We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good place to stay if you are going with a ferry early in the morning” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hermes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hermes
Ranked #98 of 129 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
264 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“A good place to stay if you are going with a ferry early in the morning”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

Fine service at the reception. The room was small, clean, and so was the bathroom. The was bed ok and we had a quiet night. No luxury.
Breakfast was fine, but the other people having breakfast were a little special.
If we nead a hotel another time for one night we would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    9
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
2
12
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

Stayed here for a week, in room 304 which must have the best panoramic view of the port. Facing to the east, wonderful sunrise. Breakfast is good, room well cleaned, receptionist is helpful. Controllable air conditioning is great, room safe only at the lobby.
Excellent location, very close to the new market and the bus stops, taxi station, tourist information office and the old town.
Elli beach is a few hundred meters. Next to the entrance there is a cafe bar. Wifi only at the reception hall, but works well.
In the room we had only 1 electric plugin, so we had to unplug the fridge to be able to charge two electric devices at the same time.
All in all, would visit again, enjoyed the stay very much.

Room Tip: Room 304 has probably the best view, the top corner room with huge windows looking at the Mandraki b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cirimidin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castletown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

A nice, basic hotel. We had a large room (304) on the 3rd floor with a panoramic view of the harbour, which was lovely. The down side was that the balcony was very narrow, so a tight squeeze to fit chairs on and difficult to sit out comfortably. Also, the curtains were difficult to pull and kept jamming, so we couldn't enjoy the full benefit of the view from inside.
The shower was a tight squeeze with a curtain which didn't fit, so the floor got soaked every time we used it.
The location was perfect for all amenities and staff were pleasant, but didn't speak great English (and we don't speak Greek) so couldn't always get the information we asked for.
Overall, good value, clean, but very basic accommodation.
Beware: we went off-season and the resort was very quiet, with many places closed or being refurbished for the Summer season.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tilos
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

The Hermes is by no means a posh hotel, but for value for money, convenience and sheer friendliness you can't beat it. Some of the rooms have fantastic views over the harbour, too. Clean, simple, decent-sized rooms, plenty of hot water, and good wifi downstairs in the reception and breakfast area. And they've just replaced the stairway carpets, by the looks of it. You wouldn't book it for your entire holiday but for a couple of nights, it's nearby boats, buses, taxis, shops, restaurants and the old town.

Room Tip: Take your pic- sea view on main road, or quieter at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

We paid 50 euro per night and stayed in a large room on the top floor of the hotel which had a great view of mandraki harbour. Included in the price is daily breakfast and free wifi in the lobby. The bus station to and from the airport is just around the corner from the hotel and the ferry port is across the road. The old town and retail shops are also close- Bersha and Pull & Bear are outside the front door. The hotel was very accommodating in terms of providing travel advice and stored our luggage for several hours after check out with no charge.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank koukla_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

Stayed 4 nights at the Hermes in May 2012 - not sure what the room rate was as my stay was part of a package arranged personally for me by an agent, but the room certainly met all my expectations - clean, spacious and a great breakfast! But the best thing about the Hermes was its location, very close to the Old Town, New Market, bus stations, and the harbour. And two blocks from the only Starbucks I saw while in Greece!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelV830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

I was lucky enough to go during off season, and was given a top floor (3rd) room with sweeping fantastic harbor view, which more than made up for the spartan appearance of the hotel; its amenities are basic, minimal; carpeting, walls, furniture need MAJOR cleaning, refurbishing..It is close to the old town and harbor, as well as only a 5-10 min walk to the eastern city center beaches. Although, the street facing rooms face a children's park and it gets very loud way into 9, 10pm.

Room Tip: room 304 is the BEST one, center, top with wall to celing windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tatun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Hermes
Hotel Hermes
#69 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.0 mi away
Atlantis City Hotel
Atlantis City Hotel
#41 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lydia Hotel
Lydia Hotel
#50 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
#21 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
0.0 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,365 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Parthenon City
Hotel Parthenon City
#93 of 129 in Rhodes Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermes

Property: Hermes
Address: Plastira Street 5, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hermes 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick and LoveHolidays so you can book your Hermes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermes Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing