We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Athena
Nearby Hotels
Belair Beach Hotel(Rhodes Town)(Great Value!)
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$197
US$185
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$106
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Mediterranean(Rhodes Town)
US$106
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Dionysos Hotel(Rhodes Town)(Great Value!)
US$53
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$233
US$217
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agla Hotel(Rhodes Town)(Great Value!)
US$61
US$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Sylvia Hotel(Rhodes Town)(Great Value!)
US$53
US$42
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oceanis Hotel(Rhodes Town)
US$87
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sirene Beach Hotel(Rhodes Town)
US$104
US$96
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (180)
Filter reviews
180 results
Traveller rating
26
74
48
22
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
74
48
22
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice hotelwindy beachbig balconyold townbar streetmandraki harbourair conditioningreceptionistnoiserhodeschristossunbeds
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 180 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2010

I had an insect problem in my room - silver tails crawling out of the wardrobe and a green cockroach on the bed (I didn't know green cockroaches existed until this hotel and google). Also I always clean the toilet seat with a wipe at every hotel and this one left the wipe with a brownish tinge.
The hotel is located about 2 minutes walk to the beach - but on the windy side. It is about 15 minutes walk to the nicer beachside (Elli beach) and to Old town. But close to bar street (which was not such a positive in my mind as I found the bars in old town much nicer).
The staff were extremely friendly and went out of their way to help.
Wifi and breakfast are not included.
Overall, cheap, decent hotel. They just need to be cleaner.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pinchi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2010

fantastic holidays i rutern back for sure again and i recommend it to all my friends

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vasilis30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2008

We stayed at the Athena in the middle of June. The weather was gorgeous without being too crowded.

The hotel is spotlessly clean. Our room looked out over the street which wasn’t overly noisy but allowed for plenty of people watching.

The pool area is fairly small and can be quite shaded. Apart from sometimes in the middle of the day you could always find a spare sun bed. We used to often come back to the hotel around 4pm and enjoy a swim and a relax on the sun bed with no problem at all.

We were B&B and found the breakfast perfectly adequate as Greek breakfast go.

The hotel is about 5 mins from the “windy” beach and about 15mins around the peninsula from Rhodes towns other beach where the wind just disappears? We thought the beaches “ok”.They are very steep and can be very pebbly ,not brilliant for young children.

If you want a much more sandy beach that gently shelves into the sea try Falaraki beach . We used it several times and again found it relaxing , yes Falaraki relaxing !! plenty of beds available with terrific beach bars just behind you.. Falaraki is a 35min bus ride away and cost 2euro each way.

Rhodes Town is large. We were there for two weeks and we were still finding new streets and shops each day. You can crudely divide it into 3 areas. The Hotels , tourist bars and restaurants , a modern town with all the large shops you could want, and the old town.

The Old town is stunningly beautiful. You walk around all these narrow streets with numerous bars and restaurants . Again it’s easy to get lost as you walk down a street you think you recognise only to find it leads you to an area you haven’t seen before.

A word of warning....... The old town can be a lot more expensive (14 euros for 2 drinks) than the main town restaurants ,but after all you’re paying for the surroundings ,

We can recommend the boat trip to Symi and a day trip to Marmaris Turkey all bookable at the harbour , take the fast ferry its worth the couple of extra euros

Steve and Dawn (49 & 47)

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Planky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christos P, Διευθυντής at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2015

Thank you very much for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2008

Basically more the adequate for the job.
Rooms basic, self catering is a squeeze as converted hotel room but functional. Showers etc great. Location excellent. Staff excellent, pool okay (shady sometimes) Food cack but you're surrounded by great restaurants anyway! Cleaners good, Lifts scarey but working okay.
Overall don't be frightened to go for this one its good value and comfortable enough to make it a winner. Enjoy Rhodes its mint!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank chrisuk1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christos P, Διευθυντής at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2015

Thank you very much for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2008

We have just returned from a early break and found the Athena to be great value for money. Staying in one of the smaller apartments it was fine for the two of us & it had all you needed for preparing snacks/breakfast & with Taverna's & bars close by. Although we had two small problems, (the kettle did not work & balcony door would not lock) on reporting them to reception both where fixed within hours. The staff where friendly & helpful, with the beautiful Old Town & harbour (cheaper to book boat trips direct in the harbour than with the rep's) just 10 minutes walk away & the beaches (not sand) even nearer. We look forward to returning maybe trying the end of the year.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank figgles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews