We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fawlty Towers - in Rhodos City. Excellent!”
Review of Hotel Helena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Helena
Ranked #121 of 127 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fawlty Towers - in Rhodos City. Excellent!”
Reviewed 5 July 2010

My husband and I have just spent a nice week at hotel Helena. Since I had been reading the reviews, I was terribly sceptic. But we had a very nice time here. I had forgot my medisine at home, and Mrs Helena fixed it and was very helpful.
Every morning we were welcomed into the breakfastroom by a fantastic kind man with lots of humour and smiles.
The breakfast is not as in hotel Negresso, but good enough, and we could also eat outside in a cool backgarden. Some of the backstreet cats came visiting now and then, and he was treated well by the staff. Excellent!

The rooms are big - and ours had a balcony with two chairs and tabel- big enough for a bottle of nice greek wine(!) and plates. From here we could see the ocean, and a glimps of Turkie and sometimes the ferries.
Our bathroom was very basic, but will probebly be renovated soon.
The location is very good, and just about 15 minutes walk to the fantastic Old Town, and just some minutes til sandy beaches. And 2 sec to a lot of excellent restaurants and tavernas.
We have been living in a lot of different hotels - from 2 stars to 5 stars, and have forgotten most of them. But this is the hotel we'll never forget. Never.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Reiseglad_dame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    19
    20
    27
    34
See reviews for
10
36
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2010

I stayed in the hotel for 3-4 months during my military service in the island, so I was not an actual "tourist". Apart from a couple of friendly guys in the reception the owners were extrenely mercenary, unfriendly and sometimes I had the impression they saw me as a walking euro coin. During my stay there was no heating system (if someones stays during summer this is no prob I guess). I had my laptop and a couple of cloths stolen cause apparently someone got in the room by unlocking the door. I never found my laptop and my stuff and I was informed by the owner that they "had arrested someone who did it". Next day I left from the hotel. The hotel is not in the "romantic" old town you probably see in the photos but in the new one, just a minute walk from the famous "bar street" where mostly English and Scandinavian tourists hang around.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corto-Athens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rhodes Town hotels

workington
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2010

I went there with my girlfriend for our first holiday together. We paid £350 each for b&b which was a fantasic. We wern't expecting much. we got there in the middle of the night and had to walk 80 meters with our bags cos the bus couldnt drive down the road. The B&B food is rubbish, its more continetal. The hotel its self is basic but has a nice pool, the location was perfect for us as it was just around the corner from the beach and has so many resturants on its door step you could eat somewhere different everynight. They all tasted good especally the fish. It was good cos you could sunbathe by the beach then when you wanted some quiet it was back to the hotel pool to relax. The receptionist was a bit grumpy but everyone else who worked there was really nice and helpful. End of the day we really enjoyed this holiday, its a 2* hotel with prime location and thats all we needed to have a fantasic holiday.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorkingtonWkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2009

Stayed there for 2 weeks and had a lovely time. Our room was refurbished, daily cleaned and stuff was very friendly and warming. We enjoyed the swimming pool and the free wireless internet and loved the low prices of cocktails and beer at the bar. And being in the middle of everything, shops, night life, aquarium and 2 lovely beaches made us have a great time. A definite recommendation.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jlatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NORTHERN IRELAND
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2009

Thought reviews where ott until i stayed there we booked in for b+b big mistake unless you like cold beans cold bright pink objects that are meant to be sausages .Dining area was minging when you see the kitchen its hard to hold down your cold beans had to eat our breakfast far away from the helena every day .Also beware of sandwiches and rolls for sale as they are set out in the morning unrefridgerated and are still there last thing at night having never reached a fridge.You have to beg to get your bedding and towels changed with people who have nt a clue what you are asking for so hope you are good at charades lol,the way they service your room had to be laughed at take of the used sheets shake them out and put them back on,who knew lol.Patio doors don t lock bathroom shower to be hand held as there was nothing else to hold it ,balcony the width of a patio chair looking into wasteland ,cracks in the floor did nt know it was an earthquake zone???it really does live up to its reviews could write a book on this one call it hotel of the damned

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank STREAKY12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2008

The island was PERFECT but the hotel was terrible!
The stuff and the owners was very bad people! Terible
service! Dirty!
DONT STAY THERE!




















a

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank panti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2008

Myself, wife and 2 friends have just spent a fortnight at Helena and cannot say we had any bad experiences. The Hotel was adequate for what we wanted :- a room and a bed. It is in need of redecoration, which seems to be happening as our room looked as though it had just been painted. The pool is small, but on the occasions that we used it, it is a very good suntrap. The breakfast was a typical Greek/Continental breakfast. The cleaner came in every day and did a excellent job. The shower floor was flooded at times, but that is the idea of having the drain in the floor so that the water can be removed. The majority of staff were freindly and it is normal for Greeks to "shout" at each other even during a normal conversation. The night porter could do to learn a bit more English, "or is it a case of the English learning Greek". . It would seem that the upper floors are better then the lower ones. The Hotel was situated in a very good location and the bars and restuarants around it all served good Greek food. I would stay there again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Pool
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#92 of 127 in Rhodes Town
65 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#80 of 127 in Rhodes Town
152 reviews
0.1 mi away
Esperia Hotel
Esperia Hotel
#71 of 127 in Rhodes Town
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Manousos City Hotel
Manousos City Hotel
#105 of 127 in Rhodes Town
137 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel International
Hotel International
#55 of 127 in Rhodes Town
133 reviews
0.1 mi away
Europa Hotel Rooms and Studios
Europa Hotel Rooms and Studios
#69 of 127 in Rhodes Town
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helena

Property: Hotel Helena
Address: 78 Griva Street, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 127 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Helena 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at a distance of 100m from the beach, close to the Medieval Town & the harbor, the HELENA is a modern fully-renovated hotel disposing 95 rooms all with balcony, TV, A/C, fridge, hair dryer, safety box. The hotel's Snack Bar-Cafe offers its services 24h, with a wide satellite TV, internet stations and free wireless internet. A swimming pool with a sunny terrace is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Helena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helena Hotel Rhodes Town
Hotel Helena Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing