We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, but won't be back”
Review of Hotel Athena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Athena
Ranked #79 of 127 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ok, but won't be back”
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Location was good, although staff were very rude, unfriendly and unhelpful, even speaking greek to them made no difference. It was ok accomodation, but I was happy to be out of there after 3 long nights!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CatherineK255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    60
    43
    18
    7
See reviews for
25
68
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We were 5 girls in age of 18,19 from Norway, staying at Athena hotel. It was sheep and near the nightlife and beach. Our room was fine, ofc not the best, but for the price and how little we staid in the room it was good. The nightlife was just around the corner, perfect if you forgot something in your room, need more money og somthing. Just walk 2 min, and you are there ! Good resturants around the hotel, and good take away pizza just 1 min from the hotel :-) If you like swedish people, rhodos city is perfect, because there are like more swedish then greeks, I promise. And 90% of them work at the clubs, resturant and activities.. So be ready to have 100 swedish guys or girls after you, selling tickets to stuff. Some of them are very fun !!! we went to everything. Pool party was the most boring, dont buy those tickets. It is not tipical movie pool party. Everybody are just sitting on the grass, having one drink free, and boring , dry food. We where there for like 30 min, then left. dont waste money on this. But something was fun, but dont remember what they called it, but one night you went from bar to bar , got one shot on each bar for free. Another night there where free drink from 9-12, THAT WAS NIIICE ! recomende it !! :-D but now back to Athena ::: Many teenagers on the hotel, i promise you get to know you neighbour, because on the balcony it is PARTYYYY :-) :-) But dont bee too loaud on the evening, dont want to be troin out .....

Room Tip: if you like to party, choose a room there you can "see" the ocean. Actually you cant see t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helene s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

I have stayed 7 times at this hotel, always admired its no frills but clean friendly place, but on this return after 2 years noticed its has lost its sparkle for me, although there was maids coming in daily and changing the towels and making the beds no floor washing was done, there were stains on curtaining and carpets, they was breakfast available but it did"nt look very nice and no vierity, in the room the electric plug socket was loose i told reception but nothing got done, Infairness all the staff were most helpful and friendly some which i have known for years, i will never stay at this hotel again, but will return some times to rhodes town itself.

Room Tip: no sea views from this hotel but all rooms have lovely outlooks on to the bright lighted street of r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mo-pearman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

This hotel is in a great location right across the streeet from the beach, resturants and grocery store but that's all it's got going for it. The day staff were okay but there is a guy who worked at the desk at night who was very helpful and knowledgeable about the island and wanted to tell guests all about it.
Breakfast was good buffet style.
The rooms were alright. Nothing fancy and you could hear your neighbor through the thin walls. If you want a cheap stay this is it. But other wise I would choose another hotel as there are many in the same location.

Room Tip: When booking ask for a ocean view room they maybe better then back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank islandbcgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2010

I had an insect problem in my room - silver tails crawling out of the wardrobe and a green cockroach on the bed (I didn't know green cockroaches existed until this hotel and google). Also I always clean the toilet seat with a wipe at every hotel and this one left the wipe with a brownish tinge.
The hotel is located about 2 minutes walk to the beach - but on the windy side. It is about 15 minutes walk to the nicer beachside (Elli beach) and to Old town. But close to bar street (which was not such a positive in my mind as I found the bars in old town much nicer).
The staff were extremely friendly and went out of their way to help.
Wifi and breakfast are not included.
Overall, cheap, decent hotel. They just need to be cleaner.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pinchi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2010

fantastic holidays i rutern back for sure again and i recommend it to all my friends

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vasilis30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trowbridge Wiltshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2008

We stayed at the Athena in the middle of June. The weather was gorgeous without being too crowded.

The hotel is spotlessly clean. Our room looked out over the street which wasn’t overly noisy but allowed for plenty of people watching.

The pool area is fairly small and can be quite shaded. Apart from sometimes in the middle of the day you could always find a spare sun bed. We used to often come back to the hotel around 4pm and enjoy a swim and a relax on the sun bed with no problem at all.

We were B&B and found the breakfast perfectly adequate as Greek breakfast go.

The hotel is about 5 mins from the “windy” beach and about 15mins around the peninsula from Rhodes towns other beach where the wind just disappears? We thought the beaches “ok”.They are very steep and can be very pebbly ,not brilliant for young children.

If you want a much more sandy beach that gently shelves into the sea try Falaraki beach . We used it several times and again found it relaxing , yes Falaraki relaxing !! plenty of beds available with terrific beach bars just behind you.. Falaraki is a 35min bus ride away and cost 2euro each way.

Rhodes Town is large. We were there for two weeks and we were still finding new streets and shops each day. You can crudely divide it into 3 areas. The Hotels , tourist bars and restaurants , a modern town with all the large shops you could want, and the old town.

The Old town is stunningly beautiful. You walk around all these narrow streets with numerous bars and restaurants . Again it’s easy to get lost as you walk down a street you think you recognise only to find it leads you to an area you haven’t seen before.

A word of warning....... The old town can be a lot more expensive (14 euros for 2 drinks) than the main town restaurants ,but after all you’re paying for the surroundings ,

We can recommend the boat trip to Symi and a day trip to Marmaris Turkey all bookable at the harbour , take the fast ferry its worth the couple of extra euros

Steve and Dawn (49 & 47)

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — shaded pooll
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Planky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christos P, Διευθυντής at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, 24 October 2015
Thank you very much for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Esperia Hotel
Esperia Hotel
#71 of 127 in Rhodes Town
199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Europa Hotel Rooms and Studios
Europa Hotel Rooms and Studios
#69 of 127 in Rhodes Town
209 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alexia Premier City Hotel
Alexia Premier City Hotel
#49 of 127 in Rhodes Town
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Manousos City Hotel
Manousos City Hotel
#105 of 127 in Rhodes Town
137 reviews
0.2 mi away
Angela Suites + Lobby
Angela Suites + Lobby
#63 of 127 in Rhodes Town
225 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#90 of 127 in Rhodes Town
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Athena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Athena

Property: Hotel Athena
Address: 27, G.Leontos Str, Rhodes Town 851 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 127 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Athena 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Athena Hotel is a beautiful three star hotel in the center of Rhodes Town. Located only fifty meters from Elli beach and in short distance from the luxurious Casino, the Medieval city of Rhodes, the Hydro-biological Aquarium, the Museum, the Palace of the Knights, and the nightlife of Orfanidou Bar street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Athena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Rhodes Town
Hotel Athena Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing