We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Young adults hotel mainly” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Helena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Helena
Ranked #121 of 129 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Young adults hotel mainly”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

Very Clean , friendly , cheap hotel. Wireless very weak , needs rebooting constantly ,greasy spoon food, low quality, watered down milk, juice aid,pool pleasant, ancient cushions, air conditioning costs extra.filthy lot behind full of alley cats and garbage. Loud party's to be heard.
Easy walk to beach, old towne and the nice shopping area.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scarlettgray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    19
    19
    26
    32
See reviews for
10
33
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lazio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013 via mobile

I spent a week in the Helena Hotel, everything was excellent. The room and the swimming pool fully renovated, a pleasant atmosphere at the bar and a delicious buffet at lunch made our stay at this hotel a great experience!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SereBe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malling, Denmark
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

We got a good offer to stay at this hotel from the 26.5 2013 to the 2.6. 2013. and despite all the former critics at Trip Advisor- we took it. To our great surprise, the hotel was new painted, the room also well painted, no loft damage in the bathroom with new showerroom and a new shower. We got new towels every day and the clening was OK .In the cellar totally new toilets and bathrooms. We got the room high up as we wanted, it was room 508,and with a little view to the sea. Morning buffet was good, greek and international food. Not luxury but there was all what we needed. All in the staff were helpful and very kind. It is a hotel near (15 minutes walk) Windy beach and Ellis beach, so we could choose all after the weatherconditions where we wanted to go.

Room Tip: We only know the room at 5th floor and we were satisfied, heard no critics from other guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank iris361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

I read some reviews and really do not undertand why the negativity.
I stayed one night and the staff was very kind. Miss Lena (Helena) was sweet and helpful.
The room I stayed at was refurbished and just like the pictures, and was clean. I really did enjoy my stay there, it was a nice suprise actually, since I was expecting something different because of the bad comments.. I got much more than I paid for, the value was excellent.
And no need to take any buses at all, everything is very near, it is very well situated.
I will go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Picasso82gr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhodes, Dhodhekanisos, Greece
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

Helena hotel was a wonderful hotel, very very clean and the staff was amazing. They were helpful arranging day trips and sightseeing, and were truly some of the nicest people I've met at any hotel! I highly recommend staying here, the breakfast is very good and for the price you can't find better accomodation.Centrally located, you can walk to the beach or to old town in a matter of minutes. Restaurants, shops, etc are everywhere. I recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ioannhs788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

Stayed in the very low season in December. Reading the reviews, I can not tell if I stayed in the same place. I found the owner Constantine , manager Helena and Daniel from the front desk extremely helpfull and friendly. The reception area was well decorated so was the breakfast. The room was a good value for the price I paid. Hope to get back in summer.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank oscar c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

I've been in this awful hotel with my boyfriend for a couple of days in July 2012.
Let's start with the badly decorated reception and living-room/bar, the old fashioned and dirty rooms (which have nothing to do with the photos you see on the internet), the very dirty and old bathrooms (hairs and dirt all over); the balcony was so small and awful, you cannot imagine.
We ate breakfast in the hall and found out how badly the directress was behaving to the ladies working there. The only thing that can be mentioned as good, is that we felt pitty for the staff, they were so kind, but had to deal with the really bad temper of the directress who was so stupid and impolite. The breakfast was not good, the juice tasted awkward and nothing was fresh..
Moreover, although we had already arranged for day use in order to have a place for our luggage, the director said that will cost 20,00 euros and the stupid directress then said it will cost 30,00 euros. The thing is that finally, they gave our room to another customer, so they told us to leave the room, even though we have arranged for day use, so we had no place for our bags! Unbelievable! She kicked us out of the hotel, despite the fact it was already arranged from the first day we were there! Thank God we had some friends who took care of our stuff!
The directress was so mean and we had a fight. We willl never ever go back to that hotel and I don't think that people like these deserve to have customers. Worst hotel experience of my life!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StefiWernz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rhodes Town hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.0 mi away
Carina Hotel
Carina Hotel
#113 of 129 in Rhodes Town
3.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.3 mi away
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#99 of 129 in Rhodes Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.2 mi away
Europa Hotel Rooms and Studios
Europa Hotel Rooms and Studios
#67 of 129 in Rhodes Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Manousos City Hotel
Manousos City Hotel
#107 of 129 in Rhodes Town
3.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.1 mi away
Esperia Hotel
Esperia Hotel
#68 of 129 in Rhodes Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.0 mi away
Venus Hotel
Venus Hotel
#119 of 129 in Rhodes Town
3.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helena

Property: Hotel Helena
Address: 78 Griva Street, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 129 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Helena 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at a distance of 100m from the beach, close to the Medieval Town & the harbor, the HELENA is a modern fully-renovated hotel disposing 95 rooms all with balcony, TV, A/C, fridge, hair dryer, safety box. The hotel's Snack Bar-Cafe offers its services 24h, with a wide satellite TV, internet stations and free wireless internet. A swimming pool with a sunny terrace is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Helena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helena Hotel Rhodes Town
Hotel Helena Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing