanging away from the wall with all the wiring clearly visable. I took a photo and told reception only to be greeted with a shrug of the shoulders when I pointed out how dangerous shoddy electrics can be.

To sum up, a bad start which the hotel struggled to recover from, the room we had was great, the staff, apart from the bald headed guy on reception and the headwaiter are very friendly. The hotel is in a great position for the beach and the old town, but sorry,wont being staying their again

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lordys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Mitsis Grand Hotel
Mitsis Grand Hotel
#10 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,795 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mitsis La Vita Beach Hotel
Mitsis La Vita Beach Hotel
#52 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
#21 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibiscus Hotel
Ibiscus Hotel
#22 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.4 mi away
Smartline Semiramis City Hotel
Smartline Semiramis City Hotel
#30 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mediterranean
Hotel Mediterranean
#15 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitsis Petit Palais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsis Petit Palais

Property: Mitsis Petit Palais
Address: General Griva 3, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#23 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#25 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mitsis Petit Palais 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Lastminute, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Mitsis Petit Palais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitsis Petit Palais Hotel Rhodes Town
Petit Palais Rhodes Town
Petit Palais Hotel
Mitsis Petit Palais Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing