We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly better than average”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rhodes Town
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Michael Angelo Hotel
Ranked #102 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Reviewed 10 June 2010

The "lobby" is somewhat off-putting, but the rooms are nicely decorated. Reasonable value. Decent plumbing, free wifi. Location makes it easy to reach by vehicle (important in old town when you have luggage), five minutes walk to center. Convenience store next door. No breakfast.

Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank sr.rb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (12)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 12 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2010

I can understand what other reviews are talking about - this isn't a boutique hotel, but then you aren't paying boutique prices. In my opinion, what it is, is a good value pleasant place to stay within a beautiful old citadel. The owners and their family & friends are very friendly & helpful - great to practise my very poor greek on! It's fairly basic, as is common in Greece, but it's clean, tidy and has what you need. The location is spot on - within the old town, but tucked away from the hustle and bustle. Couple of minutes easy walking and you're within that hustle and bustle, so there's no hassle. Lovely mini-market next door run by the friendliest people, so that's worth popping into. We traveled with Thomas Cook and got good day flights, transfers by taxi included and no problems, for a good price. Worth a look at if you want somewhere close to all the fun, in pleasant surroundings, where greek people live, rather than tourists. No pool/frills/bikini babes, so go elsewhere if that's your thing!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schnapped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2010

The Michaelangelo hotel is an absolutely brilliant place to stay for you who love graphical, simple and traditional/medieval style accommodation. It is not only the fantastic decoration and they great earth colours chosen but it is also the location and the people there who make it excellent. we booked directly with the hotelier and everything was excellent as promised. We knew that there is no reception and some rooms are given to Thomas Cook and we used the \reps service which was brilliant. Definitely to see the rep for good prices and quality trips. the hoteliers where very friendly and any time we were free to use the internet or watch with them any films or satellite tv as a big happy family.
there is no bar or restaurant however there is next door a kiosk and the nearest restaurants are just 100 metres away. people are getting confused in regards to Old town of Rodos and the new town of Rodos. this hotel is placed at the heart of the Old town of rodos and is NOT an uphill road however, when you re walking in Old town it is pebbled covered narrow ways which you need to be careful, and it becomes uphill at some point, but NOT from the main gate to the entrance of the hotel. Taxies and mini buses are entering in old town for Michaelangelo and bringing you to the door step of the hotel. The hotel was stunning and clean. whenever i asked for extra pillows and blankets i always got it straight away. What else you should ask for?

Its great place to stay guys if you know what you re looking for :)

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reducto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2009

When we arrived at the hotel there was nobody to greet us, we walked through the dirty, untidy reception area (which was used as a lounge by the family and friends) and waited there for over 20 mins. Finally we were shown our room, this was nice, clean and airy. However there were no towels or toilet tissue. These things never arrived and I had to go down to the 'lounge' and request them again. At that point there were about 7 locals in the lounge watching the football, smoking and drinking. I did feel intrusive.

However if you want to experience the culture of the city the location is great, it really needs to decide if its a hotel or a home. Please be aware that Taxis are not allowed inside the walled town unless they are carrying luggage and it is up hill to the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tiggshants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2009

We arrived early before our room was ready. The entrance area/breakfast area has a large TV screen and two computer screens and an old sofa. It sort of resembles our sons student room. There is a kitchen/bar which is dirty and we decided not to eat breakfast there. On arrival we used the downstairs toilet. It was filthy filled with dirty washing and fishing rods. The room was large enough although our daughters sofa bed was hard and uncomfortable. The room was clean. shower facilities dated.
The location was fine for the town and restaurants although it is a lot further than 700m to the main beach.
This hotel is used by a large tour operator albeit in their small and local brochure which is why we chose it but if I was returning to Rhodes I'd book The Spot or Elena's from the internet. In fact although we were only there two nights we did contact the Tourist Information who weren't surprised the Michael Angelo was dirty and recommended a move to Elena's which unfortunately was booked.
This may have been a lovely hotel when first redeveloped but now looks like the rooms we stayed in when inter railing in the 1970's - painted orange - which at the prices they charge is not good enough.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianeBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2009

I have to admit, I'm a little on the fence concerning this place. My friend and I stayed here for 2 days while vititing Rhodes last summer. The location is great, it's within very easy walking distance of the port and it is right in the old town. We were right near the fortified walls of the city and spent hours just wandering the small cobblestone streets and alleys and exploring tunnels in the walls of the city. We were also whithin easy walking distance of the Palace of the Grand Master and other sites. We were close to lots of restaurants, the town square, shops and car rental places.

The hotel room on the other hand, was not fantastic. It was quite cramped for two friends travelling together. It was also quite sparse, with only 1 sheet on the bed (no blankets) and not as clean as I would have liked. But we were comfortable and enjoyed our stay. The owners were very kind and served a good breakfast in the morning. Overall, my friend and I left this place feeling that even though it had not been super nice, we still liked it and were kinda glad of the fact that we stayed somewhere that was out of our "comfort" zone.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessicaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2006

This had been our 4th visit to Rhodes on previous times we have stayed in bigger hotels so wanted to try something different ,we
loved the old town so after hours of searching the net we finally booked. We arrived in Rhodes a bit nervous not knowing What to expect. Michael Angelo hotel is a small 700yr hotel run by a greek family -we loved it location was right in the old town near the old city wall and 2 min walk down a cobble street to the square. Our room was great very nicely decrorated and we had a great view from the roof terrace we would say that the rooms are as good as an 5star in greek standards with out the hotel facilities . We have stayed in the grand and the hilton and they never live up to the standards you expect as english 5 star hotels.
The family who run the hotel was great we was there two weeks so got to know them they did all they can to make us welcome we was sad to leave. If you want small friendly clean hotel in old town location and a bit of culture this is the hotel look at there website.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ZOEBI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Niki's Hotel
Niki's Hotel
#84 of 126 in Rhodes Town
80 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cava d'Oro Hotel
Cava d'Oro Hotel
#76 of 126 in Rhodes Town
97 reviews
0.1 mi away
Minos Pension & Roof Garden Lounge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Evdokia Hotel
Evdokia Hotel
#39 of 126 in Rhodes Town
108 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kokkini Porta Rossa
Kokkini Porta Rossa
#1 of 126 in Rhodes Town
246 reviews
0.0 mi away
Saint Michel
Saint Michel
#14 of 53 in Rhodes Town
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Michael Angelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michael Angelo Hotel

Address: 68 Perikleous | Eirinis Square, Rhodes Town 851 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Price Range: £45 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 800 year old hotel made from stone in the heart of the old town combining the ancient architect of the knights' time & the comforts of today, with a roof garden that has amazing view of the old town & the port. Enter the microcosm of the old town and feel the thrill. All the rooms have private toilet & bathroom, air condition, sat TV, fridge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Michael Angelo Hotel Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing