We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Athineon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Athineon Hotel
Ranked #47 of 129 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Tampere
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

I've stayed at this hotel for countless times (perhaps about 10 times) and I'd recommend this hotel for anyone going to Rhodos!

They have renovated the hotel a few years ago and the lobby and the pool area look beautiful now. Still, the hotel isn't quite worth 5 stars so it isn't quite a luxury hotel but definitely a good hotel for a holiday. The price isn't the cheapest but it really isn't the most expensive.
I think the location is quite nice even though it isn't right next to the new town because it is right next to the old town. The staff of the hotel are really friendly and polite!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Toni N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christos P, Manager at Athineon Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2013
Than you for choosing our hotel for your vacations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    58
    16
    9
    2
See reviews for
41
58
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

My stay at the hotel was really good. The 2room appartement is big enough for 4 persons although the balcony is small 4x1 m with sea view. The hotel is on walking distance from the old town (100m) and ferry to other islands and turkey (400m). If you like shopping and partying i would recommend the new north town. I would recommend this hotel to peoplewho like to visit the ancient sites and enjoy a quiet holiday.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Aad82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

The hotel is just 200m from the old town of Kos. It has a great pool where you can spend your time if you don't want to travel to the beaches outside Rhodes.
The stuff is friendly. The rooms are big although I would not rate this hotel 5 stars.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tilo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

To start with the hotel is for some reason rated 5 stars but even on a Greek scale it is not even 4. Our travel agency advertised it as 3+ which certainly is OK. The rooms are basic small apartments which is very convenient when you have children with you. The interior lacks quality and fine-tuning especially in the bathroom. The mattresses were worn out and bad to sleep in. You also need be sure not to get our room (120) since this one and probably also 119 have just a not so nice view into the neighbour’s kitchen. Rooms facing the street will have to deal with noise from the (one way) traffic and from the open ait theatre close by.
The hotel itself is very well situated just a couple of minutes walk from the medieval town and has as such good access to restaurants and shopping. There is a very good tavern just around the corner facing the harbour which I can recommend. This harbour has also a beach which is quite interesting. It is not official (no showers and not cleaned often) but it has far better sand than the famous overcrowded Elli (which has no sand at all). The Athineon is the only hotel around this area which makes it much quieter than the dreadful north of Rhodes. The hotel is also not too big so there is bearable number of customers around, mostly Scandinavian-Dutch. This can be seen so far that you can enjoy your breakfast in peace and you most likely will get a sun chair when you want it. For both though I must say that the breakfast was very basic and never changed and at least a third of the sun chairs were broken. The pool however was very usable. With about 8x16 meter and a small part for children plus a 3 meter deep part to jump in it serves your cooling needs perfectly. A bar close to the pool also provides the needed drinks. The lobby of the hotel is very open and continues to the bar and the restaurant of the hotel. It further offers billiard and table tennis as well as a couple of TVs and computers. You can also access the wifi for free in the lobby. For those seeking for a cool place to wait for the bus I must disappoint you. There is no air conditioned place but the hotel rooms. The hotel offers furthermore a small super market where you can buy all necessary (also to make your own breakfast), a small gym and a sauna. For need to shop more versatile there is a bigger supermarket about 400 m away (Canada road).

Room Tip: Do not take rooms 120 or 119. Rooms 101, 102 and 103 (perhaps also 201, 202 and 203) will face the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank IndianaKari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012 via mobile

Sorry but This hotel is definitely not 5 stars... 3 at best. Ok location, basic rooms, outdated decor, and uncomfortable beds. With so many options around I would not go back to this hotel...waste of money

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank viajeraTR86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
131 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

We stayed there for one night in mid-September before heading to Patmos and decided to come back before our return flight to the US. Its biggest advantage is location: Stay here if you want to be close to the old town (less than 5 minute walk) and you do not want to stay in an old, although "boutique" hotel in the old town. The AC works great as does the internet. It has a very nice and warm pool, the room (apartment really) is spacious and clean, the bathroom is OK and the breakfast is OK as well. It would probably rate as 3* in the US. Service was great as well.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank STEVE A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

My family and i stayed at the Athineon in June 2011 for 5 nights and found it great. Apartment we stayed in had an abundance of room for myself, my husband and my 2 teenage boys. They were serviced daily by the very happy and very helpful cleaners (it was great to see cleaners that took pride in their jobs). The pool and surrounding area was always clean and the bar and waitstaff were great. It was in walking distance to the port, the Old Town and the Mandraki. The whole time we were there we didn’t need to catch a Taxi as we walked it everywhere.
I would definately recommend it to families.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiana72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.7 mi away
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
#12 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
3.1 mi away
Villa Di Mare Luxury Suites
Villa Di Mare Luxury Suites
#48 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bellevue Suites Hotel
Bellevue Suites Hotel
#43 of 129 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Dionysos Hotel
Dionysos Hotel
#14 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mitsis Grand Hotel
Mitsis Grand Hotel
#10 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,795 reviews
0.3 mi away
In Camera Art Boutique Hotel
In Camera Art Boutique Hotel
#2 of 129 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athineon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athineon Hotel

Property: Athineon Hotel
Address: 17 Vironos, Rhodes Town 851 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
#31 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Athineon Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Athineon is located in Rhodes city, five minutes’ walk from the historic quarter, the medieval city, the port and the new yachting marina of Rhodes. The hotel offers 70 beautiful apartments 46sqr meter each with view to the old town, the harbor or the swimming pool and the hotel gardens. Each unit consists of one large bedroom and separate living room with private balconies and kitchen and bathroom. All the rooms features air condition, satellite TV, direct dial telephone line, safe and WIFI (free of charge) and cable internet connection. The master bedroom has two single beds attached to each other, private desk with large mirror, side tables and night reading lamps, as well as a double wardrobe. The living room has two sofa beds a private desk with mirror, side tables and a large wardrobe and suitcase desk. Both rooms have balcony with soundproof double glazed windows. The kitchen is separated from the living room and the bedroom and it is fully equipped with all the cooking facilities (cooking ring, coffee machine, fridge etc) a dinner table and chairs. All the areas are with tiles as well as the bathroom which features a bathtub, WC, hairdryer, bathrobes and complimentary amenities. Athineon Hotel offers 24hours reception and concierge facilities, air - travel ticketing and rent a car options. There is a large swimming pool area with combined pool bar, sitting area with sun beds, a children’s playground area, sauna and gym, pool table, ping pong, table games, an internet corner with computers. The a la cart restaurant offer a great variety of Greek and international specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and LoveHolidays so you can book your Athineon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athineon Hotel Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing