We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, very helpful stuff but actually a bit of a dump”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Europa Hotel Rooms and Studios
Ranked #67 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Reviewed 11 September 2010

The staff here are lovely and very helpful and the location is great. One minute to a beach, it is on the bus route and a 20 minute walk to the old town.

The rooms are a bit gruby, the beds are really uncomfortable and the air-conditioning units make a terrible noise but I guess you get what you pay for. The website is misleading - there is no way this hotel has been recently renovated!!

Breakfast was basic but OK.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Catherine27UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2010

This is by far the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. This hotel is old, run down, dirty and any resemblance between the photos on its website and reality is accidental. The matresses on the beds were old, hard and lumpy. The bathroom was dirty, the shower flooded the floor, the ceiling was starting to fall in, the bathroom door stuck locking you in, the pool surrounds were dirty & slimey with mould and the dining room was filthy.
To make matters worse the hotel backs onto the main nightclub area and the noise/music is loud until about 5am EVERY morning - don't expect any sleep. During the day the pool was occupied by drunken young German males who spat, smoked and drank in the pool, spilling beer & cigarette ash in the water. We ended up with this hotel as part of a tour package - made written complaint to hotel manager on departure and will be advising the tour operator in Australia accordingly - in short there is no way this place is 3 star and a proper review would be luck to rate it 1 star. It is a dump and I would sleep in the street before I stayed here again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
45  Thank philnterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2010

I would advise any couples or people wanting a fairly quiet night in their hotel room to avoid this one! It's situated next to the main bar street in Rhodes Town and is popular among large groups of Scandinavian males and females who bring their partying attitude back into the hotel at 2,3, and 4am in the mornings. My main gripe is the lack of any consideration shown by other guests who would constantly be running along hallways, banging doors and screaming at the top of their voices. A sign was eventually put up in the main lift advising people to contact reception if they heard any noises at night but it's unclear if anything would be done about the noise even if contact is made. There is also a place called 'deelite' opposite the main entrance which proved very popular among the said groups. These people just couldn't keep quiet when talking, constantly shouting at all times. A bin lorry could then be heard around 5am everyday clearing the strip. Closing the balcony door didn't stop all of the noise and it was too hot to keep closed. There is air conditioning but this is an added expense of 4E per night (during the low-peak season) Rooms are ok - wasn't impressed by the strange insects coming in through the drainage hole in the floor of the bathroom though! Maid service was good and sheets and towels were changed everyday. Breakfast in mornings also good but they don't check to see which guests have paid for this and who hasn't! Summary is that I would recommend this if you are a young party going person who has no intention of sleeping during the night, to anyone else, I'd say find another hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank BoroboyAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2010

Just got back from a wonderful stay in Greece and to be honest I don't think I have any complaints about the hotel. I paid for a single standard room and got a double studio, the place was clean , because I went during the quite season for the first week of my stay breakfast was room service.
All in all I had an excellent stay there, and if when I go back to Greece if I stay in Rhodes than I'll definitely be choosing this hotel. Just a warning to some of the older travellers/ those who sleep through the night (unlike me) some of the rooms do back out onto bar street and it does get pretty noisy, loud music and people shouting, from about 9pm to 4am, so if you don't like that type of thing you might want to pick another, otherwise if like me you love the nightlife then this hotel is in the perfect location for you to get blind drunk and be able to stagger back to your hotel bare foot!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 98mt89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2010

I really like this hotel. They treated me great and I found the location was really nice for what I wanted. Close to a whole lot of restaurants and bars. A quick trip from the airport and a short stroll to Old Town. I paid somethign like 40 -45 Euro a night for my own room, with a TV, fridge, hair dryer, en suite bathroom.. Yea, it was pretty sweet. I would definitely stay here again. It's not glamour, llike some of the boutiques in Old Town, but for a clean place with good loaction and a good buffet breakfast, this would always work.

Stayed: June 2008, travelled solo
3  Thank firebrand3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2009

"recently fully renovated" - said the travel agency brochure - not in this life time! the position was good, but everything else woeful. the room stank of mould the the bathroom and cupboards were full off it and the old furniture was rescued from some monestery a few hundred yrs ago. reception staff after daylight respond with standard " i'm not allowed to make a decision - you'll have to wait till tomorrow for manager". yes it has a mini market attached but you can buy bottled water 10 yards away for 1/5th the price. forget b'fast - full cooked b'fast available for 1/2 the price within 50yds. will attach photos once downloaded off camera, but give it a miss.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank oztraveller2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2009

If you think you go there to have a 2 week rest, you must be wrong!!! The hotel is not very clean (crawling insect inside a drawer and another one taking a ride inside the restaurant), the noice from the bars around th corner almost killed me, and I couldn't sleep at night because of it!!! The hotel is full of Scandinavian teenagers, shouting and screaming just like lunatics all night long, running to and fro in the corridors!! The receptionist didn't do anything to stop this, even if I complained!!! STAY AWAY!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ellinika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Parthenon City
Hotel Parthenon City
#108 of 126 in Rhodes Town
374 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nafsika Hotel
Nafsika Hotel
#57 of 126 in Rhodes Town
140 reviews
0.0 mi away
Africa Hotel
Africa Hotel
#68 of 126 in Rhodes Town
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
770.0 mi away
Venus Hotel
Venus Hotel
#118 of 126 in Rhodes Town
136 reviews
0.2 mi away
Angela Suites + Lobby
Angela Suites + Lobby
#61 of 126 in Rhodes Town
259 reviews
1181.7 mi away
Manousos City Hotel
Manousos City Hotel
#100 of 126 in Rhodes Town
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europa Hotel Rooms and Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa Hotel Rooms and Studios

Address: Eikostis Ogdois Oktovriou 94, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range: £27 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Europa Hotel Rooms and Studios 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Europa Hotel is located in the center of Rhodes Town directly opposite from Psaropoula beach which is one of the cleanest beaches on the Island. The hotel offers great self-catering studios and guest rooms for 1up to 3 persons all decorated with excellent modern Mediterranean style with tiled floors and balconies. Most of them overlooking to the sea or to swimming pool. The hotel's ideal location allows guests easy access to all amenities and local sightseeing . Hotel guests will be within walking distance at Mandraki Harbor, the Casino Rodos , the historic Medieval Old Town ,the Palace of the Grand Masters, the Archaeology Museum, the Rhodes National Theatre, and Rhodes Aquarium. The hotel is also very close to a large variety of restaurants, bars, shops , banks etc. Guests can easily reach the hotel by public transport or taxi. Outside the hotel there is bus and taxi station. It is located 15 km from Diagoras International Airport and 1.5 km from the commercial port of Rhodes. The Europa Hotel staff provides friendly and professional service, which will assure guests a comfortable and memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Europa Hotel Rooms and Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Rhodes Town
Europa Hotel Rooms And Studios Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing