We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Gem”
Review of Camelot hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Camelot hotel
Ranked #34 of 127 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Berkshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Little Gem”
Reviewed 4 June 2011

We only stayed one night which was far too short. Nina, the owner makes you feel so welcome as soon as you arrive, she also has lots of recommendations for sightseeing and restaurants which was great. The room was spotless and well presented and, the courtyard was a little bit of tranquility away from the bustle of the old city. There was a little noise from the nearby taverna at night but I loved listening to the sound of a real Greek Bouzouki.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank puddin64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    34
    3
    4
    3
See reviews for
36
185
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Point Pleasant Beach, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2011

Recently, my wife and I spent a very pleasant four days at the Camelot. It is a real jewel! First of all, it is located inside the walls of the old town on a cobbled ‘street’ just steps from one of the main squares. According to Nina, the owner, it took her seven years with many approvals from the archeological authorities to bring the home back to authentic historic state. It is like walking back in time. The hotel, which is more like a B&B, is new and scrupulously clean but it makes you feel like you were in Rhodes during the time the Knights of the Order of St. John who ruled the roost until they were undone by Suleiman the Magnificent and his Ottoman forces in 1522. Nina is a charming and gracious host and greets you as if you were one of the family. Her breakfasts, which begin with fresh squeezed orange juice, are different each day and will probably last you until your evening meal. I have no hesitation recommending the Camelot for your stay in Rhodes.

Room Tip: Try for an inside room - probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BearnGrammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2011

We stayed two nights at this Hotel, last minute booking and choosen by reviews in tripadvisor. We stayed in a suite one of two newly renovated rooms directly above the main entrance and accessed by a very steep and deep open style wooden staircase. We just managed to carry up our 10 kilos of airline trolley carry on baggage but I would not like to negotiate the stairs with a full size suitcase. Our room had two double glazed windows and slated style shutters which when closed blocked out all light. Unfortunately even doubleglaxing does not keep all street sounds out including Greek tavern music just a few doors down well in to the night. That being said Rhodes looks like a lively place even though it was 'off season'. The Hotel is set back off the main square and does provide a lovely quiet setting essential when throngs of people disembark for a few hours on the many cruise lines that dock at the port nearby. Nina the owner has lovingly restored most of the property, restricted in part by building regulations on historic properties, which in some rooms has meant downsizing the bathrooms. Our bathroom was indeed small but was modern and had everything we needed. Sheets and towels are changed daily and the room was very clean. Inside courtyard has tables and chairs, the reception area has a small bar. Breakfast is served in a long vaulted ceiling room off the inner courtyard. Nina seves fresh bread, pastries, a selection of her homemade jams (fruit from her land) fresh orange juice, yogurt and honey, toasted sandwiches...so much that we asked on both mornings for a take-away bag! She speaks very good English and is charming, natural and helpful. When I booked the hotel I used the online booking option on the hotel website. Had I e mailed Nina directly I could have saved about 20 percent on the room rate . Oh and by the way there are no televisions, but there is wifi. One room has a kitchenette.

Room Tip: E mail Nina directly .
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mila08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2011

Almost 9 years ago we searched for an hotel within the walls of the Old Town of Rhodes, finally finding tiny Camelot, then only three rooms, and the gorgeously warm and welcoming Nina.
So where else would we stay on a return visit?
Nina now has two rooms and three suites. The old reception area is now a charming breakfast room and there is a new reception area, all sparkling in marble and traditional furnishings.The lovely open central pebbled courtyard is still there and the bougainvillea is blooming in shades of fuchsia and white. She is developing a rooftop garden with views over the walls and harbour and everything is strictly in accordance with the rules of the Ministry of Culture so that it is architecturally correct.
We stayed in our first room, now modified with a mezzanine floor to hold a double bed and with two singles on the main floor, so a family could be accommodated easily. The bathroom is tiny but everything is there. The rooms also have air conditioning. There is free wifi accessible in the courtyard areas as the walls are too thick to allow it in the rooms.
And of course the inimitable Nina who greeted us with hugs and sheer delight at seeing us again. Who could doubt the welcome?
You could feed an army on Nina's breakfasts, with her cake, home made jams and marmalades, pastries, rolls filled with Greek cheese, yoghurt and strawberries with honey, fresh squeezed orange juice, lots of coffee. We had to keep saying "No more".
The hotel is hidden in small streets just near the Square of the Hebrew Martyrs and not far at all from the Marine Gate where a taxi can drop you.
If you want to experience a traditional hotel and traditional Greek hospitality in Rhodes, go stay with Nina at Camelot.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2011

Nina and her Camelot Hotel are wonderful! From the moment we arrived - late -- she made us feel right at home right there inside the medieval walls of the old city. The rooms are charming -- I had a view of the roofs of the city and the medieval mosque from outside my little window upstairs, that made me feel like a princess in a castle. The courtyard was a charming place to relax at the end of the day as well. Nina not only made us a lovely breakfast, but suggested a fantastic itinerary for our limited stay and loaned us her guidebook. "See this -- but you don't have time for this other." And she recommended a lovely locally owned restaurant for dinner nearby, Romio's!

Note: There is no elevator, so you do need to be prepared to schlep your luggage up some steep stairs to your room. However, if you want to have an authentic experience and meet the real people of the charming medieval city, stay at the Camelot Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalJudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2011

A tiny charming hotel, tastefully decorated with a pretty courtyard, tucked behind the main square in the old town. Nina, your host, is entirely focused on making your stay enjoyable and is full of good advice on where to eat and what to see. The restaurants she recommended were top class. The breakfasts are a treat. We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tree_Pipit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 December 2010

very tastefully furnished, lovely filling breakfast with Greek yogurt, we found the owner to be very friendly and well traveled, so she understands the needs of travelers, fluent in few languages including English

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMJN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Evdokia Hotel
Evdokia Hotel
#30 of 127 in Rhodes Town
89 reviews
0.3 mi away
S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments
S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments
#31 of 127 in Rhodes Town
209 reviews
0.3 mi away
Zacosta Villa Hotel
Zacosta Villa Hotel
#47 of 127 in Rhodes Town
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Spot Hotel
Spot Hotel
#56 of 127 in Rhodes Town
179 reviews
0.1 mi away
In Camera Art Boutique Hotel
In Camera Art Boutique Hotel
#3 of 127 in Rhodes Town
251 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avalon Boutique Suites Hotel
Avalon Boutique Suites Hotel
#25 of 127 in Rhodes Town
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camelot hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelot hotel

Property: Camelot hotel
Address: 18 Themistokleous | Medieval Town, Rhodes Town 851 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
#9 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Camelot hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated, right inside the Medieval Town in Rhodes, very close to the commercial Harbour, Camelot Hotel is a traditional and classic hotel which besides its unique architectural design and location, is offering a variety of services making your accomodation unforgetable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Camelot hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camelot Hotel Hotel Rhodes Town
Camelot Hotel Rhodes Town
Camelot Hotel Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing