We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay at Camelot” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Camelot hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Camelot hotel
Ranked #31 of 129 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Stay at Camelot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

Our party of 3 couples checked in at Camelot on 8 June and out on 10 June. What a wonderful place! The rooms are small but lovely and clean. Our host Nina was wonderful and helpful with suggestions about Rhodes. Her breakfasts are outstanding...great food and plenty of it. The approach to the Camelot Hotel is a walk up a medieval path between stone walls and under wonderful stone arches. The location is great...walking distance to all the major sights of Rhodes. A great introduction to your stay at Camelot. If we return to Rhodes this is where we will stay. Thank you Nina.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 22Bogart22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    34
    3
    4
    3
See reviews for
34
183
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

Nina is the jewel in the crown for a stay at Camelot. Nothing is too much trouble for her and she constantly goes out of her way to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. From being welcomed with her smile and a cup of coffee on the balcony in the mornings to a glass of wine in the afternoons to her delightful breakfasts. Nina you fed us too much!!
The hotel is perfectly positioned in old Rhodes just near the centre square but in a quiet lane. A bit tricky to find but locals pointed us in the right direction.
The only reason I can't rate the hotel 5 stars is the size of the bathroom and shower in particular in our room, it was tiny. Redeveloping an old building brings with it restrictions in major structural changes and Nina has done the best she can within these confines. Bathroom size is bigger in some of the other room options however
Overall we had the best time and Nina you should be very proud of what you have achieved and the wonderful service and care you provide. You made our stay special. Robyn and John

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Muz33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuddern
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

Camelot Hotel is a wonderful, splendid small scale hotel, located within the old medieval part of Rhodes town, near all the nice sites and places to visit, near the beautiful harbor and with great restaurants in it’s vicinity. It’s totally in accordance with the atmosphere of medieval Rhodes town itself.

From the first moment on when we arrived at the airport, till the moment we left, Nina, the owner, took good care of us, and made our stay at Camelot Hotel very special.
In the mornings we were served an exquisite, delicious breakfast, which varied every day, and was always a positive surprise to us; delicious home-made marmalades, pastries and self-made Greek pies/specialties made this breakfast unique every day.
And having finished breakfast, we were treated on a good cup of cappuccino; in case we didn’t have time for it after breakfast, we would enjoy it in the afternoon when coming back from our trips.
When going out for dinner, Nina would advice us on the best restaurants for good affordable prices; you can always check the internet for this, but we experienced the benefits of good advice from a local resident in this.
She also took time for us to explain and advice us on trips to make by rental car, on excursions to make, checking for prices of local transport etcetera, which was all very helpful to us.

The room we stayed in was a 2 level suite for up to 4 persons. It was a nicely decorated (medieval stylish) cosy room, with a balcony in front of it were we could enjoy some coffee and reading.
The room was cleaned everyday, and though the bathroom wasn't quite big, we were provided with clean towels everyday.

We certainly can recommend this hotel to everyone, and hope to enjoy this place another time again.

Thank you Nina for everything! Eucharistò …

Lilianne, Jos & Frank,
or (as you would call us during our stay J)
Elisabeth, Joseph & Francisco

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

This is an absolutely wonderful hotel, defined by the charm, imagination, and attentiveness of its owner. You can tell that Nina has thought carefully about every detail in this former Knight's castle, from the way the rooms are decorated to the day's breakfast. Her hospitality and warmth made it a truly splendid holiday.

The breakfasts (served from 8.30 to 12.30) were ample and the best we have had: fresh squeezed orange juice that was heavenly, quince and lime and orange marmalade, delectable strawberries in yogurt and honey, topped off with superb coffee. The rooftop views of Rhodes are breathtaking. The shutters are designed perfectly to keep noise and light out should you wish for a good night's sleep. The location, in the Old Town and a few minutes from the harbour, is perfect.

Most memorable is the owner, Nina: good-humored, caring, and with a heart of gold. We can't wait to go back.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sulmaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013 via mobile

Thank you Nina for having us. We spent a beautiful week here and Nina did everything to make ist a week to remember! The breakfast specials and the wine were just the topping of a beautiful vacation on this beautiful island before the tourists invade it in May! Thanks for everything! Nina & Max

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Max H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

we were traveling with two little kids and have been stayed at Camelot for two nights. This hotel is a little hard to find but location is perfect, only 5 mins to go to commerical port. the room we stayed is maintained very clean and nice, room is not big but homey and cozy, living in the history was interesting to all of us, we just love it. and also, the owner Nina was such a nice lady helped us a lot of finding restaurant, playing with kids, prepared afternoon tea and cookies for us, she treated us like family indeed. me and my kids miss her so much. Nina, we love you and we will come back!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank qqtomboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

Camelot is a lovely small hotel in the middle of the medieval part of Rhodes town, conveniently close to the Marine Gate and the harbor area. Tucked away in a quiet spot in a tiny side street it is nevertheless just a stone’s throw away from the beating heart of the old town with its multitude of shops and restaurants. The 15th century building has been lovingly brought back to life and its small indoor courtyard offers a haven of tranquility amidst the hustle and bustle of the old town. Some of the rooms give onto a small veranda/balcony that allows for sitting outside (even enjoying your breakfast al fresco) and the rooftop terrace with its panoramic views of the harbor must be an absolute delight on warm summer evenings (we were there in the middle of winter). Its main asset however is its indomitable owner, Nina, who is a fountain of knowledge and with endless good cheer will do anything in her power to make you feel welcome and special.

Camelot may not be the place for you if:
a. You have a problem with stairs. All rooms are on the first floor and some of the stairs are quite challenging.
b. You require a lot of room, open spaces and sweeping views from your hotel window. This is a walled in world and space is hard to come by in a medieval house. So do not expect large (bath)rooms, king size beds or lounge chairs.
c. You like a traditional cooked breakfast, a buffet or lots of cereals and healthy options. Breakfast is an elaborate Greek affair with fabulous homemade marmalades, cakes, Greek specialties and lots of other goodies that may also serve as lunch.

If you’re OK with the drawbacks outlined above, expect prices to reflect novelty value rather than extreme comfort and want to get a taste of life in a medieval town as well as enjoy some exceptional Greek hospitality this is definitely the place to be for a one of experience.

Room Tip: Rooms all vary in size, it makes sense to inquire. Rooms at the back of the house have a balcony and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Evdokia Old Town Hotel
Evdokia Old Town Hotel
#34 of 129 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avalon Boutique Suites Hotel
Avalon Boutique Suites Hotel
#25 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.3 mi away
S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments
S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments
#30 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Zacosta Villa Hotel
Zacosta Villa Hotel
#46 of 129 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.1 mi away
In Camera Art Boutique Hotel
In Camera Art Boutique Hotel
#2 of 129 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kokkini Porta Rossa
Kokkini Porta Rossa
#4 of 129 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camelot hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelot hotel

Property: Camelot hotel
Address: 18 Themistokleous | Medieval Town, Rhodes Town 851 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
#9 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Camelot hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated, right inside the Medieval Town in Rhodes, very close to the commercial Harbour, Camelot Hotel is a traditional and classic hotel which besides its unique architectural design and location, is offering a variety of services making your accomodation unforgetable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Camelot hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camelot Hotel Hotel Rhodes Town
Camelot Hotel Rhodes Town
Camelot Hotel Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing