We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad value. Location slightly out” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Athineon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Athineon Hotel
Ranked #47 of 129 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not bad value. Location slightly out”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Good to have separate large room. Breakfast was good. Nice big pool area and good cocktails. Could do with a freshen up in decor. Recommend for price and service. Supermarket is a plus. Free fruit went down well in room

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hellasgreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    58
    16
    9
    2
See reviews for
41
58
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

We booked directly with the hotel via the internet. On arrival in the late evening we were allocated a room on the second floor. The evening receptionist told us that we might be able to move to a higher floor for a better view. Our second floor rooms were ok but not particularly clean (brown stains at the bottom of the curtains) and we had only a partial view of the Commercial Harbour. The rest of our view was blocked by a building. We didn't unpack but it took 4 days to move us which did affect our holiday a bit in that we didn't feel settled. When we were moved to the 4th floor the view was worth the wait. We had a tree top level view of the old town the commercial harbour in full and we could see the tops of the sailing boats in the neighbouring harbour. It was wonderful to sit on the shady balcony watching the ferries and cruise ships come and go. This hotel really should have been excellent but it just didn't quite make it. From poor water pressure which needed a handyman to come and try to improve to a very basic kitchen area it just felt like an update was needed. That said good air con and rooms cleaned every day were a real plus. The pool area was fine although many of the sun loungers were broken so again I felt some upkeep was needed. We appeared to be the only Brits in the hotel and there was no tourist information available in English (probably the first time I have ever come across this). The restaurant which appeared empty most of the time (never a good sign in a full hotel) was basic and expensive. There is an pricey small shop for basic produce but the nearest main shops were some walk away. The best thing for us though was the staff. Jonny in the bar really made us feel welcome and that made our stay that little bit better. Great location for access to the walled city but as I say this hotel would benefit greatly from an update.

Room Tip: The higher up the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Fi0na130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inkoo, Finland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

Nice city hotel right by the old town and marina. Closest shops and restaurants are in the old town.
Rooms are good size, two room apartments. Fits good family of 4.
Hotel has nice pool area.
There is also good change for sports in this hotel: excellent gym in neighbourg (6€/visit), nice half hour run to go arround the old town and in the park close by there is a publig gym.
Good breackfast.
We had a nice two weeks in this hotel!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mia r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

Not sure why it states 5 star . 3 at most BUT great staff, great location, very clean and ok rooms for 3 star. Really enjoyed the hotel. Only complaint is breakfast which was poor. Ok, id expect poor bacon, sausage and eggs but not Instant coffee and Tasteless bread and No real fruit juice. id definitely consider going again though just for location and friendly helpful staff.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paricho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

I've stayed at this hotel for countless times (perhaps about 10 times) and I'd recommend this hotel for anyone going to Rhodos!

They have renovated the hotel a few years ago and the lobby and the pool area look beautiful now. Still, the hotel isn't quite worth 5 stars so it isn't quite a luxury hotel but definitely a good hotel for a holiday. The price isn't the cheapest but it really isn't the most expensive.
I think the location is quite nice even though it isn't right next to the new town because it is right next to the old town. The staff of the hotel are really friendly and polite!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Toni N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christos P, Manager at Athineon Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2013
Than you for choosing our hotel for your vacations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

My stay at the hotel was really good. The 2room appartement is big enough for 4 persons although the balcony is small 4x1 m with sea view. The hotel is on walking distance from the old town (100m) and ferry to other islands and turkey (400m). If you like shopping and partying i would recommend the new north town. I would recommend this hotel to peoplewho like to visit the ancient sites and enjoy a quiet holiday.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Aad82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

The hotel is just 200m from the old town of Kos. It has a great pool where you can spend your time if you don't want to travel to the beaches outside Rhodes.
The stuff is friendly. The rooms are big although I would not rate this hotel 5 stars.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tilo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.7 mi away
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
#11 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
3.1 mi away
Villa Di Mare Luxury Suites
Villa Di Mare Luxury Suites
#48 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bellevue Suites Hotel
Bellevue Suites Hotel
#43 of 129 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Dionysos Hotel
Dionysos Hotel
#14 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mitsis Grand Hotel
Mitsis Grand Hotel
#10 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,795 reviews
0.3 mi away
In Camera Art Boutique Hotel
In Camera Art Boutique Hotel
#2 of 129 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athineon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athineon Hotel

Property: Athineon Hotel
Address: 17 Vironos, Rhodes Town 851 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
#29 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Athineon Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Athineon is located in Rhodes city, five minutes’ walk from the historic quarter, the medieval city, the port and the new yachting marina of Rhodes. The hotel offers 70 beautiful apartments 46sqr meter each with view to the old town, the harbor or the swimming pool and the hotel gardens. Each unit consists of one large bedroom and separate living room with private balconies and kitchen and bathroom. All the rooms features air condition, satellite TV, direct dial telephone line, safe and WIFI (free of charge) and cable internet connection. The master bedroom has two single beds attached to each other, private desk with large mirror, side tables and night reading lamps, as well as a double wardrobe. The living room has two sofa beds a private desk with mirror, side tables and a large wardrobe and suitcase desk. Both rooms have balcony with soundproof double glazed windows. The kitchen is separated from the living room and the bedroom and it is fully equipped with all the cooking facilities (cooking ring, coffee machine, fridge etc) a dinner table and chairs. All the areas are with tiles as well as the bathroom which features a bathtub, WC, hairdryer, bathrobes and complimentary amenities. Athineon Hotel offers 24hours reception and concierge facilities, air - travel ticketing and rent a car options. There is a large swimming pool area with combined pool bar, sitting area with sun beds, a children’s playground area, sauna and gym, pool table, ping pong, table games, an internet corner with computers. The a la cart restaurant offer a great variety of Greek and international specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays and Odigeo so you can book your Athineon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athineon Hotel Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing