We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem”
Review of Apollo Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rhodes Town
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Apollo Guest House
Ranked #29 of 54 Rhodes Town B&B and Inns
Birmingham, UK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A little gem”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a short 2 night stay at the Apollo which my wife and I really enjoyed. The guest house is an ideal base to explore the old and new town and a welcome retreat on the heat of the day.

Whilst the room's are small they have a simple charm with their white walls and wood floors and there's always a cooling breeze to lull you off on a hot summers night.

Breakfast in the courtyard is a delight and a chance to catch up with Umberto who is an excellent host.

If your looking for 5* luxury accommodation with all mod cons and satellite TV then look else where. If your looking for a Greek gem then book in at the Apollo.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank stuandlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    38
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
98
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The charming and helpful Umberto makes you feel at home in his quiet, well-sited and beautifully decorated guesthouse. Close to all you need to see and do in Rhodes old town, with a lovely courtyard for excellent breakfasts (included). Rooms on the small side but clean and well-appointed. Umberto knows the town inside out and pointed us at two or three places we would have missed. He also arranged local driver to collect us from airport and take us to ferry. Strongly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The Apollo has many attractions - not least of which is Umberto who is an excellent host and fascinating and entertaining company. Our room was small (I believe none are huge) but clean, attractive and well set up with an extremely comfortable built-in bed and a proper shower room which did not flood every time you used the shower (unlike many other Greek bathrooms I have come across). There is a beautiful courtyard garden where breakfast is served and where we enjoyed late-night drinks and conversation with Umberto and fellow guests.

While it is a bit away from the main tourist areas that is an advantage as it is very peaceful at night. Everywhere within the old town - sites and restaurants alike - is within easy walking distance, as is much of the new town beyond the city walls.

Umberto arranged for someone to pick us up at the airport and ferry us to the guesthouse which was greatly appreciated as we arrived late in the evening with heavy bags. Overall - good value and highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SallyBettyMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 December 2013

The Apollo is a gem thanks to the owners' care and attention to detail. It is not lavish by any means but is homely and tastefully renovated. We stayed for just two nights around greek Palm Sunday this year (at the end of April 2013). We loved the bustle of the festivities and by contrast the tranquility of stepping through the door into that beautiful courtyard garden. Our room was perfect for our stay and the view over the rooftops to the minaret, the Grand Masters Palace and the sea was great. We slept comfortably and peacefully on the bed, which was on the floor on a platform above. Ikuo's local knowledge on places to eat was valued as our stay was quite short. When we returned on the last day of our holiday he also helped us by guiding us through the labyrinth of narrow streets to the bus terminus to get to the airport.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCP63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Very well situated, Apollo Guesthouse is close to all we needed, restaurants, museums, old port... Everything is easy walking distance. The rooms are clean and and well decorated. The view of the surronding wall is beatiful. We had delicious breakfasts in the charming flowered courtyard. The host are very nice and welcoming. We had a very nice journey in Rhodes.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brigit964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ubud, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Seems like I have some free time on my hands as I brought my laptop on this trip for the first time and now I am posting review after review of the wonderful hotels that I have had the special priveliedge to experience. And now I am writing again of another amazing guest experience in a fabulous Greecian hotel. Apollo himself would be glad to spend a few nights here with my room perched above the fray in the most ancient part of Rhodes old city. I slept with my window opened wide each night (and let's be honest during the day too...) with the most amazing view over the ancient city and out to the ocean itself. Even the distant view of enormous and impossibly huge cruise ships parked in the bay added to the magical experience.

This guest house is a smart option because of its budget price, excellent management, and fabulous location - away from the t shirt shops in the quiet and authentically real residential quarter of the old city. Yet a quick stroll down the hill and you're in the thick of it. I was amazed by the total silence at night. And last, but not least, even thought the room is small (they're all small in Rhodes) it had a normal size bathroom - thank you.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rally A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

This small and intimate guesthouse is centrally located, which makes it very convenient for exploring the old town of Rhodes with no need for extra transport. One can walk to the main ports if luggage is not too heavy. Still, it is away from the bustle, so ideal if you want to take a break from sightseeing. It has got a little garden, which was fresher than the rest of town. The two tenants are very nice and helpful. Our room was not very large but definitely enough for two people. The place is cosy and very clean. We would go back here if back to Rhodes.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TwoFriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.0 mi away
Niki's Hotel
Niki's Hotel
#78 of 126 in Rhodes Town
80 reviews
0.1 mi away
Medieval Inn
Medieval Inn
#5 of 54 in Rhodes Town
142 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Attiki
Hotel Attiki
#2 of 54 in Rhodes Town
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Paris Hotel
Paris Hotel
#26 of 54 in Rhodes Town
57 reviews
0.0 mi away
Senses Boutique Hotel
Senses Boutique Hotel
#40 of 54 in Rhodes Town
1 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pension Olympos
Pension Olympos
#36 of 54 in Rhodes Town
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Guest House

Property: Apollo Guest House
Address: Omirou street 28c Old Town, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apollo Guest-House is located in a 15th century building situated on the summit of the citadel, with a magnificent view over the Palace of the Grand Master, the port, and the medieval city. Apollo is a quiet and characteristic hotel, it has six rooms, with modern private bathrooms in each room. The Guest House is also available for groups and families. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Apollo Guest House Hotel Rhodes
Apollo Guest House Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing