We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Away from tourist hordes”
Review of Apollo Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Apollo Guest House
Ranked #30 of 53 Rhodes Town B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 October 2012

A delightful oasis in the old town. Close to, and easy to get to the hubbub but a calm, peaceful retreat from it. Maggie and Iguo are interesting, welcoming and helpful and keep their place attractive and comfortable. they also know a very good restaurant just round the corner!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2012

The Apollo Guesthouse is a beautiful bijou guesthouse within the walls of the old town. It is a charming, tastefully decorated and friendly place to stay. The guesthouse itself is situated within a wonderful little walled garden festooned with verdant plants, flowers and trees in pots, along the walls and suspended above your head in a green canopy-like arrangement, studded with small lanterns. It provides a welcome, oasis-like relief from the hustle and bustle and heat of Rhodes Town in high season. Breakfast is served here and is a delicious and healthy selection of bread, fruit, Greek yogurt, juice etc on lovely turquoise linen and white china. Maggie, the owner, is a warm and friendly host. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KimStanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Hosts Maggie and Iguo are warm, welcoming and caring, and genuinely want you to feel comfortable and at home. Although there were three of us, and our room was small, we did have sufficient room, and enjoyed our time in this hidden away gem. Through the green door, accessed by a cobbled pathway from the town square, you are greeted by a beautifully cared for Mediterranean garden. We didn't have any transport, which meant we had to wheel our bags to and from the harbour, but it all added to the charm of being in an ancient city, and we sure saw more sights on the way than if we'd been in a car. Our hosts were keen to help us find the sights we wanted to see - and provided a beautiful breakfast before we ventured out for the day.

Room Tip: It would be a good idea to check with Maggie if you have problems with stairs - see if you can find...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daring2Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Anglo-Japanese couple brings the best of Europe & Far East to Rhodes in terms of good taste and value-for-money; attention to details, courtesy & kindness are pretty rare these days, so THANK YOU Maggie and Ikuo for your beautiful effort! WARE HIGAI MINA SHI

Fabio & Lela, wishing to return for more than a night ...

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sumotori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

This beautiful, relaxing guest house in a quiet part of the old town of Rhodes makes a wonderful first impression: a green door off a cobbled alleyway opens onto a small but perfect Mediterranean garden with powder blue and sienna walls setting off the gorgeous blooms. Our room, with its four poster bed and panoramic view across the city, managed to maintain the standard.

We stayed here a week and it was the perfect base to explore the island. Ikuo, our host, did everything to make us welcome and keep us informed of what we should see and how best to see it. A simple and delicious breakfast in the garden was a perfect way to start each day and the relaxed atmosphere of the house was perfect to come home to.

I can't recommend it enough.

Room Tip: We had the four poster room. The views are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hewson1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

The Apollo is tidy and a good value. It is clear that the proprietors work hard to maintain their high rating. Both are unflappably friendly and accommodating. They also offerred much useful info on local sights and on getting around. The only downside was that in unseasonably hot weather the room became was stifling. I would still recommend to others.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reisija26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

We spent 4 nights here in October based on the reviews we read - and they were spot on. Maggie and Ikuo are warm and welcoming hosts. Maggie is English and has lots of interesting tips about living on a Greek island! We stayed in an upstairs room with great views over the town and wall. The room was small but very comfortable. The location is excellent - quiet but within very easy walking distance of the old town. The free internet and computer is a bonus. Maggie and ikuo were particularly helpful and extended our stay by 2 nights when we were stranded on Rhodes thanks to a ferry strike (!!). Maggie also rang and arranged car hire for us with nice Mr Tessos - all very efficient and helpful.
We felt completely relaxed here and the guesthouse was a home away from home. Highly recommended and we would definitely stay here again if we ever go back to Rhodes (which is unlikely until the Greeks stop going on strike!).

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank campbells05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
1.7 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,933 reviews
3.9 mi away
Eleonas Hotel Aparts
Eleonas Hotel Aparts
#87 of 126 in Rhodes Town
45 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
#6 of 126 in Rhodes Town
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#14 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,791 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Hotel
Comfort Hotel
#81 of 126 in Rhodes Town
90 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sunny Days Hotel
Sunny Days Hotel
#58 of 126 in Rhodes Town
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Guest House

Address: Omirou street 28c Old Town, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Rhodes Town
Price Range: £95 - £296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apollo Guest-House is located in a 15th century building situated on the summit of the citadel, with a magnificent view over the Palace of the Grand Master, the port, and the medieval city. Apollo is a quiet and characteristic hotel, it has six rooms, with modern private bathrooms in each room. The Guest House is also available for groups and families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Apollo Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollo Guest House Hotel Rhodes
Apollo Guest House Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing