We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“classical rebirth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mitsis La Vita Beach Hotel
Ranked #59 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We first visited la vita several years ago when it was looking a little worn and tired ; we noticed that there had been some work going on when we were in Rhodes earlier and decided a late season break there might be worthwhile. And so it was!
The hotel, though apparently regarded as a kind of annexe to the Grand,has refound its charm and character , particularly noticeable when contrasted with its hectic and now all-inclusive bigger sister.
Having stayed many times at the Grand , I was able to appreciate the contrast between the two and thoroughly enjoyed the relaxed friendly atmosphere provided by the revamped breakfast room and , more importantly maybe, the vastly improved bar arrangements.The delightful and friendly Evelyn , who appeared to be in charge of this revival , made sure each easrly evening was an experience to be savoured.
The room was very clean and the facilities very good with ample storage ; the staff were friendly and always smiling.
Its ideally situated for beach and restaurants and both the old town and the new town are within easy walking distance

Room Tip: Front of hotel has the views but the terrace of the hotel provides the best spot for watching the wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lawman90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 366 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2013

We have recently stayed here for a week in October and i found the hotel to be lovely. It was a last minute booking but everything was straight forward.

Throughout the whole stay the staff were so kind and pleasant to us and were always very helpful.
The rooms were basic but were always cleaned everyday without fail. The breakfast was really nice, it was always busy and hard to find a place to sit as it was quite small for a breakfast room.

There is no balconies on some of the rooms so make sure that you request this as we did miss having a balcony.

As you are able to use all the facilities of the Mitsis Grand Hotel, this makes the hotel really good as you can use all the facilities ie swimming pool, of the 5 star hotel and is literally 2 minutes around the corner. You have all your evening meals at this hotel as well and there was always a variety of different foods and was really nice.

The hotel is for any age and is located in a fantastic location with loads of restaurants and bars around, in the old town they have loads of shops, cafe bars etc and on the marina there is loads of people you can go too to book excursions.

Overall the holiday was fantastic, Rhodes is a beautiful place and i would definitely go back to this hotel.

The weather in the first week of October was perfect too :)

Room Tip: In the Mitsis La Vita they do not have many facilities ie Gym, Sauna etc but because you are able to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LimeyLittleBhudda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed at the Mitsis La Vita, Rhodes for ten days in September. The good things about the hotel were that the air conditioning was fantastic. It was quiet, extremely efficient and made our room so pleasant at night. The hotel was also very clean and incidentally the house keepers were the most friendly and helpful of the staff. Free Wi-Fi was available in the foyer.
The not so good things were that the hotel was pretty basic and, although the beds were comfortable, rooms were rather spartan. The service generally was not all that helpful. While we were given extra pillows when we asked our repeated request for more clothes hangers was ignored as were our enquiries as to the non-functioning of the TV. The most puzzling deficiency however was that there were no bath or basin plugs in the bathroom. When we asked for some we were told a convoluted story that the plumbing was such that they were not allowed. This was followed by a wall of silence and surreptitious looks. Most curious.
Breakfast was served in the hotel but was as basic as the rooms. It was difficult to find a table by far the quickest way was to clear and lay one yourself. The food consisted of bread, fried eggs, pancakes, two cereals, some salad and some fruit, yogurt, coffee and tea and an odd assortment of un-fried potatoes, baked beans, boiled carrots, a sort of cheese cake and occasionally bacon. The experience was all very fraught and not recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Walker48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Hi,

We have just returned from our holiday we spent in this hotel yesterday, so few things about the hotel for all who are planning to stay here.

Firstly we got room 502, very small with a balcony of size for 1 person. We could hardly unpack our staff because of the room size too. Generally it was clean, but in wc there was a mould from humidity. Moreover there was a dirty cover on the bath, I wanted to buy a new one - not big cost and you would feel more comfortable while showering. We got other room, which was much better with bigger and cleaner bathroom. In general in this hotel there is no good ventilation in bathrooms (my mom was in other room) probably thats why it smells badly from almost all of them.

Secondly 4 star hotel and not working TVs. In the first room we had TV broken, old and small. In second room again old TV but thankfully 1 channel you can watch in english (movies). In room of my mom there was no sound. I saw other rooms whle moving from 502 and none of the room Ive checked had a working TV-broken remote control, no good signal in channels, etc. Im not a TV freak especially if you are on beach holiday, but its nice to have some music or some movie before sleeping. Not mentioning a 4 star hotel cannot afford to equip rooms with new TVs...

Thirdly, breakfast. Food was ok, repetetive but tasty and wide choice. I loved the pankaceks!:) But service.. the waitresses were nice, but again not so proffessional. Once we put coffe on the table and went to take a food when I saw waitress was cleaning our table by taking our coffeess. Haha. The other day we were waiting for a clean table and the same waitress instead of cleaning table we were waiting for, she was firstly cleaning plates where people were still eating. Funny. ;) They are just not so proffessional.

Other small details, dirty sheets (they were washed, but some pernament spots were on it), we couldnt open a second window in the room too. We are not sure if towels were changed every day or they were just hang on the wall again (we put dirty on the floor).

Moreover hotel is next to the road so it get noisy if you sleep with open window, especially from buses coming in the morning.

Finally to sum up, definitely not a 4 star hotel maybe 3. Good things of the hotel is a location (close to city centre and two beaches) and possibility of using facilities of 5 star grand hotel next door (pool, tennis, fitness and dinner was served there also). However I was in 2 or 3 stars hotels where I felt more comfortable cuz of cleaniness and modernity. I also used to work in a 4 star hotel so maybe I pay attention to more details ;)

I saw prices for this hotel from some travel agencies for its 4 stars, but thanks god we paid the hotel and flights separately so it was cheaper at the end. Take into consideration my post if you think you are going to 4 star hotel.

All in all I loved my holiday cuz of Rhodes, its amazing place :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank laylaaaa8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This hotel has been recently renovated (been 4 times). It is, in effect, an Annex to the Mitsis Grand next door. There is no pool, no garden or grounds and the beach is across the road. It is usually very windy on the pebble beach. There is a bar (that is cheaper than the Grand and town prices) and a breakfast room that is adaequate for the number of rooms and breakfast choices are good. The hotel is kept very clean, the staff are helpful. Main meals are taken in the Grand - buffet style - standard stuff but repetetive. Both hotels cater predominantly for Eastern European guests. So if you dont mind peak time jostling at the buffet and no dinner dress code (contrary to what Grand says it has!) then you can smile at the Grand guests who will have paid excessively more for much of the same. Most ameneties are available (food and drinks are expensive) in the Grand so book a cheap deal at the La Vita (rooms better condition than Grand - which are old and tired) and stay there! Centre of old town is 20 min walk - car is essential for decent sandy beaches on East Cost. La Vita Ideal for Rhodes town, a short visit...business or villa/house hunting. If you want a sandy beach holiday for the family - go East coast!

Room Tip: Sea view is nice but with no balcony it's just a view. The wind is constant and can be noisy at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 100DAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I recently stayed at Mitsis la Vita Hotel. Overall it is an excellent choice due to the quality of services they provide and its location. Rooms have been recently renovated and are always kept clean by the staff. Breakfast is served in the hotel. Lunch and Dinner are served at “The Mitsis Grand Hotel (a few yards away) which is a 5* . We were also allowed to use its facilities which make it a great value for money.
Congratulations to all the staff especially the ladies in the reception as well as all the assistants in both hotels and especially many Congratulations to the Chief Cook at the Grand Hotel for providing such quality meals on a daily basis

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank George45657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

I recently stayed in the La Vita Beach Hotel while traveling with a large group of friends in August. On a long summer trip that spanned several Greek islands (and several hotels), the La Vita hotel was by far our favorite of them all. You couldn't ask for a better location: beaches footsteps from the hotel, the Old Town (i.e. the Game of Thrones type castle) is close walking distance, plenty of restaurants, bars, taverns in close proximity as well as a casino if you’re feeling lucky. The hotel’s service was absolutely perfect! Any and all island logistic questions were promptly and professionally answered by the hotel’s fine staff. The manager, front desk staff, et al. went above and beyond what we expected. The rooms were all extremely clean with top of the line amenities (i.e. fancy soaps ) & ample towels, beddings...etc…etc…provided. There’s a nice bar in the lobby with a wide open space to slip a cocktail and relax. In short, my entire group was very happy with our stay at the La Vita Beach Hotel and we look forward to staying there again during our next Rhodes trip.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Mitsis Petit Palais Beach Hotel
Mitsis Petit Palais Beach Hotel
#22 of 126 in Rhodes Town
789 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alexia Premier City Hotel
Alexia Premier City Hotel
#33 of 126 in Rhodes Town
99 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibiscus Hotel
Ibiscus Hotel
#10 of 126 in Rhodes Town
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Belair Beach Hotel
Belair Beach Hotel
#26 of 126 in Rhodes Town
821 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mitsis Grand Hotel
Mitsis Grand Hotel
#35 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,537 reviews
0.5 mi away
Smartline Semiramis City Hotel
Smartline Semiramis City Hotel
#15 of 126 in Rhodes Town
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitsis La Vita Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsis La Vita Beach Hotel

Address: 28 Papanikolaou Georgiou, Rhodes Town 851 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range: £44 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mitsis La Vita Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star LA VITA BEACH HOTEL is a warm beachfront city hotel in the city of Rhodes, next to the aquarium. Besides its ideal location, the hotel promises moments of relaxation, both in its 126 comfortable and beautifully decorated rooms as well as in its public spaces. The hotel offers a variety of activities and leisure choices for unforgettable holidays on the island of the Knights, as well as a series of water sports, such as water ski, jet-ski, banana boat, parasailing, pedal boats and canoes, rings, windsurfing, catamaran sailing, diving and boat trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mitsis La Vita Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Vita Hotel
Hotel La Vita
La Vita Rhodes
Mitsis La Vita Beach Hotel Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing