We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place of character and warm personality”
Review of Camelot hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Camelot hotel
Ranked #29 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A place of character and warm personality”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

It's my first time to write a review and it's all because of Nina, the owner of Hotel Camelot.

We stayed in this small but charming and full of character hotel in Rhodes end of July with two kids aged 12 and 8 in Room 256 with split levels. The hotel is in perfect location in the centre of the old town close to all attractions. Nina is extremely friendly and her hospitality really goes extra miles to make the guests' stay memorable.

She prepares the breakfast herself every day and her home made peach jam and fried eggs are excellent! The last day we took the ferry to Crete in the evening and Nina even bought some chips for my kids to eat in the ferry. Both my kids were almost at tears leaving Nina and Hotel Camelot. In the ferry they told me they missed Nina.

Some reviews criticized the small bathroom. It's true the bathroom of our room is miniscule. We looked around the room and tried to think whether it could be better laid out to increase the bathroom size. The answer is no.

Bear in mind Hotel Camelot is a heritage building and the renovations had many restrictions to protect this heritage building. After all, the size of the bathroom is the only flaw that makes our stay not completely perfect. Still, Hotel Camelot is close to perfection!

If you want a hotel with luxurious bathroom go to a modern hotel. If you want a charming hotel with character and a great owner that makes your stay memorable, Hotel Camelot is the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    37
    3
    4
    3
See reviews for
39
192
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Camelot hotel Rhodes was in an excellent location within walking distance to everything. It was in the .hart of the old town. The buildings walls and arches were from the original 14th century. The ambiance was lovely and the host was most accommodating and very friendly. Would recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annademm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

My son and I stayed here while visiting old town as well as the island. It was a perfect location in the middle of the walled city, with access to amazing local restaurants as well as the touristy spots. The room was clean and as many have said...full of character. The best part, however, was our hostess. Nina was AMAZING!!!! She cares about her guests and wants to make sure they have a wonderful experience. Her breakfasts are to die for and she can help with any details you may want taken care of (like leaving at 4am to get to the airport). If you stay here, make sure you use the directions Nina provides on the website. Taxis cannot go in to the walled city, so you will need to walk a couple of hundred feet to get to the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed here several nights and the setting is certainly quite old town; the amenities are modern but the building dates back many centuries; the morning breakfast is wonderful-really
fresh orange juice, marvelous bread, yogurt and home made preserves, plus greek coffee; you
can eat in side or enjoy the outdoor patio that's small but cozy; the lady that runs the hotel is
Nina; she can't do enough for you; a wonderful person; the staff is quite attentive; the hotel is
clean and the bed comfortable; you're in the heart of old town and just a few steps from one of
the main streets with all of its shops;

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edward jack m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Great place to stay with lots of character. Super location for exploring Rhodes old town. The building is beautiful and has been restored with lots of care and attention to detail. Like most of the reviews on here we couldn't fault this hotel for value, location, or hospitality. Had a wonderful 3 day stay in a very comfortable room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsPepp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Staying at the Camelot hotel was an unique experience. It sits within the ancient ruins of St John The Baptist close to the panorama of sea and coastline. You are greeted with an atmosphere of times past.
It combines the expectations of comfort and in particular service, that is exemplary.
the accommodation reflects the history of the region.The shady vines and terrace offer an inviting choice for a refreshing vino or beverage.
This is definitely the place to go.
Nina is a wonderful host and owner whose enthusiasm is contagious. Breakfast is plentiful, fresh and served with passion.

Room Tip: All rooms are more than adequate
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JANE p p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skien, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

This was our family's first trip to Rhodes. We wanted to stay in a hotel that could give us a feeling of how it might have been back in the old times. And Camelot did not disappoint. It had only five rooms and the ones we got were quite small (215 and 255), but the atmosphere was so nice. The walls are made of stones and there are arches in the diningroom and in the backyard. Nina, the owner of Camelot, told us that the hotel was rebuilded in cooperation with the archaeological museum and that there are strict rules for buliding practice because Rhodes is at the World Heritage list. Because of this the rooms are small, the arches are low and the backyard is intimate and charming. We would not have wanted it any other way.
If you are looking for a hotel with big rooms, big bathrooms and a big breakfast buffet, you should choose another hotel. But if you are looking for something more personal, Camelot could be the right place. Nina, the owner of the hotel, has a great personality. She helped us with which restaurants and beaches to visit, which buses to take and what sights to see. And every morning she served breakfast "the Camelot way" which means different every day and more than we could eat.
Our children, aged 14, 16 and 19, stayed in 215, and my husband and I in 255. In 215 there was a small kitchen with a refrigerator were we could store water, fruit and food. It made the vacation cheaper. I have seen someone complaining about the bathroom in 255. I do agree that it is small, but my husband is nearly 2 m tall, and he managed to use the toilet and the shower without any problems so I guess it has something to do with the guests expectations.
Camelot hotel was nice in so many ways, and we particularly liked the backyard and the balcony on the roof. Although the rooms were small, it never felt like we did not have enough space because of the availabilities outside.
We strongly recommend this hotel for those who would like something else than the regular tourist hotels.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mona N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Evdokia Hotel
Evdokia Hotel
#37 of 126 in Rhodes Town
101 reviews
0.3 mi away
S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments
S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments
#30 of 126 in Rhodes Town
221 reviews
0.3 mi away
Zacosta Villa Hotel
Zacosta Villa Hotel
#49 of 126 in Rhodes Town
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
In Camera Art Boutique Hotel
In Camera Art Boutique Hotel
#2 of 126 in Rhodes Town
268 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avalon Boutique Suites Hotel
Avalon Boutique Suites Hotel
#21 of 126 in Rhodes Town
236 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nikos Takis Fashion Hotel
Nikos Takis Fashion Hotel
#40 of 126 in Rhodes Town
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camelot hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelot hotel

Property: Camelot hotel
Address: 18 Themistokleous | Medieval Town, Rhodes Town 851 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
#9 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Camelot hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated, right inside the Medieval Town in Rhodes, very close to the commercial Harbour, Camelot Hotel is a traditional and classic hotel which besides its unique architectural design and location, is offering a variety of services making your accomodation unforgetable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Camelot hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camelot Hotel Hotel Rhodes Town
Camelot Hotel Rhodes Town
Camelot Hotel Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing