We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel in the old town”
Review of Camelot hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Camelot hotel
Ranked #29 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Bremen, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming hotel in the old town”
Reviewed 15 October 2011

We stayed one complete week in the Camelot hotel, and have been totally charmed by it. It is ideally situated in the old town, the view from the roof terrace is very beautiful, and the hotel itself is also beautiful and cosy. Guides about the island of Rhodes are proposed for free and in different languages in the hotel, which is something very kind fron the owner. We can also add it is an authentic medieval building, which has been well restored.

The owner of the hotel, Nina, is very nice and has always time to discuss with you. We really like this kind of lively atmosphere.

Contrary to the previous comment, we found the breakfast very good and very nutritious: if, like us, you enjoy hiking and visiting the whole day, it is something of very high value. It is prepared with fresh and tasty products.
A last remark: we had no complain during our stay at this hotel, and still we have been offered glasses of wine every day.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olivier C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    37
    3
    4
    3
See reviews for
39
192
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

My husband and I have just spent 8 nights at the Camelot based on the Trip Advisor reviews and consider either we were staying at a different Camelot Hotel or the reviewers' were smoking funny cigarettes!
The website for the Camelot described our room (no. 258) as a Suite - what a misnomer! The room was tiny, less than 10 foot square with a queen (not king) size bed ( a nice 4 poster iron bed), a small wardrobe with very little hanging space (and we travel very light), a long low cabinet with some small drawers and a couple of shelves and a single wooden chair (no cushion). The bathroom was tiny but newish however the shower could only be partially enclosed and thus water splashed everywhere.
I could have even lived with all of the above but the shower holder was broken when we booked in and was not fixed for 2 days (excuse - it was the weekend), the TV which the webiste could be requested was not installed till our 4th day there - this despite being requested at the time of our original booking in May/June this year and confirmed by our travel agent in Crete a week prior to our arrival (excuse - why do you need a TV - you should be out having a good time).
The icing on the cake however was breakfast which has been described in the reviews as aboslutely wonderful, lavish and indeed something to look forward to each morning. Let me set the record straight - there is no choice offered at breakfast - and it certainly is hearty if you like bread, bread and more bread. Everyone receives a small glass of freshly squeezed orange juice (nice), a small basket of 2 - 3 varieties of bread (occasionally a couple of small croissants), a choice of bready type pastries from a tray offered by the owner, and then either 2 bread rolls (total for 2) filled with diced tomates and feta cheese or a large round bread roll cut in 4 and containing lettuce, cold meat and cheese ( only one of these was served at breakfast - no choice). Plus tea or coffee. That was it! My husband was happy to eat the pastries and bread but I prefer a simple lighter breakfast and no cereals, let alone mueslli, was ever offered. Finally after my third breakfast of tea and a half slice of bread with marmalade Nina asked if I would like some yoghurt - which I said I definitely would prefer. The next day I was offered the yogurt but only towards the end of the meal. But at least it was then available every day , although the honey was actually served out by Nina rather than having a small container of it on the table.
The hot water also ran out on one morining - I think the guests in the other 4 rooms had early morning showers (excuse - one of the guests must have had a late night shower and used the hot water but how could Nina tell - I didn't even try to understand this one).
The courtyard was attractive but very tiny and was used by smokers so was always the best place to sit. There was also a roof terrace but we didn't use that.
On arrival we were offered a choice of a different room which was larger and had tea/coffee making facilities (our room had none so we bought an electric jug, mugs etc) and a TV but no internet access.
Nina, the owner did try and offer us wine etc, but I would have preferred that the 'Suite' had been accurately described as a 'Small Room', a TV was not offered if none was available despite booking, and that the breakfasts had some choice however small for those who don't eat loaves of bread for meals.
Altogether it was quite a disappointment and clouded our stay in Rhodes. We did try and check if there was other available accommodation (at the Spirit of the Knights and Avalon) within a couple of hours of our arrival but sadly they were both fully booked during that period.
I am disappointed in the Trip Advisor reviews not a single one of which have mentioned anyting at all negative about this hote - which in hindsight should have made me suspicious - and will be very cautious about relying on this for future holiday information.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank MezziePG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lausanne
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

All what you have read here about the Camelot is true! It is a cosy hotel set in the old town of Rhodes. The style of the building is medieval, so you will get the sensation of somehow sleeping in a castle (without any of the discomforts), as the rooms are spacious and kept scrupulously clean. The inner court is also beautiful as is the arched refectory. All of this is run with infinite kindness by Nina, who will go out of her way to ply her guests with home made specialities for breakfast, wine in the evening or suggest trips around Rhodes and the neighbouring islands, which bear no secrets for her.
Although in the centre if the sometimes noisy old town, the hotel is very quiet and run with much efficiency. If you visit Rhodes, it would be a shame to miss the Camelot. I will definitely return to this wonderful place!
However, it is imperative to book, as there are few rooms and Nina's clients/friends are very faithful!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rfbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We love Nina, just like everyone else. There is nothing not to like in this beautiful cosy hotel that you completely feel at home in

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hala63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoma, California
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

The location of Camelot is perfect, easy to pull a wheeled suitcase from the ferry from Turkey, and easy walking to every inch of old town. Be sure to see the old Sephardic Jewish synagogue in the area. But the best is the Camelot's innkeeper, Nina, a most upbeat charming and hardworking person you just have to love. We thrilled to know that we were in an ancient stone building constructed by the Knights of St. John during the crusades, with even more ancient history proven by the three cannon balls in the courtyard dating from the siege of 305 BC. The inn is only two stories so no problem with the one flight of stairs if you are upstairs with the view of authentic Rhodes. But be warned that the breakfast is so delicious and so plentiful that you will be spoiled for anything else. That being said, do eat at Nina's recommended "bite bite"; ask for a card to help you find it in Greek.

Room Tip: write to the innkeeper in advance if you have special needs; she will respond promptly
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank humanone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Great location, great room, great price and Nina is an excellent hostess.....be careful at breakfast as she will try and feed you until you drop!! Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, Sussex
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Without doubt, Nina really is the hostess with the mostess... Nothing is too much trouble for Nina, whether it's recommending things to do, places to see or restaurants to visit. She had even noticed on our passports that it was my girlfriend's birthday and secretly organised a cake and drinks with the other guests!
The hotel itself is in an amazing location - close to the hustle & bustle of old town, but with little or no noise as it's on a quiet backstreet just yards away from a street between 2 squares.
Our room (255) was spotlessly clean and with thankfully cool aircon. The bathroom is small but again, spotlessly clean.
I can't imagine any of Camelot's guests need to buy lunch during their stay - her breakfasts are immense, fresh and very tasty!
Marble-walled, gold-plated luxury hotel this is not - it's better than that! If you're looking for a hotel that just feels right, with a fantastic location and genuine warmth from it's owner, this will not disappoint. We'll be very sad if we don't get a chance to head back and see Nina again.
Thank you for some wonderful memories Nina!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pipey_Brighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Evdokia Hotel
Evdokia Hotel
#37 of 126 in Rhodes Town
101 reviews
0.3 mi away
S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments
S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments
#30 of 126 in Rhodes Town
221 reviews
0.3 mi away
Zacosta Villa Hotel
Zacosta Villa Hotel
#49 of 126 in Rhodes Town
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
In Camera Art Boutique Hotel
In Camera Art Boutique Hotel
#2 of 126 in Rhodes Town
268 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avalon Boutique Suites Hotel
Avalon Boutique Suites Hotel
#21 of 126 in Rhodes Town
236 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nikos Takis Fashion Hotel
Nikos Takis Fashion Hotel
#40 of 126 in Rhodes Town
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camelot hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelot hotel

Property: Camelot hotel
Address: 18 Themistokleous | Medieval Town, Rhodes Town 851 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
#9 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Camelot hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated, right inside the Medieval Town in Rhodes, very close to the commercial Harbour, Camelot Hotel is a traditional and classic hotel which besides its unique architectural design and location, is offering a variety of services making your accomodation unforgetable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Camelot hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camelot Hotel Hotel Rhodes Town
Camelot Hotel Rhodes Town
Camelot Hotel Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing