We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (206)
Filter reviews
206 results
Traveller rating
31
84
54
26
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
31
84
54
26
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice hotel old town bar street clean rooms pool area balcony fridge housekeeper sunbathing sea
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 206 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Hotel was nice and clean, room was small but it wasn't a problem. There was a balcony, view wasn't very nice - other hotel was so close. Breakfast was same everyday, bread, eggs, cheese, ham, juice etc.
Location is very nice, short walk to the beach and close to the center of town.
Old town is amazing.

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maitai_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We always stay in the Mandilara area of the new town, and having tried most of the hotels (and reviewed them) on here the Athena is definitely the best.

The fixtures and fittings and general decor etc is much newer than some of the 'tired' hotels. Nice and clean, great location (obviously), good sized rooms and balcony, decent bathroom, good lift. Nice bar area, friendly staff. Pool much better than the photos suggest. A decent size and quite deep. Plenty of loungers and you can get the sun most of the day if you move around a bit.

Air con is free (a rarity in hotels in this area). Safety deposit boxes the only 'payable'.

Room tip: Ask for a room on the Leontos street side, preferable a corner room onto Mandilara on a high floor (see and town views)
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MrsVin73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Nice hotel with a very nice location. Close to the beach and nightlife of rhodes. Hotel staff is very kind and helpfull? Rooms are clean? A little bit walk from the old city of rhodes altough we have enjoyed the walk by seaside

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ghostwhisperer76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Very close to the beach. There are good restaurants and shops just in the neighbourhood. If you prefer the Old Town for sightseeing or dinner, it is 10 minutes walking distance. Parking may be a very little problem; but you can find a suitable place in one or two blocks way. The pool and bar is enjoyable. You may have good time wihout leaving the hotel and around also..

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BurakBalci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We stayed here in the self-catering part of the hotel. The season hadn't really begun so it was very quiet. We had a few hiccups but the handyman came very quickly and rectified the problems.Receptionist obviously didn't want to be there, we were mostly greeted with a curt nod.The pool was small and despite it being early season we failed to get a bed in the sun any day.Luckily we didn't want to cook in our room as the facilities were pretty basic and the half size fridge was rather grubby. All in all it served it's purpose and I've stayed in worse hotels!

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank piggy694Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews