We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staying in Als” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of ALS Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
ALS Hotel
Ranked #112 of 129 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Schiedam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Staying in Als”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed there several times. This is in Rhodes our favourite hotel. It's a small and simple hotel, with nice rooms. a very friendly staff and located between the aquarium and the old city.
Had about 50 rooms, with only a breakfast service, but with a lot of nice restaurant in the neighbourhood who want to have dinner in a hotel. The port and the old city are in walking distance, # 10 minutes. A nice hotel where the staff knows you by name and not by number. Also a nice bar on street level, one where you find most of the times only locals.

Room Tip: If possible ask for room on the topfloor ( streat side ) gives you a great side over the sea and a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AHAvdB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    14
    13
    14
    7
See reviews for
6
20
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Hotel Als in Rhodos Town City is not worth even the crappy two stars they hold. I had booked a double room for onw week in July 2013 but was first sent a single room. When I asked about this, the lady of the house just informed me that she can´t help me and added that there will be no refund. When I persisted, they agreed to give the room I had paid for in three days. Only after i contacted the travel agent I got my room the next day. No apologies, nothing. The breakfast was terrible, bad coffee, a joke of a juice, croissants from vacuum and yes, tinned peaches in the middle of the high season of fresh fruits. I didn´t bother after the first morning. The rooms are unwelcoming, dirty, worn out. There are no international channels on tv, just cold white walls with marks of god knows what. Cockroaches in the toilet. I understand that with two stars it is modest, but this hotel is just down right terrible. I would never, ever choose this hotel again. It is not even cheap, except as a figure of speech. Only positive thing I can see is location. But there are several others with just as good a location, so I´d say: choose another hotel if you can.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LiisaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rhodes Town hotels

San Diego
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

This hotel is the worlds best kept secret! I would love to shout this from rooftops! Seriously...whoever does yor advertising should be fired and I should be hired! I would advertise like a mad person! The world should know what they're missing!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Rosie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

This is a perfectly ok hotel considering it's 2 star rating. It's clean, close to the beach - some of the rooms have amazing sea views - and the staff is very friendly and helpful. I have stayed here on and off for 15 years and the only little complaint I have is that the breakfast is not that fantastic. But then again, not even in Hotel Mediterranean do you get good orange juice (and yes I have stayed there too). I usually skip breakfast and go to Finncafé, about 20 meters from the hotel. There you get a breakfast not even 5 star hotels in Greece can provide, at a fraction of the cost - fantastic filter coffee and fresh orange juice and a variety of fresh sandwiches and pies. ALS really is the perfect budget alternative. Also the hotel bar is one of the few bars in the area that actually serves original labels. The location of the hotel couldn't be better. It is beautifully situated in a calm square with palm trees with very little traffic. Free wifi (the surrounding hotels charge for their wifi).

Room Tip: Ask for room from the 3rd floor and up with sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank restaurant00009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012 via mobile

What's bad: I didn't expect much from this hotel and was still dissatisfied. As others say you can't expect to get new towels every day. Sometimes we had to bring them down to the reception and ask for new ones. The breakfast is a joke. We tried it a couple of mornings but it was so bad that we gave up and had breakfast in one of the local restaurants instead. Small rooms with small beds. I am only about 173 cm and my feet where hanging out. There are chairs on the terasse but no table.

What's good: location..

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kleiveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skotterud
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

Just came back from a week's stay in the Als hotel.... The location is great; but the hotel lacks personality and comfort. It was certainly not the cheapest hotel, but it seems they are stuck in the past when it comes to breakfast especially. Terrible coffee, awful "juice"! My advice is to visit a nearby cafe; they serve an excellent breakfast and also provides half of the guests at Elli Beach with good baguettes! :)
Als has not been updated in 20 years, or so it seems...
The maid did a very good job of keeping our room clean, changing towels every day, and even bedlinen twice. I don't think we got value for our moeny here, and will not be recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Book a room at the Cactus Hotel.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ronita67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

It is a cheep hotel and I knew that room wouldn't be much but the thing that disappointed me was that there were no clean towels and they picked the old towels from the floor and served them as new. When I went to the reception to ask for new ones the receptionist gave me dirty ones from someone else. Then I went again and he gave me clean ones.. I hope.
But the next day they took the clean ones and again served dirty ones. After that I gave up.

The small room and the small dirty bathroom were no problem, I knew where I was going. But at least I expected clean towels every two days.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jorg N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#84 of 129 in Rhodes Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carina Hotel
Carina Hotel
#113 of 129 in Rhodes Town
3.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Season Colorado Hotel
Four Season Colorado Hotel
#96 of 129 in Rhodes Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Esperia Hotel
Esperia Hotel
#67 of 129 in Rhodes Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Steve Apartments
#12 of 47 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.1 mi away
Island Boutique Hotel
Island Boutique Hotel
#54 of 129 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ALS Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ALS Hotel

Property: ALS Hotel
Address: 10, King Paul Square, Rhodes Town 851 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — ALS Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick and Booking.com so you can book your ALS Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Als Hotel Rhodes Town
ALS Hotel Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing