We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Athineon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Athineon Hotel
Ranked #47 of 129 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

This hotel is located close to the harbour with cruise liners and island ferries within view. It is also a stones throw from the old town with its history, shops and tavernas. The hotel is modern with large room, we'll furnished and clean. Facilities include swimming pool with sun beds etc and a restaurant and bar.
The beach is very close.
The only down side is its close proximity to a busy road.

Room Tip: 415 is a good room if you like a view of the harbour and the sea. It's on the top floor so road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tim w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    58
    16
    9
    2
See reviews for
41
58
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aalborg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Good location, reception staff not very service- minded and A little condecending.
Could not manage to give us our room or any other room a few extra hours on departure day, though given a fourthnight notice of our wish.
Do not choose this hotel if you might come to need a little extra service.
And by the way, the price for their inconvenience was not a matter for us. We fully recommend Rhodes Town but spend a little more money on a nettet hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tagenorvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

I have mixed feelings about the Athineon hotel, on one hand the location is very convenient for visiting the old town but on the other hand rather far from the shopping and restaurant areas of the modern part of the city and the beaches. The hotel is situated half a block from the sea. It is a bit wore and torn but the two room suites are spacious with a large balcony. Most of the balconies have very little privacy so if that is important you should ask for a room with a street view which also is a view to the harbour. The Vironos Street, though, is very busy with a lot of traffic. Rooms on the 4th floor might be the best. The hotel offers a meal plan which we did not try. We made our own breakfast using the kitchenette facilities which included a coffee maker, a cooking plate and utensils etc. The fridge was also large enough to store our food and drinks.
The pool area is large with lots of sun all day and plenty of sunbeds. No pool towels are offered so bring your own.
The hotel staff was OK, not over friendly but always helpful if you needed assistance.
There is a basic supermarket on the ground floor but you will find a large one a few blocks up the Kanada Street and also a bakery and a fruit and vegetable store. Every Thursday from appr. 8 am to 2 pm there is a market up the Vironos Street, where farmers sell fruit and vegetables.

Room Tip: Not a corner room e.g. 110, 210, 310, 410, there is no privacy if you wish to chill out on you balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Falcoperegrinus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljungbyholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Nice hotell with clean, big aparthements. The people who worked there were very professional. The negative were the beds - not comfortable - and the equipment in the kitchen were poorly. And it was a bit too far from the beach to walk every day.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mia-Leif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

We went to Rhodes in October which is the end of the tourist season and therefore looked for a place which was close to Rhodes City to have something to do in case the weather would not be nice. (Imagine you sit in a far off beach hotel then, that would be boring or at least you would need a car or taxi each day to get away). So basically our choice was purely made because of the location of this hotel and we were positively surprised.The closed off pool area was nice and the service down there was great. Therefore I recommend this hotel if you want to combine sightseeing, shopping, culture and relaxing at the pool all at the same place.

The room was very spacious and the bed was comfortable. The only thing to criticise would be that room service did not wash our used glasses. We had a small kitchenette in there with utensils and a dish brush but no detergent.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bettina Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
173 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

The hotel is excellent. Big and clean room and a great breakfest. The pool is amazing. Very confortable and the employees are very nice people. It offers a little market aside it. I recommend it and I would like to return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agnyz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

I do recommend this hotel for being a bargain. For the small amount you pay, you do receive a really good service, adequate for the hotel category. I should start by mentioning that the swimming pool, reception lobby, restaurant and rooms are spotless clean. The Old Town of Rhodes and the shopping area are about 7-10 min away. The beach is about 15 min walk, sandy beach. Outside of the hotel you can easily find supermarkets. There are some tavernas too, if you are interested. You will enjoy the hotel breakfast. Nothing too fancy, but good quality of food. Altogether we had a good time and we want to say a big thank you to the hotel employees who took really good care of us. And thank you Greece, you were amazing,... like always :).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dona85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.8 mi away
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
#11 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bellevue Suites Hotel
Bellevue Suites Hotel
#41 of 129 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
3.1 mi away
Villa Di Mare Luxury Suites
Villa Di Mare Luxury Suites
#48 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
In Camera Art Boutique Hotel
In Camera Art Boutique Hotel
#2 of 129 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
1.0 mi away
Oktober Downtown Rooms
Oktober Downtown Rooms
#62 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
2.2 mi away
Dionysos Hotel
Dionysos Hotel
#14 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athineon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athineon Hotel

Property: Athineon Hotel
Address: 17 Vironos, Rhodes Town 851 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
#31 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Athineon Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Athineon is located in Rhodes city, five minutes’ walk from the historic quarter, the medieval city, the port and the new yachting marina of Rhodes. The hotel offers 70 beautiful apartments 46sqr meter each with view to the old town, the harbor or the swimming pool and the hotel gardens. Each unit consists of one large bedroom and separate living room with private balconies and kitchen and bathroom. All the rooms features air condition, satellite TV, direct dial telephone line, safe and WIFI (free of charge) and cable internet connection. The master bedroom has two single beds attached to each other, private desk with large mirror, side tables and night reading lamps, as well as a double wardrobe. The living room has two sofa beds a private desk with mirror, side tables and a large wardrobe and suitcase desk. Both rooms have balcony with soundproof double glazed windows. The kitchen is separated from the living room and the bedroom and it is fully equipped with all the cooking facilities (cooking ring, coffee machine, fridge etc) a dinner table and chairs. All the areas are with tiles as well as the bathroom which features a bathtub, WC, hairdryer, bathrobes and complimentary amenities. Athineon Hotel offers 24hours reception and concierge facilities, air - travel ticketing and rent a car options. There is a large swimming pool area with combined pool bar, sitting area with sun beds, a children’s playground area, sauna and gym, pool table, ping pong, table games, an internet corner with computers. The a la cart restaurant offer a great variety of Greek and international specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Athineon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athineon Hotel Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing